Customer Reviews


100 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply stunning.
With A Trick Of The Tail,Genesis effectively sealed their place in rock history[and their fans hearts],so this long awaited reissue, cleaned up and multi tracked, has been eagerly anticipated.

Before i go on i confess to not having a 5.1 system,so if you want to know how well the mixes perform in surround then i am sure other reviews will help you on that...
Published on 31 Mar 2007 by Paul M

versus
47 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars leave the classics alone
If you're lucky enough to own the original AAD CD issue, hold onto it because these remasters are a travesty. Admittedly if you're young and new to Genesis this new "remix remaster" will appeal, since the bass has been elevated close to the pain threshold, the vocal range has been hit sideways with added reverb, and all those delicate quiet bits that made the original so...
Published on 20 Jun 2009 by F. M. Havicon


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply stunning., 31 Mar 2007
By 
Paul M "ROYALSFAN" (Reading ,England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
With A Trick Of The Tail,Genesis effectively sealed their place in rock history[and their fans hearts],so this long awaited reissue, cleaned up and multi tracked, has been eagerly anticipated.

Before i go on i confess to not having a 5.1 system,so if you want to know how well the mixes perform in surround then i am sure other reviews will help you on that one.

However,even without the new audio hardware,this album sounds stunning,and has revealed hidden vocal tracks,guitar parts,and a depth of sound that could only have been imagined on previous releases.This album is the post Gabriel Genesis at their very best,and with each track something new is revealed to the listener.

1.Dance On A Volcano;Phil Collins vocals sound sharp,and even reveal some of his limitations,his cymbals sound crisp,and Mike Rutherfords bass pedals resonate.Whilst the lead instruments such as keyboards and guitars simply fill the space with such clarity it feels that you could be in the mixing room with the band.

2.Entangled,For a start the slightly annoying tape hiss at the beginning has all but been removed.This song reveals percussion previously buried in the mix,and the occaisional hidden backing vocal.As the song is so gentle a sympathetic treatment to the accoustic instruments would have been a pre requisite,and this has been easily achieved.

3.Squonk,a direct contrast to the previous song,and straight away the drums and bass thud away with a polite menace[this is Genesis we are talking about after all!].The vocals seem a little more distant on this mix,but maybe that was the intent,and thank goodness the irritating vocal wobble on "very fierce and frightening" has been corrected.It also sounds as if Collins loses his drum timing briefly near the end,great stuff.

4.Mad Man Moon,what strikes me about this track is the clarity of the vocals.The wonderful middle section of the song,has some buried percussion i had barely noticed before,and its vocal bridge cascades into the mix with authority,revealing Collins'accent in all its glory.

5.Robbery,Assault And Battery,Previous mixes have been good to this track,but this new treatment gives the story telling of the lyrics added impetus,with the chase section explodes from the speakers.

6.Ripples,To many people this is the albums centrepiece,and much of what i said about Entangled can also apply here.Again the vocals shine through because they sound a little fragile,giving the song a melancholy that a more established vocalist would have missed.The vocal performance on this song shows just how important Phil Collins'move from the drum stool to lead vocals was for the future of Genesis,whilst the instrumental interplay between Steve Hackett and Tony Banks was never bettered than on here,and the new mix really exploits this perfectly.

7.A Trick Of The Tail.This sweet little song has little more to reveal,but still sounds fresh and full of life.

8.Los Endos.The grand instrumental finale!The percussion and bass led beginning really drive the whole sound,and bearing in mind how much was going on in the music,the new mix copes brlliantly.This track more than any other on the album had the four musicians contributing their pieces at the same time,so it was important that any mix gave each band member sufficient space,as i noticed new guitar parts and percussion,i am satisfied with the results.Thankfully the fade out tribute to Peter Gabriel is still there to bring a lump to the throat!

On the dvd there is a helpful interview with contributions from all four musicians,which perhaps could have been a little longer[15 minutes,but i think i may be just a little greedy],but most importantly and probably the clincher for the whole set,is the "Genesis In Concert" film that had a limited release in 1977.Although flawed this is an essential piece of archive footage showing the band with renewed confidence[witness Phil Collins'tamborine antics],a rare live apperance of Bill Bruford on drum duties,and some decidedly dodgy fantasy sequences.

Really this is as good as it will ever get for long time Genesis fans,and this package in sound and vision deserves your attention.Quite simply this is stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Genesis - The Hackett Era!, 1 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Trick Of The Tail (Audio CD)
According to the media, Genesis were not deemed to succeed without the help of Peter Gabriel. All the singers that attempted to replace him were not as good as Phil Collins, who eclipsed them all, with both solid druming and vocals. Supported magnificently by Mike Rutherford, Steve Hackett and Tony Banks, the foursome originally planned the album to be instrumental, but the songs clearly benefit from the vocals. 'Enchanted' is a haunting ballad, mixed with delicate-sounding accoustic guitars,
while 'Ripples' is a swirling mix of emotion and feeling, given grace by the beautiful duet by Banks and Hackett. The fun is provided by the up-beat 'Robbery, Assult And Battery' - with a great solo section of crescendo keyboards. The title track and 'Los Endos' are both powerful pieces, dramatic in true Genesis fashion! This is an excellent piece of work, with all four members on top form - and is at an excellent price! You will not regret bying this album!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A trick of the Tail - A must own!, 1 May 2004
This review is from: A Trick Of The Tail (Audio CD)
Despite the worrying departure of Peter Gabriel from the band after the success of "The Lamb Lies Down on Broadway", this album goes on to demonstrate that Genesis still had one last phenomenal album to offer to their fans before they started to sell out. This album shows Genesis at their zenith of creative brilliance and musical virtuosity and is a slap in the face to anyone who thought that the band was finished after Gabriel decided to leave. Any Genesis fan must own a copy of this album.
The thundering opening track "Dance on a volcano" grabs the audience's attention immediately as Collin's goes on to graciously fill the shoes of Gabriel as lead singer, whilst continuing to demonstrate his ability as a wonderful percussionist, and is complimented by the supreme instrumental brilliance of Banks, Rutherford and Hackett. Whilst the hauntingly brilliant second track "Entangled" captures the imagination of the listener and provides them with lyrics which they will want to read again and again. After the brilliant "Squonk" comes "Mad Man Moon" which is another example of the truly amazing gift Banks posses as a song writer. This is perhaps the best song on the album. Then the brilliant and light hearted "Robbery Assault and Battery" sets the audience up for the truly beautiful "Ripples" which is about an old women looking in a mirror and seeing herself when she was young and beautiful. The title track is excellent from the start to the finish and is yet another example of Banks at his best. The album is then finished by the brilliant instrumental "Los Endos" which is a song that the audience can only marvel at and once finished, set their CD player to play track one again.
This is not only my favourite Genesis album but is also perhaps the best album I possess in my CD collection. Fans of the earlier material should own this album because it is truly the best piece of progressive rock the band have produced whilst fans of the later years will also love it's musical brilliance and perhaps slightly more commercial edge. This album shows Genesis at equilibrium between their earlier and later material and feeds off both eras to produce a piece of musical excellence. A must own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Trick of the Mix....., 7 July 2007
By 
David Williams (Brisbane, Queensland Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm sure anyone reading this will be familiar with excellent music that is Trick of the Tail so I'll concentrate on the new package. The SACD mix of Trick is quite simply stunning. This is by far the most impressive use of the format I have heard so far. Whilst still remaining true to the original and well loved sound, the level of detail revealed is incredible. The acoustic 12 strings shimmer throughout, especially on Entangled where Hackett's multi layered guitars can at last be truly appreciated. The vocals are also a suprise, I always felt the Phil sounded a little shy on the original version, not so here, with the voice fell forward, in fact so clear in places I thought at first some parts had been rerecorded. The icing on the cake however is the thumping bass, which gives the sub a thorough going over, but without muddying the proceedings. The thundering Taurus bass pedals send a shiver down the spine.
The extras included on the DVD are of interest, there are three rather cheesy but fun promo videos, an insightful set of interviews with all the chaps about the original recording and finally an edited live show from 76. The live show features Bill Bruford on drums, whose snappy jazzy style really gives the material an extra bite, especially when duelling with Phil.
All in all an excellent and highly recommended package, especially for those with SACD systems. If this level of sonic improvement can be made with the Gabriel era releases we are really in for a treat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Gabriel fan won over, 27 Jan 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: A Trick Of The Tail (Audio CD)
Like another recent reviewer, I came to this album quite late. Let me tell you about it. Back in the eighties, my eccentric friend (Jon Hunt, whatever happened to you?) and I were big fans of Genesis, but whilst both of my feet were firmly in the Gabriel camp, my friend swore by the belief that 'a trick' and 'wind and wuthering' were the greatest Genesis albums. In my youthful rashness, however, I refused point blank to listen to them, such was my hatred of Phil Collins.
Recently I was wistfully mulling over the past, and my friend's strong beliefs came back to me and I decided to check these albums out. The album didn't really grab me on the first play, but after about four plays I was completely in love with it. The album has everything; the mad Dance with a Volcano (reprised in Los Endos, along with others), the amusing and uplifting Robbery, Assault and Battery and the mesmeric Entangled. Every track is a winner, even though Squonk does foretell of the horrible eighties sound to come, it is sufficiently redeemed by a fabulous rumbling bassline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece, 30 Dec 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: A Trick Of The Tail (Audio CD)
Now isn't it strange that the music press give Genesis 3 stars. This seems to be the band that the critics love to slate. Perhaps instead of listening to untalented opinionated hacks, have a listen to some of the most sublime popular music you will ever hear. OK, it's not 'in yer face' music, if you want that go and buy some Sex Pistols. You can't bop to it because it has some really weird time sigs. You can't eat a romantic dinner to it. But you can sit down with a spare 45 minutes a good hi-fi and a bottle of red, close you eyes and really listen to it . Check out the drumming on Dance on a Volcano, the magical keys solo on Entangled, and the beautiful, dreamlike Mad Man Moon which is just gorgeous. The title track has subtle musical touches behind the bouncy theme. Los Endos drifts finally into the distance leaving one wanting it to stay. I'll finish by saying that if you haven't heard this album I am very, very jealous, because it has been so long since I have put a new record on and been utterly spellbound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5.1 Glory, 4 April 2007
By 
Sean O'Brien "seanaobrien" (Tredegar, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I won't coment on the album as I guess most people purchaing this will already be familiar with it and of the fact that it is one of Genesis' best.

First this package contins a hybrid CD/SACD in stero and 5.1. Then the DVD contains 5.1 DD and a DTS 96/24 mixes. The SACD and DTS multichannel mixes are superb - you really will hear things in this album that you never have before. I haven't listened to the Dolby mix. Dolby is OK for movies but it doesn't do justice to well recorded music due to the compresion rate.

In 5.1 the album really does come alive e.g. the sense of being surrounded by Steve Hackets acoustic guitars in Entangled is sublime.

I'm so glad to see major releases like this still taking advantage of the superior SACD format - long may it continue and may there be many more releases like this one.

The extra content on the DVD has already been commented on and is, in my opinion, a real bonus. A 42 minute rare concert featuring Bill Bruford on drums has to be a must have for any fan of Genesis from this period.

I bought this one as a 'taster' as it's may favouritie Genesis album. On the strength of this I will buy the rest of the 5.1 releases (well up to Duke, anyway).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 52 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars leave the classics alone, 20 Jun 2009
By 
F. M. Havicon (Brighton, East Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Trick Of The Tail (Audio CD)
If you're lucky enough to own the original AAD CD issue, hold onto it because these remasters are a travesty. Admittedly if you're young and new to Genesis this new "remix remaster" will appeal, since the bass has been elevated close to the pain threshold, the vocal range has been hit sideways with added reverb, and all those delicate quiet bits that made the original so profoundly beautiful have been homogenised. Those of us who remember the original mix/master have been left out of the twenty-first century marketing equation because all we do is complain that music today isn't a scratch on what it was yesterday. This issue very clearly isn't intended for us. Although odds on we'll be the only people buying it.

Did Genesis have a lead guitarist? Someone by the name of Hackett whose contribution got buried beneath the keyboard wash...he quit the band but that wasn't the reason he gave, though it should have been...well at least this new mix has tweaked a few of his grudging passages, you can now actually distinguish the weeping slide guitar from the piano arpeggios in "Ripples". So not all bad!

The music will never get anything other than 5 stars (it says so in Alan Freeman's History Of Pop)....but this new presentation gets 1 star....so average 3! Hunt out one of the older CD issues here on Amazon, this isn't the CD you're looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter WHO?, 28 Oct 2009
By 
T Everson (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Trick Of The Tail (Audio CD)
Genesis of 1976 were found themselves in a strange position. Peter Gabriel, the band's lead singer who was also responsible for the entire lyrics for the previous concept double-LP, had left the band and in the public's eyes there was little hope for the rest of the band. They didn't even have a lead singer to replace Gabriel. Did they?

Since their "official" debut album, Trespass in 1970, Genesis had slowly built up a small but loyal following, drawn into the worlds their sprawling `prog rock' epics like Supper's Ready, The Musical Box, and The Cinema Show. However, even in 1974, at the release of the Gabriel-penned The Lamb Lies Down On Broadway, they had yet to hit commercial success. Their solo "hit", 1973's I Know What I Like (In Your Wardrobe), was still, three years later, the only song the casual listener would recognise. When Gabriel left, it seemed Genesis would be remembered as the band that launched Peter Gabriel and little else.
Mike Rutherford and Tony Banks, Genesis' remaining founder members, set about holding auditions for a new singer. Their audition song, the heavy Squonk, told the story of a creature that melts when one looks at it. Indeed. Despite numerous auditions, the band had been unable to find a singer suitable to fill Gabriel's shoes. It was then that the band's drummer, a certain Phil Collins, meekly suggested he attempt the song. In reality, this wasn't such a giant leap, Collins had provided backing vocals on a number of tracks, and even handled lead vocals on two early songs, For Absent Friends and More Fool Me. However, Rutherford and Banks were sceptical as to how Collins could handle a song requiring as powerful vocals as Squonk. Impressed with his gutsy performance, they decided to run with it. As well as Steve Hackett on guitars, the band had closed the ranks and were ready to get back to the business of recording an album.

Both Rutherford and Banks had begun to feel creatively hampered during the recording of The Lamb, as Gabriel had insisted on writing all lyrics, they had been forced to sit on some of their strongest compositions, which were to surface on A Trick of The Tail. This "new Genesis" start strong, laying down the gauntlet with Dance On A Volcano, and the record easily swings between beautiful, haunting songs such as Entangled and Ripples (my own personal favourite) and the fairytale Squonk with its John Bonham-esque drums. The only time the album falls down for me is on Robbery, Assault and Battery, a tale of a criminal, with a lot of Collins' influence stamped on it. This 2007 remaster has a great mix, and the 5.1 really does use all of the channels well (I loved turning down all of the other speakers so Collin's vocal was exposed solo. But that's just me). A great album and a true classic, Genesis would never look back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A near-perfect album from beginning to end., 7 Feb 2011
By 
A. Cippico (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Trick Of The Tail (Audio CD)
Perhaps it's just a bad case of nostalgia that prompts one to revisit teenage years through the music of the time. This is one such case and one such album. I remember my 15 year-old self sitting on my bed and playing the vinyl album to death. Roll on 35 years and I now play the CD version in a similar manner.
Like reuniting with an old friend, I was amazed how quickly I got re-acquainted with this album. Paradoxically, when asked, I can't remember what my wife said to me last week, yet I could remember every single word of this musical masterpiece instantly. I found myself singing along like it was yesterday.
I'm not going to go over each track individually, as many other have done that well enough here. What I will say is that the brilliance of the song-writing and musicianship shines through the murk of the pap music ridden world we have to endure these days. It's not only a breath of fresh air, it INVOLVES you in a way that very little music does today. Man, I'm sounding old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Trick Of The Tail
A Trick Of The Tail by Genesis (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews