Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a guitarist, 6 Mar 2008
By 
R. Howison "Bob Howison" (South West UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buddy Whittington (Audio CD)
A top drawer, well produced album from this, in the opinion of many, the finest blues guitarist playing today. Buddy's singing voice will pleasantly surprise new listeners too.

The album contains mostly self written numbers including, an excellent Stevie Ray Vaughan tribute song. Also, on the album is an eight minute version of ZZ Top's, Sure Got Cold After The Rain Fell. Buddy's guitar playing on this track and others including, Greenwood is breathtaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buddy Whittington, 2 April 2008
This review is from: Buddy Whittington (Audio CD)
In my opinion there is not a single bad track on this album and well deserves a 5 star rating.

A long overdue album by probabaly THE finest blues guitarist around. It would be wrong though to just categorise Buddy as a blues guitarist, because his playing style and technique go beyond the blues. His vocals are not bad either!

Listen to the album and be truly amazed - well worth the money at any price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last - THE Album, 30 April 2008
By 
J. M. Green "john94682" (Sutton Coldfield) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buddy Whittington (Audio CD)
From the longest serving Blues Breakers guitar slinger, here is, finally, the album we've all been waiting for - worth the wait? You betcha!
I've seen this man on many occasions and been impressed with his prowess as both guitar player and singer with the Blues Breakers as the "warm up" band for John Mayall and also as the foil for John Mayall as the main attraction.
But let's forget the John Mayall connection and listen to this album for what it really is - a great blues album - showing the various forms in which this genre of music manifests itself, maxed by a man who lives and breathes the blues.
In quick fire succession we get Young & Dumb, Pay The Band and Minor Blues ( a take on what's wrong in the Western World in general) followed by the ZZ Topesque Second Banana describing life on the road as the foil, and therefore second banana to John Mayall....interesting but executed with superb, Billy Gibbons style, clipped phrasing and soloing...truly superb. And, it doesn't end there - we are entertained with instrumentals and jazzier blues tracks before we get to the 8 minute rendition of Billy Gibbons' Sure Got Cold After The Rain Fell, which is accurate in it's inflection to the original, but fresh in it's delivery - really, it is that good!
Apart from the Mess Of Blues album ( the fitting tribute to the essence of Jeff Healey) I would be most surprised if any blues album, no, if any album released this year, will come up to the absolute delivery of this album - just do yourself a favour and BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We're not worthy..., 4 April 2008
By 
P. J. Ellis "bb" (west mids) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buddy Whittington (Audio CD)
this was available direct from Buddy's Myspace or at gigs and now seems to have a proper release - rave reviews in guitar magazines probably helping.
its very good modern blues. Big influence of contemporary country ( lyrical puns, twists on familiar chord progressions, clean production, some country licks)and a smattering of ZZ Top combine to give a defined style that is heads above the competition. he's a technically gifted musician he uses that gift to produce music not twaddle. Great guitar tones - I so want to remortgage the house now for a vintage strat and a Dr Z amp!
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look out Warren Haynes, 7 May 2008
By 
Mr. M. E. Watts "KILLERWATTS" (PORTSMOUTH UNITED KINGDOM) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Buddy Whittington (Audio CD)
I first saw Buddy on TV at a Bluesbreaker's concert which featured Eric Clapton and as most people agree he really held his own against EC (not that it was a contest)This album is a superb example of his talent and shows what a superb guitarist he is and not a bad singer either. When I heard the album I immediately thought of Warren Haynes and when played them along side each other there is a similarity between the two artists which I can't quite put my finger on as they don't sound alike to that degree but the more i thought about it I realised that both these guys have tremendous talent without relying on all the other "hype" that is sometimes associated with the music industry. First class Buddy!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD by exceptional guitarist, 19 Oct 2008
By 
Mr. D. E. ROBERTS (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buddy Whittington (Audio CD)
Like a lot of people, I first saw Buddy on John Mayall's 70th birthday bash
and was impressed by his technique and passion. I've been playing this CD for weeks now and would recommend it highly. There's a lot of great guitar playing, very much in the Stevie Ray vein and a set of catchy songs with one instrumental Greenwood which is well-constructed and beautifully played.
The guy is just the best around in the rock/blues genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buddy Boy, 19 Sep 2008
This review is from: Buddy Whittington (Audio CD)
I got this album from Buddy's my space site before it was generally released and for guitar players and Blues lovers this is a must have CD for your collection along with the other GREAT Blues players.

The songs are original, except for the ZZ Top Cover, and are tight and inventive and sometimes witty, 2nd Banana. Not a dud song amongst them and he can sing as well.

Buddy is a top Blues player and deserves some real success, spread the word and let's hope we don't have to wait too long for the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best 'new' bluesers!, 30 April 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buddy Whittington (Audio CD)
Having tried to get this album for a while I was delighted to see it finally appear on Amazon. It's crammed full of cleverly written and well structured songs. Anyone who's a fan of modern electric blues should own this album, as to be honest it's one that you'll find yourself listening to over and over and hearing something new every time.
Buddy has been 'Second Banana' for far too long (check out his playing alongside Clapton on Mayall's 70th birthday dvd and ask yourself who's the master and who's the pupil!) and although he may not have the 'pull' of his current boss, he deserves to be much more widely known on the strength of this album.
If you are a guitarist.....buy it and try it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Hot Guitarist!!, 18 Oct 2010
By 
J. HOLMES (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buddy Whittington (Audio CD)
Buddy is a blues guitarist in his own class at the moment, and he is no mean singer either.

This is a very good album, with well crafted blues based songs - it is not just a load of 12 bar shuffles, but has solid songs, woven round with some wonderful Texas riffs!

Buddy has a guitar sound that most guitarists would sell their soul for, and an effortless style that just oozes taste and class. He has taken his influences and produced his own way of interpreting the music through a playing style that is rooted in Texas blues, but with a new freshness.

This cd should be purchased by anyone who enjoys blues based guitar music - they will not be disappointed!

By the way, he now has a stunning new album (A Bag Full of Blues) that is even better. Get to a gig on his current (2010) tour if you can, but if you are a guitar player be prepared to consider giving up when you see him play!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars NeilRocks, 18 July 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Buddy Whittington (Audio CD)
Although only his first release Buddy Whittington has been around the Blues circuit for years. This is a fantastic album that clearly shows why Buddy was an effective replacement for Coco Montoya in John Mayalls Bluesbreakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Buddy Whittington
Buddy Whittington by Buddy Whittington (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews