Customer Reviews


266 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (47)
2 star:
 (31)
1 star:
 (129)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Anyone got any bug spray?
Come on, people, what were you expecting? It is the sequel to Alien vs Predator! In my opinion, anyone who watches this expecting it to match the greatness of the originals is totally silly.

Requiem carries right on from where the first left off, so not long after you've got comfy on the sofa, both species are back on Earth rampaging around like Britney Spears...
Published on 20 July 2008 by D. Jackson

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very, very black
The directory of cinimatography must have put the wrong film stock in the camara, either that or he was on drugs or something. It's a piss take to even release this as a film. At most times the screen is as black as the film is disapointing.
Published on 31 May 2008 by P. Gilbert


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very, very black, 31 May 2008
By 
P. Gilbert (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aliens Vs Predator - Requiem [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
The directory of cinimatography must have put the wrong film stock in the camara, either that or he was on drugs or something. It's a piss take to even release this as a film. At most times the screen is as black as the film is disapointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Doesn't Even Deserve One Star., 13 April 2010
This review is from: Aliens Vs Predator - Requiem [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
Being a huge fan of Alien, Aliens and Predator (also Predator 2 if I'm honest), I bought this to complete my collection. I have seen some utter rubbish in my time but this takes the biscuit. To say that the characterisation and acting are one dimensional would be doing this car crash of a film a massive favour. Plot holes as big as Jupiter: check. Awful acting: check. Dialogue that a two year old would shake from his etch-a-sketch: check. This film has it all!

For the love of all that is holy, throw your money down the drain rather than making the mistake I did by buying this as the memory of having seen it does not wash away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Alien vs Predator Requiem: Left me completely in the dark!, 10 Jan 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Aliens Vs Predator - Requiem [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
What the hell? After the entertaining AVP film, I was willing to give this a chance. And indeed, some of the ideas on offer here are pretty interesting - handled well you feel this could have been a good film. The trouble is in the directing and acting, both of which are uniformly terrible. The directors seem to have never heard of lights - all the action takes place largely in the dark, and is so poorly lit that you can't see any of what is going on. You can't even make out who or what is involved in any given scene. It is appalling. At first I thought it was my telly, but no matter how much I played around with the brightness and contrast I still couldn't see what was going on. The acting is worse - they could have got better performances from the Thunderbirds puppets. One star only for this tripe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Alien Vs Predator: In Complete Darkness, 4 Jun 2014
By 
Timelord007 (The Tardis) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Blu ray Info.
Region B/2.
Ratio 16.9/2.40:1.
Running time 89 minutes approx.

Blu ray quality.
Picture: Poor, A dark print that unless you have your contrast on high is near impossible to see what's going on, To be fair this isn't the fault of the Blu ray print as it was a dark print on dvd too, But surely on Blu ray this could've been remastered far better than whats released here.

Sound: No issues with the sound clear & sharp, I wish the same could be said for the picture quality.

Trivia.
1)At the cemetery sequence, the man with a gun stands in front of a tombstone with the name "HAWKINS" on it. Hawkins was one of the soldiers of Dutch from the original Predator movie.
2)This is the first movie in both the Predator and the AVP-based movies that actually feature scenes of the Predators' home planet.
3)According to the DVD commentary, effects artists Alec Gillis and Tom Woodruff Jr. mention that they originally had an effects sequence that would've shown us the Predator actually skinning the body of Deputy Ray Adams. But the idea was dropped when Fox Studios that is was deemed "too horrific".
4)This film was not screened for critics, Can't imagine why.

Plot Synopsis.
All Predators on board of a space-ship are killed by a Predalien and the ship crashes down in the woods of Colorado.
A cleaner is sent from the Predator planet to contain the problem of the Aliens roaming free now, and to try and dispose of the dangerous enemy. The people of a small town near the site of the crash can do nothing against the two creatures and have no other option than to fight for their lives.

Timelord Thoughts.
When I heard the sequel to AVP was going to be R,Rated I was excited, "At last a great AVP movie that's going to deliver hardcore action"...How wrong I was.

This sequel directed by the Brothers Strause is dire featuring average action scenes at best that delivers very little in the way of storyline, Scope or terror.

Yes the gores been reinstated & the kills are bloody but the film is shot so dark it's near impossible to see what's going on, Did Fox forget to pay there electric bill when this film was in production?

A cast of B movie actor's meaning no standout star yet theres no tension developed in any scenes so we are never ever close to being surprised, Who cares who gets killed as we didn't know any of these people anyway which doesn't engage the viewer but hey this is Aliens VS Predator so surely when these two bad ass's fight it's going to be a clash of the titans right?

Wrong!, It's again just quick attacks by either species that add no tension or suspense to this already disappointing movie, Even the climatic Predalien vs Predator showdown fails to deliver the monster mash up fan's were expecting yet the movie made over $128,835,085 worldwide from a budget of $40 million dollars?, How?, Are we as cinemagoers so easily entertained now?

We in the U.K don't even get the 96 minute unrated cut of the movie that was released on the dvd combat edition as this is just the standard 89 minute theatrical cut, I've seen the unrated cut although the unrated editionon still doesn't help improve the film.

This sequel gets two stars for it's R rated kills but theres little else to recommend in this poor sequel to a poor PG-13 rated AVP as both movies alienate fan's of both franchises & Fox should've hired someone who cares passionately about these movies to have taken up the helm, So stick to Predator 1 & 2 or Alien 1-3 & give this & it's predecessor a miss.

Timelord Rating.
4/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Tedious and Hard Work, 25 May 2008
By 
Ca Marsh "schragemusik" (Pontypool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aliens Vs Predator - Requiem [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I had been looking forward to telling everyone how badly wrong previous reviewers had it. Unfortunately, I can't. They were right. The film is so dark as to be virtually unviewable (my wife actually thought that we had a bad pirate copy). The story is simply a means to link a series of supposed gory killings (I say 'supposedly' because most of them are hinted at more than seen).

There was no suspense. Most of the human characters are so obnoxious (mostly know-it-all teenagers) it is easy to hope they will all be wiped out. Added to this, the ending was trite.

I hope there is another AvP film (I have enjoyed all other Alien/Predator films). I just hope that the next one is made by different people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Still in the dark...., 11 Jun 2008
By 
Mr. J. Robertson (Kilmarnock, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aliens Vs Predator - Requiem [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
What happened?

I don't know because I gave up somewhere around the swimming pool scene. I was quite looking forward to this and despite the fact I used vouchers and not real money for this I still regret stumping up the full value; in fact, any value.

The cinematography is so dark that you find yourself flicking through the TV setup menu for the brightness and contrast setting. It doesn't make any difference. One of the characters has a pair of night vision goggles which really should have been issued to the audience.

Save yourself some money, just sit in the dark and put on some random music and whale songs. At the same time. It'll make as much sense and you'll be just as entertained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Sorry, what happened there?, 30 Sep 2010
By 
A. Taylor (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Here's a fantastic premise for a movie. Take half a dozen completely two dimensional cliched characters, get a bunch of am-dram wannabes to play them, film them in the dark and rain, get an ADHD sufferer to edit the scenes every 5 milliseconds, a cameraman that's too lazy to bother with focussing, sack all the lighting people so your terrible effects can't be seen, and then kill off the characters you couldn't give a rat's ass about in increasingly gruesome but, ultimately, totally emotionless ways (because you don't care about any of them anyway), but don't let anyone see any of it happening because your director forgot who is actually alive or dead at any point and your producer couldn't be bothered hiring anyone to write a plot...or dialogue....or raise any decent finance. Not that it matters, because most sensible people would switch off about 5 minutes into the movie in disgust at what a horrible z-list pile of excrement this franchise has now become. Genius idea. Well done Fox. No-one would ever think of it. Or want to watch it, for that matter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Awful, 22 May 2008
By 
J. Dalton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Aliens Vs Predator - Requiem [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
What the hell was that, iv just watched the film and have no idea what actually happened as I couldnt see anything except a black screen with the odd flashlight waving around and a load of screaming!!

Avoid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but not one to recommend, 22 Jun 2008
This review is from: Aliens Vs Predator - Requiem [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I am still waiting for a realy good Alien vs Predator movie. The first was good, but this one is a bit disappointing. Alot of other reviewers have noted that it is a very dark film and sometimes quite hard to see what is going. This is true but it wasn't that much of a problem for me

The thing about is that there is no real story of note. It follows on from the first movie which gives it a bit of continuity. The first movie ended with an Alien being born out of the body of a Predator on the Predator ship. The ship crashes back to earth and the Alien begins to spawn on earth. So a Predator is sent to earth to clear up the mess. A fight then ensues between Aliens and Predator with the humans in the middle, many of whom die in the battle. That is it. The humans are a rag tag bunch with various personal problems, most of which aren't resolved other than by the death.

The Alien vs Predator action isn't bad but it isn't as good as the first movie and is nothing we haven't seen before.

My real gripe with both Alien vs Predator films is that they take the originals in a direction I am not keen on. When it was just human vs alien or predator it was good stuff, particularly Alien, Aliens and the first Predator movie. However bring the two monsters together and it doesn't quite work for me.

However despite all the above I would still this is an OK movie, just don't expect to much. Rent don't buy until you have had a chance to see it first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars unbelievable!, 19 Jun 2008
This review is from: Aliens Vs Predator - Requiem [DVD] [2007] (DVD)
I thought this film could not possibly be as bad as the other reviews said. Just goes to show how wrong you can be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Aliens Vs Predator - Requiem [DVD] [2007]
Aliens Vs Predator - Requiem [DVD] [2007] by Greg Strause (DVD - 2008)
£2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews