Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Morbo demands you buy this DVD!
After enjoying every minute of the four seasons of Futurama episodes, I was left slightly disappointed after having watched the previous two straight-to-DVD films. However "Bender's Game" was a major improvement even though the plot was slightly slow to get going and went a bit awry once the crew ended up in the fantasy land. The quality of jokes far exceeded those of the...
Published on 11 Nov 2009 by Robert Zimmerman

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Trying to love it. Falling Short
I, like most people buying this will have seen the tv series which was brilliant. Every episode watchable again and again.

Benders big score so far being my favourite film and a beast with a billion backs good, but not so good.

Then we have this... ...the name promises so much yet after watching it leaves you feeling cold and dissapointed...
Published on 8 Nov 2008 by Reviewer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dunces and dragons, 7 Jan 2009
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Futurama - Bender's Game [DVD] (DVD)
more from futurama, the science fiction cartoon from the people who brought you the simpsons. Like the last two releases beast with a billion backs and bender's big score this is four episodes edited together into one long film of roughly eighty five minutes, with one long story running throughout.

this story is a lord of the rings parody heavily influenced by the role playing game dungeons and dragons. but more on that in a moment.

the disc contains the film itself, with direct scene access.

a language track in english

subtitles in english danish finnish norwegian and swedish

and the following extras, most of which are rather short, but there is some fun stuff amongst them:

a commentary from some of the cast and the production staff

a storyboard animatic: this is the first of the four parts in rough drawing form, complete with the soundtrack but with no music [and a certain guest voice actor clearly hadnt recorded their part at the time when this was done]. it's quite fascinating to watch if you wonder how the animation process is done

the futurama genetics lab: this allows you to merge pictures together of certain futurama characters and seeing what the resulting merges look like and would be called. it's quite fun.

a dungeons and dragons and futurama featurette: a short film with some of the writers reminiscing about their youth playing the role playing game dungeons and dragons. this is played with laughs with one participant not being interested in the game at all and reacting badly because of that, so it's quite an amusing watch

as is: how to draw futurama in 83 easy steps: a feature that shows you how to draw some of the characters. the artists involved do clown around a fair amount whilst doing the drawing, so even if you're hopeless at art you should get some fun from it

3d models with animator discussion: this shows the designs of some of the spaceships used in the feature. it's short but quite interesting.

there's a single two minute long deleted scene from the feature. it's quite good.

blooperama three is a short film of the voice cast at work, making a few mistakes along the way. if you wonder what they look like and how they work then this is good viewing.

into the wild green yonder is a trailer for the next futurama dvd. it's a collection of funny scenes but it gives no indication as to what the plot is.

but the best extra here is benders anti piracy warning, a short film that parodies the anti dvd piracy ads seen at the start of dvds. this stars bender, and since the advert says 'you wouldn't steal...' it doesnt quite work on him. this is incredibly funny and has to be watched.

for a couple of easter eggs watch this on a computer, and when on the third extras screen move the pointer around the screen right next to the list of extras, and click on two of the symbols there. the first will show more film of the voice cast at work, and the second is another dungeons and dragons feature.

the feature itself?

with fuel prices rising across the galaxy, planet express have to take the fight to mom, evil fuel tycoon, to get what they need. at the same time bender gets a little too hooked on playing dungeons and dragons and - this parodies 1980's newspaper scare stories about people hooked on the game and unable to tell fantasy from reality as a result - he goes rather crazy. that's the plot for the first two parts. the next two have the characters, as a result of what happens in parts one and two, thrust into another dimension where life is like the lord of the rings crossed with dungeons and dragons, and having to battle the evil ruler of that world.

the big question of course is: is it funny?

and with these films the answer seems to be a matter of subjective opinion. personally I didn't find it quite as funny as the beast with a billion backs, and the pacing is a little slow at times, but the gags do still come thick and fast enough to make it generally worthwhile.

In my opinion, at any rate. but that's what the dvd is like a whole. so why not make up your own mind? hopefully this review will guide you in doing such.

parents be advised that this is a twelve certificate, because there's the occasional bit of innuendo and some cartoon violence and gore
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Great Shatner's Ghost!", this is the Futurama film to own, 3 Mar 2009
By 
Stuart Briggs "stuartbriggs" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Futurama - Bender's Game [DVD] (DVD)
I have to agree with other reviews that this is definitely the best of the four Futurama movies. All the others left me disappointed to one degree or another, especially the dreadful 'Beast with a billion backs'.

I'd be quite happy to kick back and watch "Bender's game" any time, it's absolutely hilarious, whether you're a Futurama aficionado or not. A brilliant spoof of Dungeons and Dragons, with a full-on nod to Lord of the Rings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thought the otehr films were a bit dodgy?, 14 Jan 2009
By 
A. Lo "everlong12" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Futurama - Bender's Game [DVD] (DVD)
This is the best futurama film hands down. Best jokes, funny characters, great premise and those D&D, LOTR, Hrry Potter references are priceless!

Buy it if you want Futurama to stay alive and kicking, you will NOT be disappointed. Matt Groening's freedom to make more series and dvds are based majorly on the sales of these movies!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars futurama; benders game., 20 Dec 2008
By 
A. Fox "foxxy" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Futurama - Bender's Game [DVD] (DVD)
Better than the first two but still dissapointing, if your a die hard fan and have got the series on dvd you are going to buy this anyway, i did, good to know that they are improving, by the seventh film they should be excellent again, but unfortunatly, or should that be fortunatly, they are only making one more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurama - Bender's Game [DVD] (DVD)
another great futurama part. very entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurama - Bender's Game [DVD] (DVD)
Futurama has to be one of my favourite TV shows, it's so funny. If you watch it in the correct mind set you can understand the philosophical and political jokes that are what mostly make Futurama and The Simpsons so hilarious. This offers a slightly different view to Futurama but I'm not going to complain, it's still wonderful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Futurama, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurama - Bender's Game [DVD] (DVD)
This is not as good as the main series, but still worth a watch for any futurama fan. Not bad for the price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Futurama, 27 July 2013
By 
JHvW "JHvW" (Pays Bas, Europe) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurama - Bender's Game [DVD] (DVD)
Regularly I am asked to review my Futurama purchases. I am a fan. I love it. What more can I say than: if you are a fan, just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars futruama disc, 30 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurama - Bender's Game [DVD] (DVD)
fun funny it made me laugh so it should be rated 5 stars it is so good to watch r
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good futurama film, 16 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Futurama - Bender's Game [DVD] (DVD)
This film was good and for £1.50 who can complain (used ofcourse) this film follows benders addiction to dungeons and dragons and such and is definatley worth adding to any fans collection xD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Futurama - Bender's Game [DVD]
Futurama - Bender's Game [DVD] by Dwayne Carey-Hill (DVD - 2008)
£3.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews