Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior Blu from Axiom
This is specifically a review of the blu ray release from Axiom Films. The transfer presented here is the one of the best I have seen of a 1980's film released in the UK as yet. The colour saturation throughout is terrific while the 5.1 master soundtrack featuring Ry Cooder's magnificent score has never sounded better or clearer. On top of that, there are plenty of...
Published 17 months ago by Coastal J

versus
40 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DVD at last, but spoiled by technical flaws
I first saw this movie in 1985 at The Screen on Baker Street, and I still remember that the soundtrack was turned up painfully loud. Nevertheless, I loved the movie and I have watched it countless times since on VHS. Strange, then, to find that the long-awaited DVD issue also has major problems with the soundtrack. Nevertheless, whilst my first instinct was to send this...
Published on 7 Sep 2002 by Mark Hurst


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 29 April 2013
By 
Johnny D (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris, Texas [DVD] (DVD)
I already have the earlier DVD release of this film but ordered this one on the off chance that, being a later release, and although the Product Details make no mention of them, it would have English subtitles for the hard of hearing. I'm glad to say, it does.

I think everything has been said about the film. It is an absolute masterpiece and is one of my top five films of all time. Ry Cooder's music perfectly matches the atmosphere and slow pace of the film. This is a must see, must have film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful film, 14 Dec 2010
This review is from: Paris, Texas [DVD] (DVD)
When I first started to watch the film (it was on the telly)I was near to switching off. But luckily I had the tolerance to sit and wait. What a beautiful film! There are so many fine moments in the film but the one that is a particularly moving scene is the "meeting" through a wall between the ex-wife and her husband. I do not want to tell more for not to take the excitement from those who have not seen Paris, Texas yet. Now I am a happy owner of the film and have seen it again. The music in the film is beautiful too and I have even bought the CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fragile and broken families, 21 July 2008
By 
William Cohen (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Paris, Texas [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
I saw a Sam Shepherd play recently, so I was quite surprised to see that Sam Shepherd wrote this screenplay. But having seen two pieces of his work, you can detect a style. Shepherd examines the dark side of families, the frustrations, the pain, the fights and their consequences. He likes long monologues uncovering a web of events and feelings. I think the dialogue in this film is superb.

The landscape and the music is also rich in metaphor. Kinski is a wisperish, idealised beauty. The other adult characters are weatherbeaten by life's demands. This is a long, slow and often banal film, but it says something about real lives. I first saw this film over twenty years ago. It lingers and haunts, and that thematic strum of the guitar stays with you always as a symbol of loneliness and struggle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Ending is worth the 100 minute wait, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris, Texas [DVD] (DVD)
Travis Henderson (Harry Dean Stanton) walks out of the South Texas desert landscape and into a ramshackle saloon bar where he collapses. He is treated by a doctor, but does not speak.The doctor finds a phone number on Travis and reaches his brother, Walt Henderson (Dean Stockwell), who agrees to pick him up. So starts a journey to discover why Travis dissapeared and what has happened to him during those four missing years.
At 147 minutes, the film can seem a bit 'slow' but if you can stick with it, the final last half-hour certainlty makes it all worthwhile. I'd seen the film many years ago and sadly it didn't live up to my expectations -memory is often a terrible curse. I thought that there was a lot more of Ry Cooders music to be heard, but it was as sparse as the early dialogue.
I had no booklet but unlike other reviewers, I had no problems with the sound, it was as crisp as the photography.
The one thing I would say about this film is that you certainly need to be in a 'laid back' frame of mind for the plot is slow to develop, meanders all over the place, but finally delivers some great character acting at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top of my top 5 of all time!, 25 Jun 2007
By 
J. Baker "jonbaker7" (south wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Paris, Texas [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
Every SINGLE shot in this film is like a beautifully composed and lovingly crafted photograph. I defy anyone not to be moved by the cinematography alone, not to mention the beautifully told, heartbreaking story and amazingly understated, and emotionally charged perfomances.

If you feel nothing watching this film, you are not a fan of cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paris, Texas [DVD] Harry Dean Stanton, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris, Texas [DVD] (DVD)
Well what can one say about sheer beguiling brilliance of Wim Wenders. the story behind the film is quite simple (a lost brother who is found), but it is the sheer majesty of Harry Dean Stanton and Nastasia Kinsky - which elevate this film into greatness.
This is a cult classic, buy it if you do not already own it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Loneliness of the Long-distance Runner, 23 April 2014
This review is from: Paris, Texas [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
Wim Wenders’ cult movie sees a grizzled Harry Dean Stanton play Travis, a man who wanders out of the desert after being missing for four years, and who appears to have almost total amnesia. His well-meaning brother Walt (Dean Stockwell), and Walt’s French wife Anne, took Travis’ young son Hunter into their home after Travis abandoned him, and despite Walt’s unreserved support for his returning sibling, the couple fear that Travis will take Hunter away from them; something that Anne in particular struggles to accept. As Travis starts to bond with his son, his memory starts to return and he decides on an impromptu road-trip with Hunter to track down the wife who he feels abandoned her family – his only clue to her whereabouts being a bank account in Houston from which she has regularly sent Anne money to provide for her son.
Wender’s decision to film primarily in the Trans-Pecos region of West Texas results in rugged, isolated vistas and a real sense of the propensity for a person to become lost in different ways within the vastness of America, whilst Ry Cooder’s slide-guitar based soundtrack enhances the impressive cinematography with its melancholic and sometimes subtly menacing qualities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars great music, 21 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful music and cinematography. Couldn't empathise with protagonist but an absorbing if slow story. A quite unique movie that is memorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent start to a good film, 23 Mar 2014
By 
N. Tuson (Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paris, Texas [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this decades ago, and recently bought this again. The soundtrack is justly famous, the film is the nearest the US comes to art house, and Harry Dean Stanton is perfect the role. What more to say? If you like cop soaps on day-time TV, don't buy this. Otherwise it is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant, sad, beautiful, believable, 1 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Like life, I love the slowly unwinding plot/account in this. I refuse to spoilt for you further. Very clever in its denouement. Interesting and open minded characters. Salt of the earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paris, Texas [DVD]
Paris, Texas [DVD] by Robby Muller (DVD - 2008)
5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews