Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gloriously decadent wartime drama
The Camomile Lawn is a production bursting with delicious characters superbly portrayed by a quality cast. The "action" is split between the early years of World War 2 and the "present": 1980's/1990, telling a number of individual but interlinked stories that are by turns touching, shocking and humorous. The lovely Jennifer Ehle as the promiscuous and self seeking...
Published on 27 April 2006 by james-Arundel

versus
15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reminiscent randy relationships of relatives and friends
The story starts out with people going to Max's (Oliver Cotton) funeral 40 years after WWII. On the way to the funeral each person, several generations of family and friends reminisce on their earlier war years where five cousins gathered at their uncles' house with a chamomile lawn.

The costumes and sets were impeccable and carried you to a different world and...
Published on 2 Dec. 2006 by bernie


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A faithful adaptation and great fun., 15 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Camomile Lawn [DVD] (DVD)
The Camomile Lawn tells the story of how members of one large extended family go through a progressive loss of innocence prior, during and after WWII. The opening chapter is concerned with family holidays to Uncle Richard's house in Cornwall where Oliver, Calypso, Sophy and Polly enjoy fabulous visits and carefree experiences. Once war is declared, that idyllic existence is tarnished as one by one they all feel the effects of the war. Subsequently, many years later, the older versions of the main characters all congregate for a funeral where they share their experiences and reopen old wounds and rivalries.

its hard to believe that its been 22 years since this excellent mini series was aired on channel 4. Although relatively low budget, the actors do a great job with a sharp script and inject a real vibrancy into their characters. Jennifer Ehle and Tara Fitzgerald stand out as the beauties of the piece, but the whole cast are good and the "oldies" are a faithful representation of what the younger characters would likely evolve into.

Mary wesley always liked to blow a long, protracted raspberry at the upper classes in her novels, but in "The cammomile lawn" she exchanges her sarcasm for fondess of the courage (although often flawed) of the war generation. As with any Wesley novel, she shows characters who are deeply complicated and have differing measures of virtue and deceit. This translates well to the screen in this adaptation.

The 80's and early 90's produced some wonderful T.V. period pieces which I think would be difficult to make with the same degree of affection today. Perhaps it's just the years passing, but as that period becomes less relevant to the modern generation, I have noticed the shift from warm nostaglia to matter of fact story telling in subsequent productions of recent years.

Great fun and has something for every "Mad dog and Englishman!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect viewing, 29 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Camomile Lawn [DVD] (DVD)
it is a rare thing when the film of a book is such a fine adaptation that it enhances the book on a second reading. the camomile lawn is one such adaptation, it comes with a terrific cast and some very fine acting. withstands repeated viewings!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb TV adaptation of Mary Wesley's most famous work, 18 Mar. 2009
By 
A. L. Oliver "Alli Oli" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Camomile Lawn [DVD] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed this adaptation and it stays faithful to the book. Only towards the end do you find a few omissions or minor changes, however nothing instrumental to the plot. The acting is excellent and the scenery superb. The house in Cornwall is now run as a Bed And Breakfast, what a treat for any fan. My only disapointment with the 2008 DVD edition is that after 16 years from its original broadcast it would have been wonderful if it had been digitally remastered as this would have sharpened up an at times grainy appearance. However I still rate it 5 stars as this has no bearing on the overall quality of the production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a classy little Home Front love fest, 14 Sept. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Camomile Lawn [DVD] (DVD)
OK, it's a bit dated and very stagey in style, partly down to Sir Peter Hall's direction. He is, after all, at his best in the theatre. But it's good stuff and virtually entirely faithful to Mary Wesley's excellent novel. We could have done with a bit less freneticism but then Wesley's opus is like that, and maybe a more sensitive interpretation could have chucked the manicly laughing women. All in all, however, this is great viewing. Were they really all having so much fun on the Home Front? Perish the thought.
This DVD has subtitles for the deaf and hard of hearing, information you will not get from Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great acting, great story, 6 Mar. 2014
By 
J. Scott-mandeville "jackie veronica" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Camomile Lawn [DVD] (DVD)
A marvellous cast (Jennifer Ehle, Felicity Kendal, Claire Bloom, Richard Harris, Paul Eddington, Tara Fitzgerald, Toby Stephens, Rebecca Hall - in a very early role as a young girl - this series could not go wrong. With a near-perfect adaptation of Mary Wesley's wonderful novel, using much of the original dialogue, and re-creating the characters exactly as one envisages them from the book, the story of the older and younger generation and their wartime affairs and the way they got through the war in London and Cornwall, this TV series is a gem.

I recommend it thoroughly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful series, available to watch free on catch-up (with ..., 10 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Camomile Lawn [DVD] (DVD)
Wonderful series, available to watch free on catch-up (with adverts) But too good for that! So, buy it in stead. Great acting/locations/music...it's a joy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!!!, 11 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Camomile Lawn [DVD] (DVD)
Only need one word to sum it up.
Brilliant!!!!!!
British cast and location at its very best.
Why oh why don't we make more of this quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Camomile Lawn [DVD] (DVD)
I haven't read the source novel so can't comment on the series's relation to it, but as an engaging piece of drama with a strong cast and a compelling story it worked for me.
I enjoyed seeing Rebecca Hall and Jennifer Ehle at the start of their acting careers: each gives a performance that indicated the quality of their subsequent work.
Regarding extras, or lack thereof, I think it's a personal thing. I didn't feel the need to see any supporting material: I'd rather just give the series itself another viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Camomile Lawn, 15 Oct. 2011
By 
P. R. Millson (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Camomile Lawn [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent. Most enjoyable. A must for the library. In every way a perfect example of the genre in production and casting. Faultless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Reminiscent randy relationships of relatives and friends, 2 Dec. 2006
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The story starts out with people going to Max's (Oliver Cotton) funeral 40 years after WWII. On the way to the funeral each person, several generations of family and friends reminisce on their earlier war years where five cousins gathered at their uncles' house with a chamomile lawn.

The costumes and sets were impeccable and carried you to a different world and time. You feel that you lived through the war. We see the destruction and disruption caused by the war.

We see the casualties of war and the trials for those left behind. In the midst of this people are growing up and making decisions, strange or unconventional decisions. Some of the film has the feel of the movie "To Kill a Mockingbird".

At first I was distracted because the actors are so well known such as Felicity Kendal (Helena Cuthbertson) and Paul Eddington (Richard Cuthbertson.) Hoverer by the end I came to look on them as the characters that they are playing.

Being a mini-series there is more time to add the finer points of the book. However there are a lot of subjects and actions that are just implied or not complete thoughts. I can only assume that the film relies heavily on one reading the book first. With the exception on one story line being wrapped up in the end many lose ends lead one to realize this is not a story with a beginning middle and end; it is just a snippet of life that is taken at face value as we move on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Camomile Lawn [DVD]
The Camomile Lawn [DVD] by Peter Hall (DVD - 2008)
£8.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews