Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT VALUE IF YOU'RE JUST DIPPING YOUR TOES...
101 TRACKS! 6 CDS! - EACH ONE OVER 70 MINUTES LONG!
Unbeatable value for money!
There's a bit of everything here from movie ost's to the great classics!
Wagner, Mozart, Bach, Tchaikovsky, Holst, Prokofiev & many,many more!
Each disc is separateley themed; one disc focuses on tracks from the movie & television world, another features lighter, romantic...
Published on 24 May 2008 by Adam Jackson

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER REPACKAGED COLLECTION
Firstly let me make it quite clear that there is nothing wrong with the music - it's a great collection but one I bought for half the price a few years back in a different package. It is the repackaging that I find misleading.
Published on 4 Aug 2010 by BRIAN PLAYFAIR


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT VALUE IF YOU'RE JUST DIPPING YOUR TOES..., 24 May 2008
By 
Adam Jackson "Symphonic Metal Fan" (Stoke On Trent , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 101 Classical Hits (Audio CD)
101 TRACKS! 6 CDS! - EACH ONE OVER 70 MINUTES LONG!
Unbeatable value for money!
There's a bit of everything here from movie ost's to the great classics!
Wagner, Mozart, Bach, Tchaikovsky, Holst, Prokofiev & many,many more!
Each disc is separateley themed; one disc focuses on tracks from the movie & television world, another features lighter, romantic works, another is the big, epic, heavy pieces & so on. That's over 6 HOURS of some of the finest MUSIC ever written! Raging Bull, Platoon; It's all here!!!
It has to be said that the sound quality is EXCEPTIONAL!
I'm a novice to this stuff, having come over from the world of Metal.
This isn't as strange a leap as you may think, considering that Rock & Classical share many of the same dynamic qualities in their respective sounds. Metallica's 1999 collaboration with the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra was a big influence in me opening up to Classical, although I remember listening to Holst's The Planets as a 9 year old & being mesmerised!
I'd also recommend Massive Classics (which I have reviewed) which you will find on Amazon UK available as 'Used & New'. I bought mine for less than a fiver (incl. post & pack!)and it's again really good value. A Double CD & the emphasis is totally on the heavier, bombastic sound -so if you are digging The Ride Of The Valkyries as heard on the Citroen tv advert, or if like I was, you are a curious rock fan or looking to start a
collection then this, along with 101 Classical Hits is a superb place to begin!
Next step, Wagner's Ring Cycle - NOW THAT ROCKS.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What A great collection., 20 May 2009
By 
D. Jones (Ashton, Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 101 Classical Hits (Audio CD)
For anyone getting into classical (like me) this should be a first choice. I don't think i've heard everything yet, as it's on when i'm around the house etc, or doing something, so i'll still keep hearing tracks I recognise and like but didn't know i had!!!

Well worth your pennies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value for money, 4 Feb 2009
By 
Mr. R. E. J. Hyson (Portsmouth, Hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Classical Hits (Audio CD)
101 Classical Hits This is excellent value for money (better than the similar Classic fm version). Although a lot of the tracks are only excerpts, rather than complete works, this could encourage you to buy the complete works later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful collection of classical music, 4 July 2010
This review is from: 101 Classical Hits (Audio CD)
This is perfect for finding that elusive "what was that lovely piece of classical music?" and also for introducing you to others you may not have heard. A really wonderful collection both to introduce the new listener to classical music or as collection of different pieces in one place for the already converted!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Introduction to the Classics, 1 May 2010
This review is from: 101 Classical Hits (Audio CD)
If, like me, you are seeking an introduction to the more well-known classics, then this should definitely fit the bill.

The music is divided into individual categories:
Relaxing, TV & Cinema, Romantic, Spiritual, Favourites, Spectacular.
Though this is useful at times, I much prefer to listen to a random selection playing on my MP3 player.

It has enabled me to identify pieces of music that I liked but was not able to name. It has also introduced me to pieces that I had not heard before and have come to enjoy.

Since buying I do feel drawn to seek out quite a number of the complete works, which is exactly the inspiration I was hoping for.

Not having purchased similar albums I am not able to compare but this does provide exactly what it claims to - and includes many beautiful pieces.

It is excellent value for money, contains so many tracks and a lot of variety. I do not feel a need to purchase other similar combinations, which may have been the case if this had not proved as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Complation, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Classical Hits (Audio CD)
For the price, you can't say a bad wod about this complation. 6 CDs and all recording are excellent quality from original artists and orchestras. Although these are mainly excepts, it is a great introductions to the classics and /or a great sunday afternoon in the garden CD. Very relaxing. 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VERY SIMILAR TO 100 CLASSICAL HITS, 20 Dec 2013
By 
Christopher W. Brierley - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Classical Hits (Audio CD)
VERY SIMILAR TO 100 CLASSICAL HITS, so if you have that, don't bother with this, as most tracks are identical, which is hardly surprising as they are both on the EMI label. A great taster of classical music and often at a bargain price, I got mine in used condition off an amazon shop. Tracks, although often quite old, sound decent as they are digitally remastered. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Value, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Classical Hits (MP3 Download)
All the Tracks you might expect and some pleasant surprises.

A winning selection at a superb price.

Play it all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my first classical music but buy disc, 20 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. K. Walker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Classical Hits (MP3 Download)
the music is a good mix and id highly recomend the album
but buy disk in case of corruption or re downloading as amazon dont seem to let you re download
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 101 classical hits, 18 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 101 Classical Hits (Audio CD)
I have only recently started to listen to classical music, what a fantastic cd. Had heard most of the music but didnt know the composers and now i do. Very relaxing and a must buy for anyone like me who has suddenly realised just how enjoyable classical music can be.101 Classical Hits
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

101 Classical Hits
101 Classical Hits by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews