Customer Reviews


82 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A funny and merciless satire on British class snobbery and Oxbridge traditions
The master has just died...of a Porterhouse Blue. That is, of a stroke brought on by overindulgence. Long tradition insists that the masters of Porterhouse College name their successors, and that is to be the last man named by a dying master. Porterhouse, a very traditional college in the Cambridge mode of English privileged education, depends on all of its complacent...
Published on 9 Aug. 2007 by C. O. DeRiemer

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars German? Subtitles are intrusive.
The intro and control screen are in a foreign language - German, Dutch? - and though if I watch on the computer, I can remove the subtitles, on the DVD player/TV what I think may be the selection for subtitle control cannot be selected, so these totally (to us) incomprehensible subtitles are just a nuisance.
Published 13 months ago by Ken D


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 28 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Porterhouse Blue [DVD] (DVD)
Had to buy this DVD for prosperity. Watched it a few times on tele in the past. Absolutely brilliant, the story, the acting and the music. Fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious mayhem, 14 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Porterhouse Blue [DVD] (DVD)
Magnificent TV recreation of Sharpe's novel: outstanding performances and wonderful explosion of coincidences in his best tradition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Porterhouse Blue - Fantastically funny, 15 Mar. 2009
By 
Mr. P. I. Campbell "Philip Campbell" (Bangor, N Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Porterhouse Blue [DVD] (DVD)
Porterhouse Blue is, before I saw it on television, would be a lot of pompous university stuff. Very much the opposite. It is very enjoyable and funny to see the send up of the university politics. Never having been to a university, it is what I would reckon a university could well be like, perhaps with a bit of comedy thrown in!!
I enjoyed it and I hope everyone will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Porterhouse! Porterhouse!, 5 April 2014
By 
12stringbassist "....." (NorthWest, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Porterhouse Blue [DVD] (DVD)
A quiet comedy that builds and builds. Tom Sharpe was one of our great treasures and this (along with Blott on the landscape on DVD and Wilt on DVD) is a fitting epitaph if you need one. Student goes to Uni in Oxford and develops an attachment to the lady who looks after his rooms. College politics get far out of hand. TV crews, exploding contraceptives, seething violence and side-splitting comdey.

Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolute Classic, 22 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Porterhouse Blue [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this the first time around when it was broadcast on TV. When I came across the DVD I just had to buy it. I was not disappointed. David Jason and Ian Richardson are brilliant. My favourite scene is the one where poor old Zipser goes to the Chaplain for advice. That has me rolling in laughter evey time.
Oh how I long to be a fellow at Porterhouse !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars University challenge, 16 Aug. 2013
By 
Ms. Kathryn Bellard (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Porterhouse Blue [DVD] (DVD)
Another fantastic purchase from Zerstock.......................DVDs from them always arrive swiftly and in excellent condition.....even the used dvds are fantastic and great value for money.

My Grandads favourite programe fold the old days.....and it is great to watch and see how it fits in with how things are today in education.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Porterhouse Blue, 10 Feb. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Porterhouse Blue [DVD] (DVD)
This will be my third copy of this DVD - the other two were 'borrowed' and never returned! The Tom Sharpe dialogue is an absolute delight and the performances by Messrs Jason and (Richardson as his adversery) are faultless. Anyone who graduated from a Redbrick will recognise many of the antedilvian characters and practices!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars As good as the book, 24 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Porterhouse Blue (DVD)
Quite good.
a very good take on the book. The TV series followed the book accurately and all characters but for Zipser maybe, are well cast.
The series aged a bit but hasn't lost any of it charm and Tom Sharpe's messages is as valid today as it was then.
David Jason is immense.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Porterhouse Blue, 11 Jun. 2012
By 
consumer (Herefordshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Porterhouse Blue [DVD] (DVD)
This is a hilarious film well performed by all the actors based on historical legitimacy going back to the time when the aristocracy at Cambridge University did not actually have to sit examinations in order to be awarded a Cambridge degree and in more recent times of the all male colleges.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars JUST THE TICKET, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Porterhouse Blue [DVD] (DVD)
This is clearly David Jason's finest hour, as Skullion the obtuse and loyal college servant. The book is great; I think the tv adaptation is marginally better. It looks dated at times, but loses nothing of its charm and humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Porterhouse Blue [DVD]
Porterhouse Blue [DVD] by Robert Knights (DVD - 2008)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews