Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars90
4.4 out of 5 stars
Price:£17.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 January 2016
A cult classic from the late 80's- Great to view again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 August 2008
...it never totally lives up to the memories. That isnt a bad thing, but with 22 episodes to plough through, at least you have the luxury of skipping some of the weaker moments. I'll explain below.

It loses a star simply cause most of season 1 isnt much cop, and admittedly (check out the extras), is self indulgent, which is reflected in sketches going on for far too long on many occasions. John sparkes' stuff was always funny, probably cause most of it relied of a lot of physical comedy. Its also remarkable how he's the oldest of the lot and yet seems remarkably well preserved, with the youngest of them - Jack Docherty- looking like he's really gone to seed (again, check out the extras).

Most of the episodes, which I remember catching regularly in the early 90's, have moments of eye watering hilarity, but then are also coupled with some unecessary material. Maybe its just me being a bit picky, but then perhaps i expected the standard to be pretty devastating throughout. Ah nostalgia isnt what it used to be etc..

Well worth checking out for the extras (over 2 hours of very watchable stuff) and seasons 2 to 4 alone.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
As described, prompt delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2015
As described, many thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2008
This show was a cracker! No-one I know has seen it (even the comedy obsessives) and it is still considerably better than most of the junk coming out today. I would have bought it just for the Denzyl/Gwynnyd bits because they were always my favourites...Welsh Unarmed Hitting!
Gwynnyd "Don't talk about the man I love that way...he's everything you're not"
Denzyl "Well, I'm not a pile of sick on the carpet"
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
Item as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2012
For many moons, my family have asked me what this meant, and now, at last, I can show them.

I'll be singing 'Big Words, Incredibly Big Words' for weeks now!

Easily the funniest thing I have ever watched on TV - many happy memories of crying with laughter at John Sparkes refusing anaesthetic, the angry Scotsman bemoaning Englands world cup draws, and of course "we've gone electric!".

Outstanding - not to be missed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2008
After years of watching a worn out vido, this long awaited DVD is finally here. What is described as a underrated comedy series does seem to have a lot of fans out there and this is not a surprise as this has to be the defining comedy of the early 90's. If you are a fan you won't need telling twice to buy this, and if you have never heard of of Stoneybridge or Frank Hovis, then get you money out now and sit back to enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2008
This was one of my favourite comedy series of the 80's/90's. The racist scotsman was my favourite, but agree with others here, this passed a lot of people by, no-one i know has even heard of it, a total travesty of comedy justice!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2008
Absolutely Is one of the greatest Brittish shows the second one Is Monty Python.These shows take me way back to when I was a young kid.I used to watch this show on channel four with my mum.
Good memories.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)