Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars22
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 27 August 2008
George Minter put the making of this British classic on hold for several months until Diana Dors was free and we can see why! He was so determined to get her - she'd been tied up in a previous contract for films at the time and so had not been available for several months. She gets top billing in this - and no wonder!

Dors plays a good time girl who's bent on getting the guy with the money to go with it! Hypnotised by her beauty, 'Dave' (Terence Morgan) is blinded by the fact that she's not in love with him, and is persuaded to do a robbery, but all goes wrong and everything backfires...

There's plenty of tense moments and lots of suspense in this crime thriller, with one or two 'twists' thrown in for good measure!

This has been a dreadfully long time coming out on DVD, but has been well worth the wait since this has been lovingly re-mastered to an exceptionally high quality.

Also stars; Patrick Allen, George Baker and Jane Griffiths.

The title song was recorded by Jim Dale.

Fabulous movie!
0Comment|42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 September 2008
This is a classic British thriller from 1958. Diana Dors is stunning as the sex siren who drives a rift between two brothers without realising that she cannot have everything she wants. What she wants is George Baker, but she is already involved somewhat one sidedly with his brother.
The weaker brother, Dave, has robbed his employer and hits the panic button when he hears the auditors are on their way. Diana persuades him to rob the safe to get himself out of the pickle.
It is never that simple.
This is a stunning kitchen sink film noire. A serious drama, it has an intensity second to none. The scenery is bland and atmospheric and provides an excellent backdrop to this outstanding film.
It was lovely to see a young Patrick Allen.
WELL WORTH WATCHING!
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 April 2010
I was too young to appreciate the sexiness of Diana Dors in her prime. Luckily there are a few films on DVD to let us see just how seductive she could be. This is certainly one of them.

The film begins with one brother (George Baker) on the run, in debt, from the type of bookies who break your legs if you don't pay up. He goes to his brother. This brother (Terence Morgan) just happens to be fiddling his firm's books to pay for all the money he is spending on Calico - what a wonderful name - played by Diana Dors. Sure enough, Calico seduces Baker, and comes up with a plan for Morgan to rob his employer. - It all goes horribly wrong of course.

Dors really is sizzling in this, even though she isn't actually on screen for that much time. The first view we have of her is bending over, in tight shorts, on an outside terrace. Her acting is top notch too.

The story builds up a good degree of tension; we don't know actually how this is all going to end. And all this is set against the background of an industrial town in the North of England. There is a good deal of location filming and the story is enacted against a backcloth of steelworks, smog, factory chimneys, and railways (some wonderful shots of steam locos for railway enthusiasts). It came as no great surprise to see that the cinematogapher was the great Douglas Slocombe, who can make the most mundane of settings look magical.

We get a good story, well acted, here.

But we also get a view of a time when our great Northern towns and cities were real, working, places, alive with industry (there are great shots filmed right inside the steelworks, and the network of railway lines feeding it), where people clock in to work, live in tiny rooms, and the roads are as yet unclogged by traffic.

The transfer and picture quality are generally good.

A strong recommendation for this one.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2008
At long last this British classic comes to DVD! Very realistic crime drama with never a dull moment and fine acting. The DVD itself from Odeon Entertainment is good quality, apart from a few light scratches here and there on their master. The only time this really effects the film is about half way through it where a line appears right down the middle of the picture. Luckily this only lasts for a minute or two but nevertheless is still annoying. Why didn't they have the master tape cleaned?
Anyway, the DVD is definetely worth the money with such a good price.
Enjoy.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2012
Tread Softly Stranger sounds a hell of a lot more interesting than it actually is. The story of bad boy Johnny (a young and handsome George Baker, 30 years before he became the much-loved Inspector Wexford), his weak brother Dave (Terence Morgan), who both fall for Calico (a vamping-it-up Diana Dors) before becoming embroiled in a bungled wages snatch, is very much of its time.

The lead characters are all fairly two-dimensional, and I didn't find any of the performances particularly engaging or interesting. The fictional Yorkshire town of Rawborough is well realised, although the limited budget meant that the numerous scenes on the roof of the shared boarding house looked staged and overly theatrical. The story is rather far-fetched, and I struggled to believe the motivations of the characters. I found both Bakers' and Dors' performances to be fairly flat, but I guess neither actor was known for the broad range and challenging characterisations. The final twist in the story is marred by Bakers' forced final scene.

This DVD release is of high quality, with a crisp picture that shows off the rather well executed photography to good effect; I'd say it's worth the Amazon price. It's an undemanding way to spend an hour and a half, but will probably appeal more to fans of 1950s and 60s British film thrillers, but don't expect too much.

© Koplowitz 2012
11 comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2009
Tread Softly Stranger - a terrific film noire set in the 1950,s. with great performances for Diana Dors and George Baker. This film has an added bonus for me since it was set in Rotherham and district, where I was born and brought up. Both Dors and Baker mention the film and making of it in their autobigraphies.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 December 2015
I feel I have to point out that as far as I can tell the previous 19 reviews apply to the ODEON DVD released years ago. Mine (this one) is for the RENOWN DVD released November 2015. The quality of this DVD is good tho it doesn't claim to be remastered. Clear B'W picture, good sound, (the levels do fluctuate with the music) and 4.3 ratio which sometimes appeared just a wee bit cropped, but not enough to spoil my enjoyment. And enjoyment I had by the bucketful. The whole film is pure melodrama, with accents coming and going through swing doors, apart from Di who doesn't do any accent at all. Now I have to confess I find Ms. Dors very sexy, and here she pulls out all the stops so to speak (as she did in "The Long Haul"). No apologies, I can't help it - could be my age - it's not callow youth for me any more. Baker and Morgan could (should?) have switched roles, and both do their best with the histrionics. Excellent grimy location work and some fascinating Steel factory doc footage make this an above average British thriller (1957). Mind you, it's not exactly realistic kitchen sink, but it is fun in it's own odd way. I should add that there is a bonus "Burke's Law" featuring Di, plus some interviews (which I haven't seen). VFM
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2010
This is a classic British film from the Fifties, with a great cast. The acting can't be faulted. Diana Dors was well sexy, and beautiful; a true star and much missed.

It's shot on location which really adds to the atmosphere.

Calico (Diana Dors) and Dave (Terence Morgan) are doing alright until Dave's brother(George Baker)arrives, trying to escape his gambling debts. Tensions between all of them start to rise, and in the quest for money, a plot is hatched, which goes wrong. The twist at the end is superb.

I was very pleased with the dvd and package itself. It comes with a pamphlet inside called Crime Notes which gives very interesting information on the main actors and actress. Amazon were very good indeed - I received the dvd within 3 days.

The only thing I don't approve of is that the cover-picture has quite clearly been altered to get rid of the fact that Diana Dors was holding a glass in her right hand, and George Baker was holding a cigarette!! It's this tiresome "Health and Safety" gone mad again.

I'd now like to see "Passport to Shame" released on dvd.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2010
What a great movie! Diana Dors is the vamp in this 50s thriller set in a northern English town who puts between two brothers & forces them into crime due to her demands-real tension filled thriller-Dors taking her earings off is sexier than any present day actress stripping off completely-you will enjoy.This is up there with some of the best American film noirs of the 50s.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2015
I've just watched this on Talking Pictures (SKY channel 343). As a period piece of social history in 1958 it's really quite interesting. Was England really like that when I was aged 8? I found the acting to be a bit 'ham', with each character really stereo-typed. The two brothers lapsed in and out of northern accents, as did the younger Irishman. There was one short scene when Calico (Diana Dors) is describing her former life, when she shows that she really could act and my goodness, wasn't she beautiful? As for the story, all a bit predictable really except for one surprise at the end. However, as a fan of old black and white films I quite enjoyed it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)