Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What Took You So Long
The Courteeners finally released their highly anticipated debut album on the 7th April. The backlash has no doubt begun after Liam Fray declared this offering to be up there with the Stone Roses debut. To be fair he had to big the album up but St Jude doesn't quiet hit the heights that the Stone Roses debut did. Although it is a very good first effort
I have seen...
Published on 11 April 2008 by Mr. C. J. Lawson

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish!
Very poor first effort from them! I now own all four of their albums and I find Falcon the best by far. They've mellowed a lot from this pile of punk crap! Avoid it!
Published 28 days ago by Jackarmy1071


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars original irony, 7 April 2013
By 
This review is from: St Jude (Audio CD)
Very entertaining good quality about real life will get you all singing along Every song is just as good as the last a must buy for anyone who loves real music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album since Definately Maybe, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St Jude (Audio CD)
Liam Fray has produced a real gem, Expressive creative genuine lyrics and tunes you cannot get out of your head
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hailed as the new Oasis at the time, but a great band in their own right, 2 Oct 2013
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St Jude (Audio CD)
Now I know why The Courteeners' 2008 debut album 'St. Jude' was indeed 'long awaited' (as many have said), I didn't actually realise that they had formed back in 2006. They have of course released two more since then, and Liam Fray's band's music just keeps getting better.

I regard The Courteeners as one of the best modern bands to come from Manchester, with a clear influence from Oasis and The Stones Roses, you can certainly hear it on this album. I think that the singles 'What Took You So Long?' and 'Not Nineteen Forever', as well as 'Please Don't' are the highlights on this very strong, polished debut.

It was those hit singles that first introduced to the band, and the whole album didn't disappoint. Most of the songs are worth playing on repeat as they are just so catchy, and the lyrics are smart, as well as sometimes funny and aggressive.

If you enjoy British indie rock, you've probably already got this by now. If you're a late starter - buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply... Brilliant, 26 Jan 2009
This review is from: St Jude (Audio CD)
This is an incredible album, up with the best. It lives up to the hype with absolute ease - every track adds value to a record that is, quite simply... BRILLIANT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish!, 20 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St Jude (Audio CD)
Very poor first effort from them! I now own all four of their albums and I find Falcon the best by far. They've mellowed a lot from this pile of punk crap! Avoid it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars i hope the amount of reviews don't reflect sales, 14 April 2008
By 
mje (northwest england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: St Jude (Audio CD)
because this is one that deserves to be bought and should be playing in your cd player right now! a brilliant rock and roll indie album with thundering guitar work and well paced songs. aftershow starts the album as it means to go on, head bopping rock that continues with cavorting, bide your time and what took you so long? please don't is then one of the two slower tracks (and also poorer in my eyes) as is the following track if it wasn't for me. no you didn't, no you don't then picks up the pace again as one of the best tracks on the album, but again then how come drops in as the usual slow track that they put in on indie albums. the rest of the album then plays out very nicely, kings of the new road till fallowfield hillbilly are then back to head-popping, toe-tapping rock songs with yesterday, today & probably tomorrow then plays the album out nice and gently, which is where i feel the slow songs should go on an album, but just my opinion

so in conclusion a great album, similar in style to maybe the enemy, a sort of 2008 oasis if you like (they are manc), the only reason i wouldn't give it 5 stars is the sort of let downs in please don't, if it wasn't for me and how come. also the half-hidden track at the end of the album is another goodie and ingeniusly you don't have to wait 10 minutes at the end of the last track to get to it, just skim through like 8 blank or when you import them on your computer, delete them
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hype is a fatal thing, 1 July 2008
This review is from: St Jude (Audio CD)
I heard nothing but praise for quite a while before i tried this. I kept hearing things like "It's not the normal indie music that is being churned out these days". But after a listen I realised that it is just that and what these people should have been saying was "It is the normal indie music that is being churned out these days".
Theres nothing special about it. Nothing fresh really.

This may seem like harsh criticism, but i'm not saying it's terrible, just that it's definately not new. If you're happy listening to the wombats and stuff like that, with no real experimentation, then you'll be golden here.
I think that this stems from the fact that I've got an odd taste in music, I started out listening to stuff like this, Oasis, Travis et.c, but eventually I moved to pastures new. I really like experimentation, if it's not a bit different it doesn't last long in my playlists.

To sum up, this is OK, but nothing innovative like the praisers would have you believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars St Jude Review From Winstons Zen, 13 April 2008
This review is from: St Jude (Audio CD)
When a band with just a handful of releases sell out shows across the country months in advance (including London's prestigious Astoria), you can be sure there's a storm brewing. Well, if The Courteeners are that band, they're carrying a potential whirlwind in the form of frontman Liam Fray.

Fray's unwavering confidence in his own talent and his tendency to speak his mind, in both his lyrics and interviews, has been perceived by many in the music press as bordering on arrogance, causing such a flurry of snarling headlines detailing barely concealed swipes at his perceived challengers to the indie crown, that you might be forgiven for forgetting the quality of the tunes that catapulted The Courteeners to stardom in the first place, and made St Jude one of the most eagerly awaited debuts of 2008.

Last year's limited release debut single Cavorting is as upbeat a blast of pure pop energy as you'll come across. Were it to be re-released now (and a re-release is going to be hard for Polydor to resist) it would be a sure-fire number one, but delivered with Fray's signature sneering cynicism and containing scathing indictments of clubs full of snorting, goggle-eyed girls, it still holds enough edge to keep it's cred amongst the ever so alternative indie crowd. Coming hot on the heals of opening track Aftershow, which manages to sound like The Reverend being chased through Supernova Heights by Alex Turner, it serves as a fantastic introduction for anyone who has inexplicably managed to avoid The Courteeners up until now.

From there on St Jude continues, almost without fault, to serve up round after round of potential brit-rock classics. At times it delivers the kind of snarling, jump around rock `n' roll you might think this country's music scene has lacked in recent years. The brilliantly dark Kings of The New Road sounds like Noel Gallagher covering the Kings of Leon, while What Took You So Long? and Fallowfield Hillbilly are likely to have people on the bus asking you to turn your headphones down. If they're not already asking you to stop jumping around. Less rocky head nodders like Bide Your Time and No You Didn't No You Don't are at once painfully cool and wickedly enjoyable.

St Jude is not without it's more reflective tracks however, Yesterday, Today and Probably Tomorrow, the final track of the album proper, is a beautiful acoustic ballad that would close proceedings on a rather sombre note if it weren't for the ever popular Acrylic's addition as a (not very well) hidden track. Then there's How Come a pleasant if somewhat un-engaging ode to that mate we all have who never seems to go home alone. These tracks may hint at great things to come from a more sedate and perhaps solo Fray in the future, but to be honest, they are not among the plethora of reasons why you should definitely buy this album

If you're looking for introspective lyrical comment documenting society's struggles and the illuminating the human condition, you're barking up the wrong Mancunian. The level of Fray's humility is summed up admirably on Please Don't ;

"Why wouldn't we have carried on,
We could've got married,
You could've carried,
Some of my sons"

But who wants humble rock `n' roll stars? Whoever said, "You know what the music scene of today is crying out for? Sensitivity, that's what." Nobody ever said that, because there's plenty of neurotic melancholy out there. This is music to enjoy listening to, not to torment yourself with. So submerge yourself in the coolness, forget who you are for once, throw yourself around the room a bit, and screw the consequences!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars St Jude - Patron Saint of Lost Causes; not this time!!!, 13 Oct 2008
By 
Steven T. Jarvis "Skarekrow" (Thanet, Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: St. Jude (Audio CD)
I first heard of The Courteeners at this year's "V" Festeval; I hadn't heard of them and wasn't going to bother - until I heard them. They were brilliant!!! I bought the album, St Jude, as soon as I could afterwards. There is a definite "Libertine" style to their music, but I have got to disagree with any similarity to The Smiths or Morrissey. No, lyrically, I would say there is a suggestion of The Wedding Present, but the most important thing is that The Courteeners have a very unique sound - they are not a product of other styles nor are they Top Ten Pop Fodder; they are a band that should be watched for the future. The bonus disc gives an even better insight into the band's abilities, with acustic versions of album tracks and additional tracks to delight, amaze and leave you wanting more. A truly brilliant album and, even if you have to sell an elderly relative to do so, I recomend you see The Courteeners live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it and see for yourself., 25 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: St Jude (Audio CD)
Amazing Amazing Amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

St Jude
St Jude by The Courteeners (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews