Customer Reviews


74 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Quality Television, 14 Jan 2009
This review is from: Takin' Over The Asylum [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
Starring a relatively unknown Ken Stott and the first major role for David Tennant who had only recently left drama school (the inclusion of his screen test is an added bonus). Donna Franceschild, the screenwriter, deservedly won a BAFTA. Very, very high quality writing (obviously) perfect acting, top notch direction and excellent use of a popular music soundtrack to reflects the storylines. It has the right balance of comedy and drama while carrying a message about the state of the mental health system at the time (that is not "in your face") all in all a unique and great TV series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Taking over the asylem - DVD, 6 April 2009
By 
M. CLARK - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Takin' Over The Asylum [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
Takin' Over The Asylum [1994] [DVD]
Brilliant series. Introducing Ken Stott and David Tennnant as part of excellent cast. Black comedy with apt music. Not dated although produced 15 years ago. Don't let the title put you off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We are loonies and we are proud, 12 Nov 2008
This review is from: Takin' Over The Asylum [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
I too watched this when first screened in 1984. I have a rickety copy of it on an a home taped video, which I've watched many times. I also wrote to the BBC to see if they would release it on video and screen it again on BBC1 (it was only ever screened on BBC2) after it won the BAFTA, but no joy! 'Taking over the Assylum' is funny, moving, warm, thought provoking, full of great music and wonderful characters. The cast are all great, but if you like David Tennant you'll love this. I shall be buying multiple copies for Christmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 12 Sep 2008
By 
doodydolphin "Nat" (Hemel Hempstead, Hertfordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Takin' Over The Asylum [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
This was recommended for me by amazon as i am addicted to David Tennant and after reading all the recommendations was really tempted to buy it. then it was repeated on BBC4 and although i only got to watch the last 4 episodes, the only thing that stopped me from buying the series straight away was the fact that i had no money i cannot praise the actors enough. an amazing show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Touching look at Mental Health, 7 Feb 2009
This review is from: Takin' Over The Asylum [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
Takin' Over the Asylum is a brilliantly written, well performed and is just brilliant. Featuring the (then) up and coming David Tennant (Doctor Who) as Cambell, a manic depressive who has a taste for music and Ken Scott (Rebus) as Eddie who just wants to make it to the big time on Radio in Glasgow.

Each story features one of the patients in St. Jude's Hospital, while Eddie tries to maintain the Hospital Radio, each one of them has an ending that will make you think about Mental Health.

Over all, I must admit that this series is something that you should watch as you get brilliant performances and really touching stories as everyone admits to themselves that they too have problems that can't be hidden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fergus is wearing a helmet,FERGUS IS WEARING A HELMET, 29 Nov 2008
By 
ophellia (notts,england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Takin' Over The Asylum [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the most amazing drama's i have ever seen,Ken stott was amazing and oh they so nearly didn't even consider David Tennant he was felt too young and inexperienced,watch his audition tape also on the dvd and you will see why they changed their minds.Set at ST judes a mental institute,you soon warm to the characters Eddie a wannabe dj,campbell,francine,the regular escapee Fergus,who always returns because as he say's he's sectioned.This will make you laugh one minute and scream and cry the next.Fantastically performed a must for all David Tennant Fan's in fact it should be in everyone's dvd collection,everyone would love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars We are Loonies..., 9 Feb 2009
This review is from: Takin' Over The Asylum [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
Thanks to Amazon recommendations for this one! :-)
Absolutely first-class drama from the BBC. The script is moving, hilarious, and insightful by turns. The characters are instantly likeable and the soundtrack (despite some people's criticisms) is great- lots of 50s and 60s numbers contrasting nicely with the events inside the asylum.
I've just watched the first three episodes and plan to finish the series tonight- but I already know I'll be gutted when it's done as I'm enjoying it so much. Really just excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Takin over the Asylum, 28 Mar 2009
By 
Mrs. M. L. Mead (U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Takin' Over The Asylum [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
Well worth watching, great story line will keep you gripped and wanting more. To see David Tennant in his earlier roles is a must, his acting was fantastic and kept on getting better and better. Funny, heart-warming and most of all entertaining. Are the patients the looney's or are the rest of the world just mad, interesting cast that will make you seem part of the team. A must buy DVD for any BBC or Tennant fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars utter Therapeutic Magic...!, 14 May 2013
By 
TG FRENCH "Fryter" (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Takin' Over The Asylum [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
I waited for some time after buying this series to watch it, and I'm really glad I did.

Now that I've finished watching it, I can only respond with a resounding: "Wow...!"

One of the most poignant and soul-searing British comedy-drama series I've ever watched, "Takin' Over the Asylum" is as fresh and relevant today as it was when it was first broadcast.

Questioning the very definitions of the terms "insanity" and "humanity" as it sweeps you along, I have rarely seen anything so subtly compulsive in how it goes about hooking in and delivering its story to the audience.

The performances are a wonder of dedication by the cast, and David Tennant especially shows his true mettle as the actor he would later, and has also more lately, become.

The screenplay is rambunctious, yet sophisticated and lucid, and the choice, especially of classic 50s and 60s tracks used on the soundtrack, is impeccable.

My only qualm with the music selection is that, in many cases, the songs aren't the original single recordings, but either contemporary covers, or possibly alternate takes. (A minor point that detracts in no way from their effectiveness.)

Therapuetic and compelling watching, "Takin' Over the Asylun" is a definite must for all lovers of finely-made British television.

Even giving it five out of five stars simply isn't enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this !, 11 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Takin' Over The Asylum [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
David Tenant and Ken Stott - what's not to like ! amazing script, amazing acting from ALL cast members....... just... Amazing :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Takin' Over The Asylum [1994] [DVD]
Takin' Over The Asylum [1994] [DVD] by David Blair (DVD - 2008)
£6.12
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews