Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary and sublimely beautiful animated film
My husband picked this up at the grocery store the other day quite by chance without having heard of it, and our children haven't stopped watching it since.

It is an extraordinarily beautiful film in every way -- the visuals, the voices (we watch in the original French), the music, the story. The animation is exquisite. Colours are saturated and stunningly...
Published on 28 Dec. 2008 by Monika

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Azur and Asmar
Fantastic film and just what I was looking for though it's a shame that the quality is not so good. There are variations in light contrast and flickers during the film.
Published on 10 Jan. 2010 by Mrs. Janet Smajli


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extraordinary and sublimely beautiful animated film, 28 Dec. 2008
This review is from: Azur and Asmar - The Princes Quest [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
My husband picked this up at the grocery store the other day quite by chance without having heard of it, and our children haven't stopped watching it since.

It is an extraordinarily beautiful film in every way -- the visuals, the voices (we watch in the original French), the music, the story. The animation is exquisite. Colours are saturated and stunningly gorgeous, and there is much use of a richly patterned ground -- mosaic tiles, fields of flowers, tree trunks, a lion's mane... The drawing of the characters is very different from that in Hollywood animation, and so some viewers may need to adjust to it; I take issue with the previous reviewer who says that the 3D animation is "not that great" -- it is stylistically different, intentionally so. The animator is trying to achieve a different feeling and relationship between the viewer and the story; he is not trying to persuade the viewer that this is the real world, but rather, transports the viewer into a magical otherworldly realm. Figures are elongated, patterned grounds are flattened, but faces are delicately drawn and eyes are riveting.

The story is about the rivalry and love between two boys, brothers for all intents and purposes, and is elegantly told. This film is remarkable for the positive way in which it portrays the richness and beauty of Maghreb/North African culture.

This is a stunningly beautiful film for the whole family, and I am hard-pressed to think of a finer animated tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a visually stunning film!, 25 Mar. 2009
This review is from: Azur and Asmar - The Princes Quest [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This film is beautiful. Bought it for my daughter originally (aged7) who was mesmerized. So good to find an 'original' children's film as well as one that opens up dicussion about identity, origins etc... As a dual heritage child my daughter was already very able to talk about and understand aspects of the story but I also bought it for her neices and nephews to broaden their horizons a little too. Best thing about this DVD though has got to be the fantastic images that stick in your mind-the musics really good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting quest tale, 24 Oct. 2008
This review is from: Azur and Asmar - The Princes Quest [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I saw reviews for this, but it never came to my cinema so I grabbed the DVD when it became available, and was totally bowled over by it. I'll get my gripe over first in that some of the 3D animation is not that great. The two fairies at the beginning of the film who cast a spell over the two children are not well done at all, and I nearly gave up there, but I'm glad I continued. If you can accept that you are not going to get Shrek levels of computer animation, then there is much more to amaze and enjoy. The standard of the backrounds is extraordinary - the opening scenes in Azur's home are like medieval illuminations with the most beautiful colours and attention to detail. Jenane's house is a most beautiful creation of tiles and gardens, and Princess Chamsous Sabah's palace has to be seen to be believed.

Characterisations are very good, and the women are particularly strong especially Jenane, and Princess Chamsous Sabah - she is a total delight and virtually steals the film.

Where the animation does work at is best is at the most traditional which plays to Michel Ocelot's strengths. Azur and Chamsous Sabah climbing a tree to watch the city at night is truly beautiful. The quest at the end is well done with a great lion and bird, and the whole story has a great moral lesson to teach, but not in a preachy way. Watch and be dazzled!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Azur and Asmar - The Princes Quest [DVD] [2008], 27 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Azur and Asmar - The Princes Quest [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
An enchanting story about two little boys, one is looked after by his foreign nanny and the other is the nanny's own son. They grow up together for a while until the boy's father sacks the nanny and he the boy is sent off to study. Years later he returns and goes on a quest which re-unites him with his "brother" and the nanny, and much more. A good story of what is right and wrong. My 4 and 6 year-olds love it (but a bit too much for my 3 year-old). The animation isn't "Pixar" standard but it's perfectly good. Would recommend this to anyone - children of all ages over 4 and adults too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magic from a master director, 15 Mar. 2009
By 
D. Wallace-Lawrence (North Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Azur and Asmar - The Princes Quest [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
As the very proud owner of Ocelot's Kirikou we approached a public showing of this,his latest project, with considerable anticipation. We were not disappointed. Our own home cinema set up has now been set alight by this DVD ..children and adults alike are thrilled with it.Six grand children with ages between 12 and 4 want to see it again and again. Great messages of reconciliation and brotherhood of man -just what the world needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unusual., 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Azur and Asmar - The Princes Quest [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
A stylish animated film. Enough scrapping to hold boys' attention. As it is 90 mins, need to split viewing into 2 or 3 sessions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and uplifting!, 29 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Azur and Asmar - The Princes Quest [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
My son (6) and my daughter (4) were so absorbed to watch the film to the end. Even us, the paretns too. This film shows a great way to understand multi culturism. The picture is beautiful. The story is uplifting. Everybody must watch this otherwise you are missing out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing DVD!, 17 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Azur and Asmar - The Princes Quest [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I loved it I think more than my daughter. She is 4,5 yers and i think she is still a bit too young to understand everything.
Very inspiring and I'm sure she will love it too in a two years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Animated pleasure, 30 April 2013
By 
C. J. Tyler "cjtbrocco" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Azur and Asmar - The Princes Quest [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Im not a fan of animation, as I find the constant movement distracts me from the characterisation and the story. In this case, the animation is simple and often still. The design is beautiful, like a very artistic picture-book. The Islamic buildings are stunning. The soundtrack is attractive and unobtrusive.
I would happily watch this again without the sound, just to enjoy the visual experience.
The story is simple and moving with very clear narration. This is a film for adults and children to savour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful film, 3 Feb. 2013
By 
G. M. Thomas (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Azur and Asmar - The Princes Quest [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
We saw it at the cinema and a very good DVD release. Well worth buying if you haven't seen the film; a film that will delight everyone, from young to old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Azur and Asmar - The Princes Quest [DVD] [2008]
£8.02
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews