Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To live on my own just seems tragic
Question: What is "Snuff Box"? Is it a black comedy? A time-traveling sci-fi show? A string of bizarre sketches and musical numbers?

Answer: It's all of the above. This weird little British comedy pairs the wildly underrated Matt Berry with the somewhat less charismatic Rich Fulcher, and follows their wacky adventures involving sex, family, murder and...
Published 4 months ago by E. A Solinas

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nearly...but not quite
Snuff Box is certainly more strange than funny but it sort of grows on you and I suppose I kind of enjoyed the series overall. As a fan of Darkplace and The Boosh, my expectations were perhaps unrealistically high. IMHO, it is worth watching if nothing else for it's originality, musicality and sheer silliness.
Published on 26 Nov. 2011 by Phippster


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars To live on my own just seems tragic, 12 Jan. 2015
By 
EA Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Snuff Box [DVD] (DVD)
Question: What is "Snuff Box"? Is it a black comedy? A time-traveling sci-fi show? A string of bizarre sketches and musical numbers?

Answer: It's all of the above. This weird little British comedy pairs the wildly underrated Matt Berry with the somewhat less charismatic Rich Fulcher, and follows their wacky adventures involving sex, family, murder and time travel. At times it can be annoyingly juvenile (oh look, pee jokes), but the overall experience is a warped, almost hallucinatory comedy about a very unhealthy friendship. It's one of those glorious shows that simply glides by on the actors.

Matt Berry (yes, they use their real names) is High Executioner to the King of England, and Rich Fulcher is his faithful assistant. When they aren't casually knocking people off their mortal coil, they hang out at a gentlemen's club which caters exclusively to hangmen -- and Rich discovers that the men's room leads to a time portal into the past, where he regularly meets Matt's sorcerous ancestor (Berry again) and frolics with prostitutes.

They also have some personal issues with each other -- Matt becomes obsessed with the identity of Rich's famous mother, Rich reads Matt's diary to the club, their brothers visit, and Rich begins a bizarre romance that Matt is determined to sabotage.

And to keep us amused in the meantime, the series is scattered with little sketches and odd running gags -- Rich's dates going horribly awry (he starts blurting out weird things), music videos about babies, Matt's ongoing efforts to pick up stuff from a clothing boutique, guitar lessons, scatological fashion sense, a "Thriller" parody, visits by random rock stars (David Bowie and Jimi Hendrix among others), counseling, a man who compulsively blurts the F-word, office woes, and various other issues.

Fulcher and Berry apparently met while working on "The Mighty Boosh," and you can detect some echoes of that series' surreality and warped buddy mentality. "Snuff Box" presents the world in an almost dreamlike way, where oddities and illogical things go without question -- even the way it's filmed is surreal, with the fish-eyed close-ups and strange random musical numbers. The glowing white hall and time travel don't hurt.

In fact, it takes awhile to figure out who these characters concretely are and what they are doing. The side-skits don't help -- most of them see Berry and Fulcher playing a host of side characters, ranging from rapping daddies to abusive hot-dog venders, contradictory therapists to harried office workers. Its biggest problem? Some of the sketches get kind of juvenile, like a skit about urine stains being part of high fashion that went on approximately FOREVER.

But eventually the stories veer back to the main tale of the lazy hangmen, who joke around with the priest as they kill people (they even toss around a severed head in one episode) and slouch around in their club. And once you get into the rhythm of the series, it becomes easier to understand what is going on and who Berry and Fulcher are playing at any given time.

I confess to having a peculiar crush on Matt Berry, with his resonant voice and peculiar sense of humor ("Nearly at the station!"), and he's excellent as a genteel, grasping, intensely troubled man ("I killed my first dog today. Am I going to be a serial killer?") who is only nice to women he can have sex with. Fulcher is a bit harder to warm up to -- his acting style is a bit more affected with slower speech. But his naive-man-child-with-no-mouth-filter persona is pretty fun.

"Snuff Box" can't be in love if it's plastic, but the weird, surreal blend of skit comedy and surreal "Boosh" Britcom ends up being a pretty fascinating piece of work. If nothing else, watch it for Berry and Fulcher's antics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best comedy shows for years, 15 Dec. 2008
This review is from: Snuff Box [DVD] (DVD)
Snuff Box is the brain child of Rich Fulcher and Matt Berry, who will be familiar to anyone who has seen The Mighty Boosh. Shown back in 2006 on BBC3, this surreal mix of sitcom and sketch show somehow escaped the mainstream. It's a real crying shame as it's without doubt one of the best comedy shows of the last few years, if not of all time. If you are a fan of surreal and dark comedy you will find this programme fantastic.

Why BBC3 seem happy to show endless repeats of banal shows like Little Britain and Two Pints of Lager, etc when they've got a jewel like this in their archives I really don't know. Maybe it's so anyone who likes it has to go out and buy it on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would give it 10 stars if I could., 11 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snuff Box [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely adore Snuff Box. Only recently discovered it due to my new found love of Matt Berry and all that he does.
This is a real gem of a show and it's a shame more people haven't seen it. Unique, very dark humour and so well done. If you like IT crowd, Boosh etc you will love it. Also, give Matt Berry's music a whirl - Devine.
DVD arrived bang on time and has greatly improved my life!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure brilliance!, 25 Aug. 2008
By 
M. R. Tasker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snuff Box [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD due to my interest in the Boosh, and I have to say it's the best DVD I've bought in ages! Absolutely fantastic!

Very original, dark humour, and Matt Berry and Rich Fulcher make a great double act. Lots of great catchphrases and interlocking sketches, and some very strange characters! Me and my sister have watched it over and over, and even took it on holiday with us! Pure original brilliance!

But as other reviews have said, it is definately not family viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars snuff it up baby, 11 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snuff Box [DVD] (DVD)
this is not going to appeal to anyone who is a mainstream follower with regards to humour but if you like your funny bone gently carressed and can laugh noiselessly this is the kiddy for you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, 24 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snuff Box [DVD] (DVD)
A must watch if you're a 'modern day' Matt Berry fan. A bit retro, a bit surreal but has made me laugh out loud and spend half an hour with tears in the eyes!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Monty Python on steroids, 4 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snuff Box [DVD] (DVD)
This is what I imagine Monty Python would make, were they active today.
Biting, sarcastic, a heavy dose of madness.

Just love it :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good series, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snuff Box [DVD] (DVD)
-but probably only for fans of berry and bob fossil ! Its a bit too random for newbies to these two actors i would guess.Bizarre-witty-although 4 stars only as feels a bit thrown together- unlike boosch and toast,both of which appear to be very well thought out/
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A hidden gem, 10 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snuff Box [DVD] (DVD)
Snuff Box brings together Matt Berry and Rich Fuller in a fantastic series. Some stand out moments, especially when Matt thinks he's pulled a girl!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A flash of brilliance, 8 Sept. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Snuff Box [DVD] (DVD)
Having only six episodes, Snuff Box never has a chance to outstay its welcome, it ends right when it should. It is captivating, bizarre , foul, and utterly charming. The music (one song played in several styles) is excellent and will be caught in your head for some time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Snuff Box [DVD]
Snuff Box [DVD] by Michael Cumming (DVD - 2008)
£5.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews