Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best seasons in the series, 20 May 2008
By 
David (SPECTRE Island) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission: Impossible - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Martin Landau and Barbara Bain had left the series at the end of season 3 following an argument with the studio apparantly over their fee. As a result we are introduced to Paris played by Leonard Nimoy (Mr Spock in Star Trek)who fits in well to the team.

Season 4 has some cracking episodes including The Code, Fool's Gold and the 3 part story The Falcon. The 26 episodes are presented over 7 disks with excellent print quality along with English subtitles for the hard of hearing. The only slight downside is the lack of extras. Some episode commentry tracks or a season retrospective would have been nice, but I guess you cant have everything.

I hope that CBS Video continue to release the rest of the series at a slightly faster rate than so far. This dvd is a must for fans of classic tv - they don't make em like this anymore which is a shame.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars M: I 4. Beam me up......... Scotty?, 14 Feb. 2012
By 
P. B. Koeb (Aljezur, Portugal) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mission: Impossible - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Following the double defection of Rollin Hand (Martin Landau) and Cinnamon Carter (Barbara Bain) at the end of the third season, Leonard Nimoy assumes the role of the IMF team's magician/make-up genius. The overall impression is of a somewhat sluggish season, with various female guest stars taking on the role of replacing Cinnamon. My feeling is that the series peaked somewhere around the second and third seasons. Whereas Rollin Hand was a brilliant foil to Jim Phelps' ice-coolness, Leonard Nimoy, as Paris, has trouble in making us forget Martin Landau. Worse, he often plays his character as though he has exchanged one line manager called Jim for another. Although he grows on me towards the end of the season, he is rather famous television Vulcan in style.

We get to see the fine-looking Lee Meriwether in several episodes, but also Alexandra Hay, Dina Merrill, Sally Ann Howes (aka Truly Scrumptious), Anne Francis, a luscious Michele Carey, Barbara Luna, pretty Julie Gregg and Margarita Cordova as guest missionistas. Also Jessica Walter, believe it or not, who does an excellently brisk guest agent turn in the decent "Orpheus" episode.

Many of the intrigues are of the "outfoxing the commies" type, with a few latina adventures. Nimoy does a good Castro riff as El Leader, in the opening "The Code", but less-than-convincing "oriental" Major Shen in "Commandante". "The Submarine" is a great, yet wildly implausible episode. Likewise the Middle East intrigue of "The Brothers". "The Amnesiac" features Anthony Zerbe and Steve Ihnat as good nasties. Similarly John Vernon in the overlong, three-part "The Falcon", though Nimoy was fun as magician Zastro. He is an okay gypsy in "Gitano", but has a shockingly bad Aussie accent (mate) in "Chico" and is hopelessly too mature to play the part of a twentyish-something year old in "The Martyr". His love interest with Jane Merrow, in "Lovers' Knot", is unconvincing. "The Choice" gives him a better opportunity to go over the top as a Rasputin-style mystic.

The usual US television regulars feature. You'll also see a youngish Donnelly Rhodes, doing a second guest appearance, many years before becoming the rebooted Battlestar Galactica's chief medical officer. All in all, not a bad season of IMF adventures. It is almost always guaranteed to entertain, although i remember one tv critic of the time describing it as being merely "Californian codswallop". Hah!

PS. A rerun confirms the excellence of Lee Meriwether..... shame she wasn't hired permanently, i think. Also some good full scores from Lalo Schifrin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Your mission..................., 5 Mar. 2012
By 
A. Pálsson "JTB" (Iceland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission: Impossible - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Funny how an old TV show like Mission impossible has stood the test of time while others are basically a one hit wonder for a brief period of time. Every episode in season 4 is a gem though three part episode The Falcon is a bit too long stretched over so many episodes. Martin Landau is a better actor and more suited for the role of "the man with many faces" but still Leonard Nimoy does his best to keep up with Martin Landau. If you want a great time, watch a TV show that keeps you fixed during the run and how real all the stunts and gadgets are at that time compared to the digital computer fix ups of everything today...........then buy this DVD. Your mission, should you choose to accept it, is to watch this whole season 4. This is the mission of all missions!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still watching. but love it!, 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission: Impossible - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I watch an episode a day. Only thing I am bothered about is the absence of Cinnamom that's been replaced by various women...That will change NeXT season. But this season has also the spirit of the 60's - it was on t.v late Nights. I think at 22:00...
Jim is at his best. The season is including now less episodes of foreign matters as before but it's good nontheless. It's MUCH MUCH better than the Tom Cruise's Mission Impossible films(which i DID NOT like personally) and all the remakes. Well as I say nothing is as better as the original!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This review will self destruct in 5 seconds, 8 Oct. 2014
By 
Mr. R. W. Graham (Lincoln, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission: Impossible - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Season 4 of Mission Impossible carries on the series formula. Jim Phelps gets his orders from a voice on a tape that self destructs 5 seconds after he heard it. He selects his team of spies, usually the exact same people with occasionally a couple of extras and the team of spies go on dangerous missions in usually made up foreign countries. Season 4 sees the departure of Rollin Hand played by Martin Landau and Cinnamon Carter played by Barbara Bain. No explanation given to their departure, were they caught and captured or even killed on another mission or did they simply move on to other things and are replaced by Paris, a magician with a talent for disguises played by Leonard Nimoy fresh from the just cancelled Star Trek who fits in with the team like he was always part of it and perhaps he was and we are only just meeting him now. Tense and thrilling right from the start with an excellent cast, this is classic vintage TV and a must for fans. Oh and this review will self destruct in 5 seconds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MISSION IMPOSSIBLE THE FOURTH SEASON, 27 Dec. 2008
By 
M. Ruston "MATAI" (WALES) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mission: Impossible - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
LIKE THE OTHER TWO REVIEWS THIS SEASON IS LIKE THE OTHER SEASONS BEFORE AND IS STILL GREAT AND IT IS GOOD TO SEE LEONARD NIMROY AND LEE MERIWETHER IN THE SHOW [ MERIWETHER IS IN ONLY SIX EPISODES AND NIMROY IN ALL TWENTY-SIX ].IVE GOT SEASON FIVE TOO AND THAT IS GREAT . CAN'T WAIT FOR THE OTHER SEASONS .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 14 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission: Impossible - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
The Missions are a bit far-fetched but they are eminently watchable. Even the wife enjoys them. The guys seem to manage fine without mobile phones. Excellent purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good season, 22 Nov. 2008
By 
Big Red - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission: Impossible - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
I have to agree with the other reviewer - don't be put off by the departure of Barbara Bain and Martin Landau. Leonard Nimoy does an even better job in this series and that's saying something, as Bain and Landau were brilliant in the first three.

Season four is also for me the best season of MI due to some great stories, even though it doesn't have a regular female lead character (this is actually a refreshing change as we get to see a variety of women IMF agents, notably Lee Meriweather as Tracey).

I can't give this five stars as it has no extras of any kind, which feels harsh, but it's still good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mission Impossible 4, 29 Mar. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission: Impossible - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Continuing the traditions of the first 3 series of Mission Impossible, with few cast changes, as always, well worth a view, a must see program
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My partner was delighted with this for Valentine's Day, 13 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mission: Impossible - Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
My partner was delighted with this for Valentine's Day! It is a shame though that Season 3 seems "Mission Impossible" to find on DVD Region 2!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mission: Impossible - Season 4 [DVD]
Mission: Impossible - Season 4 [DVD] by Greg Morris (DVD - 2008)
£18.71
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews