Customer Reviews


40 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sold out or just a fantastic album that is fearless?
Collins ripped the heart out of Geneis and took them to sold out stardom right? It was never the same when Hackett left? Think again! This album is superb, it's a mixture of short catchy (horror!) tunes and some outstanding longer pieces (Dodo/Lurker and Abacab). It's different from previous releases and charts where Genesis will head for the next 15 years but it's a...
Published on 23 Jan 2009 by Paul Jamieson

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all except.............
Abacab is not bad, however it marks the start of 'pop' Genesis rather than the progressive Genesis that I like. It is good in the fact that they still retain an element of what makes this band unique, Me and Sarah Jane and Like It Or Not are good examples.

The main failing is the frankly awful 'Who Dunnit' - they really should have known better. In fact what...
Published on 3 Feb 2012 by RotaryMotion


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A B(ad) A(lbum) C(ollins) A(wfully) B(ad), 30 Dec 2011
This review is from: Abacab (Audio CD)
I like Peter Gabriel era Genesis a lot. I can't deny that i think early Genesis was the best Genesis. However, I do like the Phil Collins era. I love some of it. Genesis as a pop band were still capable of some absolutely brilliant albums like Duke, Genesis, We Can't Dance etc. This album is, unfortunately, awful.

It sounds like the drum machine had a stroke and the band released it's final moments as an album. Most of the songs have nothing to distinguish themselves from each other and no musical interest at all. ABACAB itself is a fairly decent song with a nice catchy tune and funny lyrics. This earns the album a star. The second and third stars comes from the song Man On the Corner. It's a typically miserable, "phil collins is gonna save the world with music" song but the drama and power in Phils voice actually create a driving force behind this song which makes it quite moving and is worth playing a couple of times. It's actually a prophetic song about Phil. He saw a terrible vision of himself releasing the Two Sides album.

Hold On! That's three stars! But I only gave it two! Oh yea! That's because the album actually loses a star for the abomination that is Who Dunnit? If you've not heard this song before, look it up. On spotify or youtube or something. It has to be heard to be believed. I really can't comprehend how this made it onto an album! Why was this allowed? It's an absolutely hideous mix of a disgusting computerised chord type sound with about three different lines of words sung over and over and over again. I say sung. I lied. It's unbelievable. Just Unbelievable and it loses the album a star.

Being serious for a moment. The music really isn't up to the high standards of any era of Genesis and the lyrics are frankly mediocre, middle-of-the-road, boring, cliche... take your pick. It came after Duke which was brilliant and before Genesis which was also brilliant so I don't know why this album completely failed.

To be fair, Phil Collins was going through a slight crisis of identity during this album. He'd just realised he wasn't Peter Gabriel and it very nearly destroyed him. Mike and Tony drove on and continued to write top notch music for Genesis but Phil, being a member of the mythical species that is the Sqounk, wept so terribly on his self-realisation that he dissolved into tears. He slipped into Tonys ear and overhydrated his brain. Hence this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SACD sound not compressed, 13 April 2007
By 
J. Milner "jcmilner" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Contrary to what a previous reviewer mentioned regarding compression, it must be said that this may well apply to the CD layer but on the SACD Stereo layer the sound is absolutely crystal clear and sharp with the drums literally banging you in the face. This is a great 'drum' album and the SACD format really does it justice. This version is by far the best that has ever been available and leaves behind the previous remaster. Having not listened to the CD layer I cannot comment on the compression issues but for anyone with SACD capabilities this (and the other Genesis SACD releases) come very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent surround mixes., 11 April 2007
By 
J. D. Atkinson (Halifax, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I've not listened to the stereo mixes of these, as i've been waiting for the surround mixes for ages and generally love the surround treatment being applied as well as this to my favourite albums.

This is the first of the Genesis SACD / DVD re releases i've bought, and I am so impressed i'm ordering the other 4 right now. The SACD 5.1 mix is absolutely superb; Abacab and Dodo/Lurker sound absolutely massive and crystal clear. My system is probably not good enough to discriminate between formats, but the DTS version sounds identical (bar sounding louder for a given volume setting) too, so I wouldn't have imagined that DVD users with surround systems are being short changed.

There is a small group of very nicely remastered for 5.1 surround classic albums around; Dark Side of the Moon and Tommy remain my two favourites, and this release is well up to the same standard. I am looking forward to giving Trick of the Tail a spin, and am REALLY looking forward to hearing Foxtrot and Nursery Cryme when they get round to releasing them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One of the poorer albums, 11 Aug 2006
This review is from: Abacab (Audio CD)
As an avid fan of Genesis, I have struggled to give this album less than four stars, but am trying to take an objective view! Following through the recent albums up to this point, one can see a definate shift in agreements amongst the band, turning towards a more electronic sound. This is not necessarily a bad thing in itself, and was right for the time, as reflected in the fact that the album got to number 1.

Despite a couple of really dissapointing tracks, there are some gems here, such as Me And Sarah Jane, Dodo and Keep It Dark. The album is well worth getting for the quality that is here. Just skip the poorer tracks!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Take a step forward Mr.Collins, 10 April 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Abacab (Audio CD)
Genesis reached a crossroads after the completion of 'Duke', and they chose the path marked 'Phil Collins'.This album has solo compositions from Banks and Rutherford, but the drift towards the brassy sentiment of Collins solo output is discernable throughout. Make no mistake, what emerges is a really good album, but one that replaces the more ethereal imagery of previous albums with the mawkish lyrics of 'Man on the corner' and the frankly banaal 'Like it or not'. Of course there are still moments of the old quirkiness ('Keep it dark', 'Lurker')but the writing was certainly on the wall, Collins was the superstar and his style was to prevail.
As if to offset this there is an extraordinarily awful track included: 'Whodunnit' which fails to entertain on every level. I am one who has worshipped the footsteps of this band, but feel bound to say that this track is quite unspeakable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Like It Or Not, 29 April 2007
By 
Mr. J. Hulme (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Abacab (Audio CD)
God the 80's were bad. This proves it, the noble beast that is Genesis, is dead in the water waiting to be beached with this poor album. After a while the pounding beat to this album becomes annoying. I lasted half way through the first track, the inane lyrics to some of the songs, pathetic! I will give you a track by track guide to the poorest Genesis album ever? I am guilty, as in the 80's I thought it was good, not great but good. Looking back? It doesn't bode well.

1.Abacab: Good single, punchy beat. Good when heard once in a while.

2.No Reply At All: Drums everywhere, short blaring horns. Irritating. Lyrics and the vocal are the best thing.

3.Me And Sarah Jane: One Of the tracks that stand out above the rest. Great voice Phil. What emotion.

4.Keep It Dark: Don't mind this, surprise? Drum lead song. Again played once in a long while, it is nice to hear again. I wish I could really tell you.....

5.a.DoDo: Ok

5.b.Lurker: Meanwhile lurking by a stone in the mud! When is someone going to tell Mr Collins that voice he is using on this is not smart or Clever. {used later on I can't Dance}

6.Who Dunnit?: YOU DID. You are all guilty Banks/Collins/Rutherford.

7.Man On The Corner: Brilliant. Best song thanks to Mr Collins.

8.Like It Or Not:Big production, but not really much there.

9.Another Record: That's an idea, I will put another record on.

Overall. Why 3 stars and not 2 or 1? It's Genesis, you have to forgive them and two really great songs. This album should be bought, if you are a true Genesis fan. But should be only very rarely played, make sure nobody is around. Then when you are reminded how bad it is? Then quickly but it back and say now't!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT ALBUM, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Abacab (Audio CD)
CD BOUGHT TO REPLACE THE ORIGINAL LP STILL EXCELLENT MUSIC BY AN EXCELLENT GROUP. GENESIS SOUND IS STILL UNIQUE EVEN IN 2014.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars CD birthday present., 23 Oct 2012
By 
This review is from: Abacab (Audio CD)
Great, exactly what my husband wanted for his birthday present, very pleased. Delivered on time & superb condition/ wrapping, big fan of group so a much wanted gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 30 years on, this is the one I listen to, 4 April 2012
This review is from: Abacab (MP3 Download)
When this first came out I was gutted.I missed Steve Hackett's playing so much.The times were a changing and Genesis were changing too! But having purchased all of the remasters it is these tracks that I play the most.

First the negatives. "No Reply At All" sounds like a third rate PC solo track that was rejected for Face Value. "Abacab" should've been either the single edit or the 3 Sides Live version, not the banal version that fizzles out here. Where is "Paperlate"? If Genesis wanted horns on their records then this should've been the one that they used!

Now the positives. Abacab (single edit), Me And Sarah Jane, Keep It Dark, Dodo/Lurker, & Like It Or Not are five of my favourite Genesis tracks of all time!

So programme your own playlist and you'll have an old LP's worth of classic stuff!

1) Abacab (single edit), 2) Me & Sarah Jane, 3)Keep It Dark, 4) Dodo/Lurker, 5)Whodunnit?, 6) Man On The Corner, 7)Paperlate, 8)Like It Or Not.

Note that Abacab (single edit) and Paperlate are only available on "Turn It On Again-The Hits". Also check out "Three Sides Live"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fabacab!?, 28 May 2008
By 
This review is from: Abacab (Audio CD)
What do you know, just when you think it's safe to buy a Genesis album, they throw this curve ball. Duke really helped redefine the band whilst still retaining the elements we all knew and loved so, I guess we expected more of the same.
But, you know the fact that Genesis came out with this is one of the things I really like about it. It was SO unexpected, so 'outside of the box' for them.
Try to imagine what a shock this was to the average fan back in the 80s. The lyrics on the title track were nonsense (but then weren't alot of earlier lyrics - be honest - fun, but silly much of the time), leaving us, in our desperation to attach meaning to it, to discuss the title as a reference to the song structure and thus compete over who had paid attention more in music theory lessons.
This album was so different for them that it's impossible, if not pointless, to compare it to anything that had gone before. They still sounded like a band, just a different one. Naturally, people began blaming the evil Phil collins whose sole aim in life was, obviously, to destroy Genesis and all it stood for.
Sucks to them, say I. There's alot in this album's favour; the wonderful dottiness of Abacab, the strange but funky 'Keep it Dark' and the wonderful 'Me and Sarah Jane' to name but three. Dodo, whilst a nod to the past never really gets off the ground (HA!). The one real howler on the album is Whodunnit?. Execrable.
Sonically this was a departure from their previous sound and yet it was firmly rooted in their past. How? Tony Bank's keyboards. As ever they are to the fore, and, as ever, they show a player embracing new technology and using it well.
So, I like the uniqueness (within the Genesis canon) of this disc, the sound (really!) and the accompanying sly humour. This sounds like a band having fun and, for my money, it works on the whole. 4 stars? There are some great songs on here but mostly for being the most 'out there' and unexpected Genesis album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Abacab
Abacab by Genesis (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews