Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Same excellent soul but much much prettier
Having played most of the SC games on various machines this is up with the best ( ie SC2 ) . Having spent first couple of hours on arcade and wondering how Ivy can stand up let alone fight was very impressed. The create a character ends up experimenting with er hem hem er ladies in very little , oh well boyz will be boyz. Online can be daunting as high level players wipe...
Published on 24 Aug. 2008 by G. Miller

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Teenage boys dream!
Having enjoyed past SC games I was looking forward to playing this. And it is a lot of fun to play. It's good for some mindless video game violence but does become fairly repetitive.

The single player modes lack something. Story mode is a bit of a joke really, and there's not much sense of achievement in arcade mode. OK, Tower of lost souls does provide...
Published on 9 Sept. 2008 by M. Lewis


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Same excellent soul but much much prettier, 24 Aug. 2008
By 
G. Miller "kiwipaul" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Soul Calibur IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Having played most of the SC games on various machines this is up with the best ( ie SC2 ) . Having spent first couple of hours on arcade and wondering how Ivy can stand up let alone fight was very impressed. The create a character ends up experimenting with er hem hem er ladies in very little , oh well boyz will be boyz. Online can be daunting as high level players wipe the floor with you as getting up once down is nearly impossible , so it can end up a random button bash to even get on hit in .. I suppose practice and a good character is essential. So not a five star game as it can get a little repeditive but all in all a worthy purchase.Plus I hear Darth Vader will be downloadable at some point , so lucky we are mmmm ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very high calibur of game, 5 Aug. 2008
By 
D. Lloyd "Riddick" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Soul Calibur IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Having played the 'soul' series since Blade on the PS1, and being one of the tragically few people to have owned a Dreamcast with Soul Calibur 1, I was a bit dissapointed with the xbox incarnation of the series. I didnt find much evolution in SC 2, and number 3 was, frankly, poor.
I held out hope that this new gen of console would breath life into the franchise and thank goodness I have not been let down. SC has always had beautiful backgrounds and cut scenes, but in SC4 the character detail is on another level- the animation and graphical clarity during fights has never been better, with a real sense of solidity and depth to the characters. The 'create a fighter' mode is great, even if you cannot combine move sets from different characters. The inclusion of the Star Wars universe does not grate on me as much as I though it would, and Yoda leaping about like when he fought Duku in the movies is a lot of fun- at least he is a bit 'different' and not like Spawn in SC2, who felt merely like a familiar fighter with a different character model patched over the top.
The joy of the SC series is that, for purists, there is depth, but it still allows 'button mashers' to pull off some great combos. Some see this as a fault, but i love the fact that in vs mode I cant take for granted that I can beat someone less familiar with the game- every fight is challenging.
I am not online, but can only presume that, providing there are no lag issues, the vs mode will be as entertaining as it is in 'meatspace'.
If you loved SC, but felt let down by number 3, then let this game restore you faith in a truly great gaming series- its the best its been since it lived on the Dreamcast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A game with alot of 'Soul', 15 Jan. 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Soul Calibur IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Soulcalibur is one of the greatest fighting series' in the world. The games feel fresh everytime the are released and their system is great.

The system is brilliant. It is a simple fighting system but with little twists. Such as the soul gauge or gaurd impacting (More on them in a minute). Each character has a river of different moves, so it takes time to become a master. Because of the different moves, characters are drastically different. For example; Kilik is a fast character who's hits aren't strong but he can land lots of them, whereas Nightmare is a slow character so relies on the strenght of his hits to overpower the enemy.

The little ideas in the game really strengthen gameplay. Gaurd impacting, means even when an enemy is landing a combo on you, you can still counter and turn the tables. The 8-way-run is another thing, it was invented way back in Soul Blade - Platinum and has still made the Soulcalibur engine unique to other games such as Tekken or Street Fighter. One thing however, the Soul gauge, doesn't work quite as well. In theory the player should be able to execute special moves but meeting the requirements for this can take some time.

The game has many modes including STORY, ARCADE, VERSUS etc. But the one that is probably the most praised is Character Creation. The ability to create your own unique characters with hundreds of different options. My only problem is the lack of usable voices for the characters but it's only a small problem.

Summary:
+GREAT system
+Great variety
+Character creation rocks
-Some ideas didn't quite work

9/10, get this and improve your collection.

P.S: Please support Namco and purchase the upcoming Soul Calibur V (Xbox 360). Cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Teenage boys dream!, 9 Sept. 2008
By 
M. Lewis "Hobbes2008" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Soul Calibur IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Having enjoyed past SC games I was looking forward to playing this. And it is a lot of fun to play. It's good for some mindless video game violence but does become fairly repetitive.

The single player modes lack something. Story mode is a bit of a joke really, and there's not much sense of achievement in arcade mode. OK, Tower of lost souls does provide something else but there's little variety really. Online play lags a lot at times but can be entertaining. It is a problem that if you get downed once, your opponent can pretty easily hit you with several attacks and you've lost. As usual with xbox live, the majority of players are only concerned with stats and levelling up, so you're unlikely to find many matches where they are trying out different moves/combos etc, it's usual standard button bashing in an effort to win, which detracts from the entertainment value.

It can be fairly repetitive in all modes, though in some ways that is a problem of any fighting game. There is a good selection of characters but a lot of them have the same fighting style. Yes, we get Yoda rather than Vader, but really that's a minor point and really shouldn't affect your decision to buy the game or not.

Graphically it's pretty good, and to link in with the title, I'm sure the ample breasts bouncing around on the female characters will do no harm to the games sales amongst certain parts of society!

Overall it's a decent enough game but not one that's likely to hold the attention for months on end. If you want a good fighting game though, look no further.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Good, 9 Sept. 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Soul Calibur IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Having never bought any of the previous Soul Calibur games, I didn't really know what to expect in terms of depth and replay value, and, having always been terrible at this kind of game, was rather apprehensive about buying this. However I put these worries to the back of my mind as I needed to get something to ease the wait for Star Wars The Force Unleashed, and as this introduces characters from the Star Wars Universe, it was the perfect choice.

The game looks fantastic, each character's detail is superb and the thought and effort that has gone into the environments is great. The character motions are sleek and smooth, giving it a very impressive appearance.

The Single Player options are good, ranging from Story mode where you can play as any character through a series of stages, to The Tower of Lost Souls, where for each set of Levels on the Tower you have to select a certain amount of characters who are then put up against many more opponents. This can be quite challenging when you are only allowed to chose 1 character for a set which contains say 3 levels, each with 3 opponents on.

This is overcome by using the game's Character Creation mode, which as well as allowing you to completely create your own character, can be used to unlock new characters, and modify existing characters with new equipment to make them that little bit stronger in order to progress through the game.

Multiplayer is also strong - I have not had much experience playing it on Live due to my subscription ending :(, but when I did I experienced no lag and enjoyed the challenge of playing people who were clearly more adapted to this type of game. Offline multiplayer is fun and fast paced, but if there was one thing I would like to see in multiplayer would be an option to include more than 2 players and have a system similar to the Tower of Lost Souls whereby you can switch to a different character. This is just my opinion though, and in reality the multiplayer is as much, if not more fun the excellent single player modes.

Overall this is a game that I really have been pleasantly surprised with, it is fun and action-packed with some great visuals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Can't think of a decent pun..."may the soul be with you?", 1 Sept. 2008
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Soul Calibur IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I think, the main problem with Soul Calibur IV is, that, with the step into the 7th generation of videogames, the era of super awesome graphics and mainstream online gaming, the game tries so hard to fit in with the crowd, it has lost it's a way a little.

This isn't to say Soul Calibur IV isn't a good game, it is, it's a great game, in fact, and I recommend you buy it, I just don't feel it's as good as the previous titles in the great series, and no amount of Star Wars characters can convince me otherwise.

What I had noticed, is that, well there's a distinct lack of things to actually do. Single player modes are very limited. With only Arcade, which is fun, but only there to earn money. Story, the very title is an overstatement, it consists of 5 stages and one unique cut-scene for each character, and Tower of Souls, which is actually pretty decent and challenging, but not enough.

Offline Multiplayer, if anything, has been downgraded from the previous installments, there's Standard and Special verses, that's it. Unless there's a mode I've not unlocked yet, and I certainly hope there is, that's just not enough. Character creation has been simplified, but I'm happy to report that there's loads of customisable options, and you'll be spending a lot of time there.

One of the main new additions is online play, this is, well, what it says on the tin, the lag is frustrating and it certainly slows the pace, but at least it's there.

The characters are varied and interesting, but I wanted there to be more new additions than given, and more with unique styles and weapons, but the roster is impressive nevertheless. The Star Wars characters are fun to use, even though Yoda is annoying battling against due to his height.

Overall, it's a great game, but it just feels like there's a load missing, maybe it was to save space, who knows, or to put more power into generating the beautiful graphics. If you're a fan of the series, you may be a tad disappointed, but if you're just looking for a decent fighter, this is the way to go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Story?, 21 July 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Soul Calibur IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Having played the original Soulblade on PS1, I had high hopes for this title. As other reviewers have said, it's generally a solid title in that the graphics are great and there are plenty of combos to master etc.

It is let down however by it's story mode (or lack thereof). In Soulblade the player traveled a world map facing a variety of opponants and picked up new weapons for significant vitories. This was possibly an hour or mores play for a story (with something like 15 unique stories). Soul Calibur appears to have none of this, being simply 6 stages of vs battles preceeded by floating test (which is full of spelling and gramatical errors). This can be completed in under 6 minutes and was a real dissapointment for me, particularly as weapon upgrades no longer depend upon progression, but rather can be bought at any time once a few credits have been amassed (and you get a heap of these for completing arcade mode once through). In short, this means you can purchase some of the best kit in the game (or unlock hidden characters) within an hour of opening the box. Obviously the credit system was intended to provide flexibility, but I found that this simply meant I had no incentive to play, having purchased many upgrades just in learning the basics of the game.

In short, this is a great combat game and will be a blast for multiplayer. But beware if you plan to play offline (or without freinds), as you may feel a tad short changed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Great Soul Calibur IV, 10 Aug. 2008
By 
Mr. Steven R. Walker "Steven R Walker" (Stamford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Soul Calibur IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Soul Calibur IV may be a bit different to the last ones, but believe me it is one of the best, the graphics are astonishing. The on-line is great with xbox live. Yes there is yoda and a few other silly characters, but take the game for what it is, brilliant, personally i like using yoda as a character as he is great, but those who think its stupid to have yoda in soul calibur IV then you don't have too use him or them, overall a brill game for those who love fighting games like this. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars True Sequel to Soul Calibur 2, 1 Aug. 2008
By 
D. L. Casson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Soul Calibur IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
A lot of people are 'reviewing' this on this page and saying you can't play as Vader but it is a well known fact that he will be available as DLC later on so thats that sorted. The last Soul Calibur game wasn't as good as it could've been and people were expecting something better than SC2 which I had on GCN with Link. This Soul Calibur is the true sequel to that because it keeps the same idea of console specific characters which makes the game different on each console. The addition of online play really saves this game because without it you wouldn't play on it for nearly as long and kicking your friend's arse as Yoda or even the Sith Apprentice is a lot of fun. It keeps all the favourite characters from the previous games like and fills the game with lovely next-gen graphics which makes it look amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 21 Aug. 2008
By 
M. Loizides (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Soul Calibur IV (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is superb, visually stunning, intricate gameplay, great character creation mode, loads of challenges and great online play. My only criticism is that online matchmaking doesn't seem to work very well and you can find yourself up against a much more experienced (or inexperienced) player which isn't much fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Soul Calibur IV (Xbox 360)
Soul Calibur IV (Xbox 360) by Ubisoft (Xbox 360)
£11.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews