Customer Reviews


156 Reviews
5 star:
 (124)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a national treasure and should be treated as such!
I'm not going to lie to you; you HAVE to be in a good mood the first time you watch this film. I have never come across another film that's as entertaining, creative, nonsensical and just plain silly as this. There is never a dull moment, from the moose business in the credits at the beginning to the totally stupid, but perfect end.
The thing with this film is that...
Published on 9 May 2003

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Rip
This Blu Ray looks like a straight rip from a DVD and it shows in the quality, I expect a quality production on blu ray taken from original stock not just a cheap DVD rip.
Published 11 months ago by Ian


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Python's second finest hour-and-a-bit, 26 Nov 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
'Monty Python and the Holy Grail' was the Python team's take on Arthurian legend, directed by the Terrys Jones and Gilliam and was driven my Jones' love of history and legend and Gilliam's general weirdness. Even though the film was made in 1974, it hasn't really dated and remains gut-wrenchingly funny.
Whilst the general concensus is that `Life of Brian' is the best of Python's films, it's always 'Holy Grail' that I find myself watching over again - this isn't to say that 'Life of Brian' is a bad film, it certainly isn't, but despite the dark and mucky atmosphere of 'Holy Grail', the actors seem to be enjoying themselves, and as a result many of the scenes are indelibly etched into the brains of countless Python fans: the Black Knight ('All right, we'll call it a draw ...'), the French knights (`Now go away or I will taunt you a second time!') and, of course, the Knights Who Say .... Ni! Throw in a handful of Terry G's trademark animations and you've got yourself a winner.
Although the film's ending is, quite frankly, rubbish, the laughs will come thick and fast.
For fans of `additional material' (or filler, if you prefer) the second disc contains, amongst other things, a documentary in which Michael Palin and Terry Jones visit the film locations 25 years after the event; this is well worth watching in its own right. Other bits of inconsequential trivia include a couple of clips from the Japanese version of the film and the `Camelot' sequence performed with Lego(!). There's also the `singalong' sequence where you can learn the words to Sir Robin's theme song or the 'Camelot Song' (`we're knights of the Round Table, we dance when'er we're able' etc.etc.)
Like Monty Python? Got a DVD player? Get this ... you'll never look at coconuts in the same light again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Film - Pity about the extras, 12 Feb 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The digitally remastered "Holy Grail" is a joy to watch. I'm a fan, so I would say that wouldn't I!

Pity about the so called extra bits though. They seem more of a hastily cobbled together mish mash of ideas that don't work, all spun together by rather boring animations.

The film alone would have been enough. Forget the dreary, unfunny add-ons!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars does the job, 20 Feb 2005
My friends actually were the ones who got me watching this masterpiece. At first i thought it was going to be bit of a tacky rip-off of everything deemed holy but it certainly wasn't the case. This DVD is everything you'll want in a comedy and more, and dare i say it'd even bring a smile to the pope if he watched it. (And got Latin subtitles). The acting is brilliant, scenes jam packed with hilarity with side splitting jokes and situations that'll have you wanting more than a 2 disc set. An admirable effort to suit an all age-group audience which makes it a true classic. The ending is somewhat unexpected as well. Top stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars On second thoughts, let's not go to Camelot. It is a silly place., 26 April 2008
By 
R. Mullaney (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
King Arthur is visited by the Lord Almighty who tells him to go on a quest to find the Holy Grail. Arthur wastes no time in rounding up the silliest Knights of the realm and embarking on a bizarre journey around England, encountering fierce enemies, sex mad nymphs and a killer rabbit.

Although Monty Python's Life of Brian is considered their finest film by the critics, The Holy Grail provides me with more laugh out loud moments. It is as throughly ridiculous as Terry Gilliam's animations that pop up from time to time. From the man trying to get rid of his almost dead father to the Knight who won't admit defeat even after being dismembered ("It's just a flesh wound!") to the nonsensical witch trial ("What floats on water?" [answer] "Churches!"), the Pythons gift for perfectly timed comedy bombs never falters. Endlessly quotable ("We shall say Ni! again to you, if you do not appease us." or "Now go away or I shall taunt you a second time!") and packed with silly sight gags like the cattle catapult, they certainly don't make them like this anymore.

Like this? Try: Monty Python's Life of Brian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "It's Only A Model!", 19 Sep 2007
By 
D. W. Bissett "dave_bissett" (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Words cannot describe of how much I love MONTY PYTHON & THE HOLY GRAIL (1975). This movie, alongside THE LIFE OF BRIAN (1979), is one of the funniest British movies of all time. Despite the fact that this was made on a shoe-string budget and the problems they had on making it (Terry Gilliam & Terry Jones did not got on well together as directors, while Graham Champan have problems with his lines due to his aclohol trouble), a lot of talent and work went into this film.

There so many scenes in this movie that are just brilliant and funny, such as King Arthur's fight with the Black Knight (John Cleese), the 'Camelot' song, the taunting French guard (Cleese again), the Knights who say "Ni!", the list goes on forever. While the 1970's was a truly terrible decade for British comedy films (the CARRY ON series [1957-1992] was heading into a massive decline, while the CONFESSIONS turkeys were a waste of time), the two MONTY PYTHON films were the perfect antidote.

Kudos to John Cleese, Terry Gilliam, Terry Jones, Michael Palin, Eric Idle and the sadly gone Graham Chapman. 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Achingly funny movie with oodles of extras, 26 Mar 2004
By 
Cartimand (Hampshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
I already owned this Python classic on VHS, but decided to treat myself to the DVD, based on the added value of the extras. Good move! Lots of fascinating background material providing insights into the fevered imaginations of the Terrys and some totally new stuff including Michael Palin's cocoanut sketch and the utterly bizarre but delightful MP&THG in Lego! The sing-a-long-a-Sir-Robin got the whole household joining in and the option for the weird but inspired Shakespearean-style subtitles adds a whole new dimension.
And all that before I mention the film itself! What more can I add? You all know how side-splittingly funny are the scenes with the plague village, the French taunter, burn the witch, the oppressed peasant, Sir Galahad's rescue of the prince in the tower, brave Sir Robin, the knights of NI, the killer bunny, the bridge of doom etc. I'm undecided whether this or Life of Brian is the funniest movie ever made but whatever, this is a must have purchase and the best value for money DVD in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Flying Circus at their very best!!!!!, 9 Sep 2001
This is a hugely entertaining performance. A guaranteed laugh-a-minute video, sensational from start to finish this combines the silliest unimaginably crude sketches to some really intelligent subtle dialougue. If anything could be said about the definition of comedy this would be it. From "The knights who say Ni" to "Tim the enchanter" this is a thoroughly compelling video. Buy it if you have any sense of humour at all!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Turns King Arthur every which way but loose!, 11 May 2005
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
In 1975, the world was treated to the release of a movie that was so offbeat and so funny, that it instantly acquired a cult following. That movie was Monty Python and the Holy Grail, starring that boatload of wacky British actors that had tickled our funny bones with their wild television program. And now you can own that movie, along with a raft of extras by buying this two DVD set.
My daughter saw this movie at a friend's house, and became an instant fan, and now she can watch the movie anytime she wants. This is an outrageously funny movie that takes the Arthurian legends and turns them every which way but loose! Overall, it is very funny, and pretty clean. The Castle Anthrax part is a bit off-color, but not too bad. So, if you want an outrageously funny movie for the whole family, then buy Monty Python and the Holy Grail! My family and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comedy classic that thanks to DVD has never looked better, 14 July 2002
By 
Holy Grail is often regarded as the second best Monty Python movie and despite its age, looks absolutely amazing on DVD. Anyone who has owned any of the VHS video versions would be well advised to upgrade from their old edition and pick up this new set.
And of course not only does the audio-visual quality surpass any previous release of this film, but the DVD contains lots of facinating additional features, the best of which is the returning to the film locations documentry, as well as the two informative audio commentaries by the surviving Pythons.
This DVD set represents excellent value for money and remember - Holy Grail has never looked this good. All Python fans owe it to themselves to get this DVD set. Worth buying a player for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some watery tart handing out weaponry is no basis for a leadership, 2 Jun 2006
The MP team took the mick mercilessly with Life of Brian and upset Christians. They attempted to do the same to us Grail Followers and we've got to hand it to them. It's hilarious.

There's so many great sketches, ridiculous characters and implausible situations it's that rare comedy - it can be watched over and over again. Sit in a coversation with two fans of this film and you'll get so many candidates for the 'best bit' that it shows how well written it was by that bunch of complete moron geniuses in the Python Team.

The ending is terrible and fits I suppose, but the story is second place to the endless stream of scenes that have become classics. My favourite comedy film of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Monty Python and the Holy Grail [Blu-ray] [1975] [Region Free]
£7.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews