Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See this film!
I didn't want to watch this film, but my wife persuaded me. I'm glad she did. The acting is superb. Brenda Fricker carries off the role of Christie's mum flawlessly. Daniel Day Lewis is so convincing as the cerebral palsy sufferer that it is a shock to realise he is acting! Hugh O'Connor acts the young Christie and is equally convincing.
Published on 12 Mar 2008 by M. PRIOR

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Depressing storyline
Depressing but well acted film.Certainly not one of his best but clearly demonstrates what a first class actor Daniel day lewis is!
Published 3 months ago by summermaiden


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See this film!, 12 Mar 2008
By 
M. PRIOR (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Left Foot [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't want to watch this film, but my wife persuaded me. I'm glad she did. The acting is superb. Brenda Fricker carries off the role of Christie's mum flawlessly. Daniel Day Lewis is so convincing as the cerebral palsy sufferer that it is a shock to realise he is acting! Hugh O'Connor acts the young Christie and is equally convincing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Daniel Day Lewis in cracking form., 26 Mar 2004
This review is from: My Left Foot [DVD] (DVD)
True stories, or films based on true stories are rarely the stuff of Oscars. Allto often they get bypassed by production money, for the lack of stunts and hyper realities; thus if made tend to be b-movies, or acted by a cast of supermodels who lack credability. To find such a moving story about Christy Brown, who overcomes his cerebal palsy,is a little gem, watch this if only for Daniel Day Lewis's amazing performance, which is on a par with John Mills's transformation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding performances, 25 May 2009
This review is from: My Left Foot [DVD] (DVD)
An incredible film. Daniel Day Lewis well deserved his oscar for his astonishing portrayal of the hugely inspirational Christy Brown, and he was supported by an amazingly talented cast, most notably Brenda Fricker and Hugh O'Conor, who played his mother and the young Christy Brown respectively, both of whom speak volumes without uttering a word. A beautiful and truly moving film, well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The story of christy brown, 23 Mar 2012
This review is from: My Left Foot [DVD] (DVD)
********** may contain a few slight spoilers ***********

An excellent film about the life and times of christy brown an irish painter who was also a cerebral palsy sufferer, the difficulties christy faced in his day to day life due to his condition and his relationships with other people particularly his mother are central to the story.

Christy was born into a large working class family in the 1930's, the directer portrays this very well with the miserable looking grey concrete, small dark and cramped house, in his very early life christy was considered to be mentally disabled as well as physically disabled with remarks like "D is for dunce" there are several other comments of the same nature all made within the first 30 minutes, this amplifies the impact when christy picks a piece of chalk up with his left foot and writes the word mother on the floor.

His relationship with his mother was also strong with her devotion to him evident from the start, there is a scene early in the film where she is carrying him up the stairs while heavily pregnant and saving every penny she can to buy a wheelchair for him despite the extreme poverty the family suffered, her great understanding of her son is also made clear several times during the film, at one point after christy has received speech therapy his father says " at least you can understand your child now " her response is " i always understood him "

The acting is superb from all of the cast members, in particular the performance put in by daniel day lewis which is simply flawless, well written, well acted and well directed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wince, laugh, cry and triumph all the way...., 8 Feb 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Left Foot [DVD] (DVD)
Anyone who says this excellent biopic of Christie Brown is easy watching is lying. Daniel Day Lewis, as far back as 22 years ago transforms both himself completely; bodily and character-wise and onto his first Oscar.

What is refreshing is that the story isn't about a poor wee lad, almost totally crippled (except for that left foot) from birth with cerebral palsy who has no friends, because he has. It's about his sheer fighting spirit & utter determination that gets respect but he also breaks hearts. He uses that foot to score a winning goal in the street but his stoic exasperation often sends his mother to despair. If you thought that Casualty only existed around the firm but fair senior nurse way back when, played by Brenda Fricker, here she is in wonderful Oscar winning form.

Girls are touched by Christy's attention, guys admire his guts and outright cheek. Christy becomes a noted poet and artist, either typed out one character at a time or with a brush, both by using the big toe and adjoining toe of that left foot.

It also casts a revealing spotlight on hard working Dublin family life in the (I estimate) '50s & '60's.

Quote: (Specialist doctor comes to visit him at home. Mother knocks on his bedroom door. A muffled, incoherent expletive is his reply) "I can teach you how to say **ck off more clearly, Christy" the female doctor replies. The start of a real road to self realisation begins.

Believe me, you'll wince, laugh, cry and triumph all the way with this one and one that you'll remember for a long, long time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 3 Sep 2011
By 
A. L. Cassidy (united kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Left Foot [DVD] (DVD)
a great film - saw it first time round on tv whn i was younger - now i have bought it and can watch as often as i like - great acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Left Film, 29 May 2010
By 
Adrian Gauci "Drinu" (Rabat, Malta, Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Left Foot [DVD] (DVD)
This is the ultimate classic which launched Daniel Day-Lewis. Possibly his greatest one.

If you're thinking twice for getting it. Stop. Hit Add to Cart now because you won't get wrong with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars top film, 10 Nov 2010
By 
Prince Davis - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Left Foot [DVD] (DVD)
My Left Foot is one of the saddest yet engrossing films I have ever seen. A fantastic cast, a good story and an oscar winning performance from the lead character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 14 Oct 2009
By 
P. Meulemeester (Sevilla, Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Left Foot [DVD] (DVD)
One of the very first masterpieces of Danile Day-Lewis. Still enjoy reviewing this after many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MY LEFT GOOD (Sorry), 17 Sep 2004
This review is from: My Left Foot [DVD] (DVD)
Daniel Day Lewis is one of the greatest actors ever! and this proves it. He is also supported with a stellar cast who never look out of depth. Copled with a story so up lifting and heart warming you will laugh, cry and maybe feel better about yourself (I did). when I bought this I had not seen the film for about 10 years but it never lost it's magic. Just buy it then you can leave a review next to me, telling every one else how great this film is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Left Foot [DVD]
My Left Foot [DVD] by Jim Sheridan (DVD - 2008)
3.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews