Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful colour
I seem to recall thet this didn't go down too well with the critics despite what it says on the box. Had this been set in China with Cinese dialogue like other Wong Kar-Wai films it would have been hailed as another masterpiece. Howver it is English language and set in America so the critics didn't like it. I don't know why because Wong Kar-Wai does the seemingly...
Published on 22 Aug. 2008 by Barney McRubble

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars HONG KONG CINEMA US ARTHOUSE STYLE
Fans of Chunking Express, Fallen Angels and Mood for love perhaps won't be flushed by this mainstreamish headliner. The style and narrative idiosyncrasies showing WonKai's autierism is intact but as people and critics have found, the stars doing character performances and their tales are less endearing and original as with his earlier Eastern films.

Visually,...
Published 11 months ago by Mr. E. J. A. learman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful colour, 22 Aug. 2008
I seem to recall thet this didn't go down too well with the critics despite what it says on the box. Had this been set in China with Cinese dialogue like other Wong Kar-Wai films it would have been hailed as another masterpiece. Howver it is English language and set in America so the critics didn't like it. I don't know why because Wong Kar-Wai does the seemingly impossible by getting a good performance out of Jude Law, Norah Jones is stunning and the story line beautiful. The added advantage of the Blu-Ray is that it allows the viewer the opportunity to fully savour WKW's colourful technique. This really is a feast on the eyes, the colours are stunning and the camera angles are great. A great Blu-Ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i want the blueberry pie, 3 Dec. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Blueberry Nights [DVD] (DVD)
this film is about those detours we take in life to give meaning and personal context to our troubles, questions, goals and heartaches.

just so beautiful, quiet and colourful. still very much a kar wai film reguardless of what people may or may not expect from him. i love that he saw his character in norah jones' face and voice and asked her to do the role, and i also think that having rachel weisz play one of the characters meant to affect elizabeth (norah) was an inspired choice, she is just such an endless storm of emotion.

the two side stories we are shown are perfectly distant, only showing you a small piece, through elizabeth's eyes, of their lives and personalities. i desperately wanted to keep following both rachel and natalie portman's characters further but it was so right to move on when it did each time.

it is a well paced film, you just go on a journey with a young girl and feel all the hope and sadness you imagine to feel in this kinda of story. something i think you can keep in your collection and come back to, each time it meaning something new to you because of your own changing life and situation.

i cant fault it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blueberry Nights Will Warm Your Soul, 21 Sept. 2010
By 
Fur Gangster (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Blueberry Nights [DVD] (DVD)
The critics may not have liked it but it takes a special talent to make a film about heartbreak, loneliness and dislocation feel so warm and nourishing.

Of course you know how it will end right from the off but that's not the point: the point is the journey, and a sumptuously painted trip it is too. Wong's visual palette suits its American setting and seems refreshed within it.

The acting is uniformly superb and affecting; yes, even Jude Law! Newcomer Norah Jones' inexperience makes her perfectly cast as a seemingly delicate woman who heads off into unknown territory, both geographical and emotional. Rachel Weisz and Natalie Portman are both stunning as hard-shelled, life-battered women who contrast the sweetness of Jones' character Elizabeth.

Overall, there's a wonderful modesty to this film and I think this may be why some see it as 'ordinary', but ordinary is surely the point: ordinary lives depicted extraordinarily. Yes, the veil of exotic mystery which his Chinese films wear has been removed but now it's Wong as the foreigner with an outsider's view; and the view from the exterior is, as they say, always clearer.

I'll give it Five for it's accessible, life-affirming beauty - and also for those poor, cold-hearted souls who only gave it Two!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not at all bad, but certainly not great., 15 July 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Blueberry Nights [DVD] (DVD)
Let's start by saying I am somewhat biased - looking through the few reviews I've done will reveal that Wong Kai-Wai has both my no.1 (In The Mood For Love) and no.2 (2046) films - Whilst his first foray into the English Language is not terrible, it certainly is not groundbreaking stuff. Overall I can't help but think of what might of been.

Still, this is a good and pretty simple movie. Performance are great - Norah Jones on her acting debut. Rachel Weisz and most notably David Strathairn probably steal the show. Jude Law's Manchester accent, may not be the greatest, but his character is at least likeable.

The story follows a Broken-Hearted Norah Jones travelling across America after the breakdown of a relationship after her partner had an affair which she found out during a visit to Law's café, the people she meets, their stories and the relationship between Jones / Law.

As I've said this is not a classic, but worth a watch, especially for a Wong Kai-Wai fan who will enjoy the similarities between older works.
As always, great direction and stills are used throughout the movie - just shame the script wasn't somewhat better. Still give it a try - you may like it.

3.5 out of five
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars HONG KONG CINEMA US ARTHOUSE STYLE, 30 April 2014
By 
This review is from: My Blueberry Nights [DVD] (DVD)
Fans of Chunking Express, Fallen Angels and Mood for love perhaps won't be flushed by this mainstreamish headliner. The style and narrative idiosyncrasies showing WonKai's autierism is intact but as people and critics have found, the stars doing character performances and their tales are less endearing and original as with his earlier Eastern films.

Visually, it's hypnotics like a southern comfort TV advert, strobe effects and neon lights, arthouse montage and extreme angles like French New wave cinema quentisessential to Godard make it beautiful.

But the story is passe, too hip, the music and odd cameos by Cat Powers and Tom Waites standins lurking in the background just don't seem convincing.

The whole look and sourthern roadmovie existentialism wasn't as good as Ridley Scott's Thelma and Louis or Wim Wenders Paris Texas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars American Life Study, 31 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film has a good script, great acting, clever direction and good photography. The plot was a bit predictable but this was made up for by the amazing choice of musical score - in itself I did not like the music but it matched the film perfectly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching even if not a classic, 21 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Blueberry Nights [DVD] (DVD)
This is the fourth Wong Kar-Wai film I have watched (the others being Happy Together, Chungking Express and In the Mood for Love) and I wasn't disappointed, just not as wowed by it as I was with the others. I approached it knowing about its differences from the others and with pretty much an open mind.

I was impressed with Norah Jones, both her acting and her role, but much less so with Jude Law whose role kept him tied to his little and under-explored (in the film) cafe. I also enjoyed the performances of the other two key characters whose life stories form the filling in the sandwich composed of Norah and Jude's meeting and relationship.

Two very different but compelling and convincing life stories which left me wanting to see some more and wishing Norah hadn't made such a speedy return to New York and Jude. That in itself is perhaps a sign that for me this is a film I enjoyed watching and would have liked to have seen made as a longer work.

It has none of the striking imagery of In the Mood for Love or Chungking Express, and rather more of the limited (almost claustrophobic) scene shots of Happy Together. The only moment that really reminded me of the other films was the shot of the cream or custard running over Norah's blueberry pie early on in the film. The shots of the poker dice and tokens left me hoping for more intriguing images but sadly they failed to emerge.

Understated is perhaps another way of describing the impressions made by this film. Nevertheless, it's certainly well worth catching on TV or any DVD rental, even if you don't want to add it to your Wong Kar-Wai collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Modern B film,but good, 21 Jan. 2015
This review is from: My Blueberry Nights [DVD] (DVD)
Nice film,prettily filmed,sound direction but not actually about very much.Man meets girl in bar he runs ,girl goes travelling,girl keeps in touch,girl comes back.

Episodic as girl goes on her travels -- David Strathairn good - his best role since The Firm - Rachel Weisz seems awkward/unconvincing and Natalie Portman is simply miscast and very poor,but the 2 leads carry the narrative well,such as it is.

Norah Jones is surprisingly good indeed if you did not know you'd think she,not Rachel Weisz,was the actress with over 20 years experience

Blu-Ray has good picture and sound,worth the extra few quid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wong Kar Wai, 29 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Blueberry Nights [DVD] (DVD)
Good Movie. Very jazzy not only due to Norah Jones...

It comes in three or four parts two of which: police officer's and poker player's come one after the other and the two others are sort of melted into the movie: Norah's and restaurant owner's. My personal favourite is the one of the poker player and I believe into well deserved Oscar for Natalie Portman (in different movie though), this is one outstanding actress, mark my words, more Oscars are lined up:-)

Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It all depends on how you approach this movie, 28 Sept. 2008
This review is from: My Blueberry Nights [DVD] (DVD)
A lot of reviews on My Blueberry Nights are sour. People expected something else from the director, the script, from Norah Jones. But that's all a matter of people assuming they can dictate any creator's output (they expect something of the artist that they already saw or heard before, they chain an artist to his previous work and take that to the moment they play a cd for the first time or watch a movie premiere).
As a work on it's own: in my humble opinion a beautifully crafted road movie, well, more off-road actually, preparing us slices of life, love and dead. Jude Law and Norah Jones are the soul mates in the leading roles and mainframe of the film, but don't miss David Strathairn and Rachel Weisz in their 'segment'. That's Oscar-material, those two!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Blueberry Nights [DVD]
My Blueberry Nights [DVD] by Kar Wai Wong (DVD - 2008)
£5.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews