Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great boxset bringing together every appearance of the Sontaran
I am incredibly happy with my purchase of this item for many reasons:
- Its price could be compared to that of just a couple of single Doctor Who DVDs.
- It brings together every appearance of the sontaran on the classic era of the show. (Using modern boxsets I was able to have a complete Sontaran marathon.)
- It brought my total of classic Who DVDs up to...
Published 23 months ago by DoctorWhoFan63

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth getting at under £20
None of these stories is remarkable, but if you want to expand your collection, this is a reasonable purchase.

The Time Warrior is a fair story. Jon Pertwee does irritate me at times, especially with the "Hay - Ya" karate and all that, but I suppose that is a factor of the time it was made with Bruce Lee setting the standard. 3/5

The Sontaran...
Published on 23 Nov 2008 by Sek


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great boxset bringing together every appearance of the Sontaran, 30 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Bred for War - The Sontaran Collection (The Time Warrior / The Sontaran Experiment / The Invasion of Time / The Two Doctors) [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
I am incredibly happy with my purchase of this item for many reasons:
- Its price could be compared to that of just a couple of single Doctor Who DVDs.
- It brings together every appearance of the sontaran on the classic era of the show. (Using modern boxsets I was able to have a complete Sontaran marathon.)
- It brought my total of classic Who DVDs up to ten and gave me my first (two) Tom Baker serials.
- The number of special features is phenomenal compared to early releases of episodes such as 'Spearhead from Space' and 'Remembrance of the Daleks'.
- Etc.

The Time Warrior was the first episode to feature a certain Miss Sarah Jane Smith and I found it to be an incredibly impressive piece of television standing up even now among modern television. With four episodes it was long enough to provide plenty of entertainment but not too long as to put off a viewer who's used to single 45 minute editions of the show. I think it was my favourite of the boxset and it made the best use of the Sontaran, even though there was only one.

The Sontaran Experiment is mildly entertaining yet I found myself slightly bored of it, but at a mere two-parts, I can easily see myself rewatching it in the future. The choice to have just one Sontaran (excluding a few on a screen) was probably a good one, as it worked so well the first time.

The Invasion of Time is disappointing to anyone buying the boxset as first-time viewers of these episodes. Although it was a six-parter, being part of the Sontaran boxset I was rather expecting them to pop up a bit earlier than the end of part four, and to have a little more substantial a role. Nevertheless, the Doctor's attitude at the beginning and the revelation of his motives were clever parts which I didn't really see coming so not a bad story overall.

The Two Doctors is probably my second favourite of the four stories not because of its use of Sontaran or probably even the story, but as this was the first story I watched to properly introduce me to the Second and Sixth Doctors as well as Jamie and Peri, all of whom have become favourites of mine from the classic series. The Spanish location of the filiming, while uneccessary, proved a pleasing treat for the eyes after much studio-bound adventuring from The Invasion of Time.

Put together, this boxset is definitely worth buying for any Whovian, old or new. Well worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warriors in time, 11 Mar 2009
This review is from: Doctor Who: Bred for War - The Sontaran Collection (The Time Warrior / The Sontaran Experiment / The Invasion of Time / The Two Doctors) [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
Doctor Who's third most prolific enemies, those potato-headed clones The Sontarans, finally get their own celebratory box set. Recently revived in 2008's 'The Sontaran Stratagem' and 'The Poison Sky' the militaristic three-fingered aliens first appeared in 1973 TV story 'The Time Warrior'. Appearing in Medieval England, Sontaran scout 'Linx' teamed up with the bloodthirsty Irongron and proceeded to kidnap Twentieth Century scientists, in order to fix his spacecraft and return to Sontar to report that the Earth was ripe for invasion.
The Sontarans next bothered our planet in the 1975 serial 'The Sontaran Experiment', when The Fourth Doctor returned to an Earth destroyed by solar flares and met the sadistic Styre, who was experimenting on human survivors in order to test the durability of the human body.
In 1977 story 'The Invasion of Time', The Sontarans manipulate (they think) a disturbed Fourth Doctor into paving the way for them to invade Gallifrey itself and in 1986 anniversary story 'The Two Doctors' a Sontaran encounters the Sixth and Second Doctors in Spain, after the Timelord discovers that the aliens are again conducting time-travel experiments.
Despite the costumes actually seeming to get worse over the years, all four stories are enjoyable ones, and The Sontarans themselves make sinister and worthy opponents for The Doctor. My pick of the bunch is Invasion in Time for Tom Baker's ambiguous portrayal of The Timelord and Derek Deadman's great turn as his Sontaran nemesis. Having said that, I would recommend buying the box set as it's quite simply a lot of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem for Doctor Who fans everywhere and a good intro for new fans to an old enemy, 8 July 2009
By 
E. Davis "Emlyn" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Bred for War - The Sontaran Collection (The Time Warrior / The Sontaran Experiment / The Invasion of Time / The Two Doctors) [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
The Bred for War box set is a real gem for doctor who fans eager to build up their collections, similar to the Beginning and New Beginnings box sets. All four stories are a good insight into the development of the villain from menacing character in The Time Warrior to the slightly weaker form they come in within the Two Doctors.
It also shows the development of our intrepid hero and his assistants, for instance the first story smoothly introduces us to Sarah Jane Smith. Also from Pertwee to Baker (Colin) it is easy to see the direction it was going, as The Two Doctors is probably the weakest of the stories.
Along with this there are some interesting extras including Jim'll Fix It with a special episode for a young fan, and a documentary including Terrance Dicks explaining the genesis of the Sontarans.
This is great for someone who likes to buy adventures in a bundle but if you already have them then there is nothing new except the artwork, also good for parents with kids who are fans of the new series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doctor Who: Bred For War Box Set, 22 Dec 2010
This review is from: Doctor Who: Bred for War - The Sontaran Collection (The Time Warrior / The Sontaran Experiment / The Invasion of Time / The Two Doctors) [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
This boxset collects together all four original Doctor Who stories featuring the Sontarans.

The Time Warrior - Sarahjane's introduction to the series and also a race of squat cloned Warriors in medieval England. This story establishes the Sontaran are at War with the Rutans and that Earth is a planet of strategic importance within the war, hence the Sontarans claim to it.

The Sontaran Experiment - Following on from Ark in Space, the trio arrive on the empty Earth to fix a faulty teleporter, there Sarahjane is kidnapped by a lone Sontaran warrior who is there to claim the empty Earth for use within the Sontaran / Rutan war. He experiments on humans, especially the Earth female, ti find weaknesses and flaws.

The Invasion of Time - Somebody has recuited the Doctor to Invade Gallifrey, the home of the oldest race in the universe, the Time Lords. Nefarious beings are behind the plot and behind them and even more sinister race, with an even more sinister plot.

The Two Doctors - The 6th Doctor meets the 2nd Doctor in a riotous outing in Spain. The 2nd Doctor sent on a mission from the Time Lords, arrives at a space station to put a stop to primitive Human Time Travel experiments. The 6th Doctor becomes aware of a problem in his own past and turns up to find out whats goin on.

Good stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best box set yet, 29 Dec 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Bred for War - The Sontaran Collection (The Time Warrior / The Sontaran Experiment / The Invasion of Time / The Two Doctors) [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
this is probably doctor who at its strongest point in the classic era, i recieved this product for christmas and haven't let go of it since then. on my oppinion the weakest serial in this set has to be 'The Two Doctors', anyhow its still a good story and its good to see Patrick Troughton back in action. The main highlight of this box set is the Time warrior which introduces sarah jane smith and is one of Pertwee's greatest storys ever. the invasion of time is a bit too long but it still features quite a lot of remarkable scenes from the Tom Baker series, also one of the best stories is The Sontaran experiment because its a neat little serial which is well written and easy to follow through! this is the most wanted box set for all doctor who fans so i would rate it a superb 10/10...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Great Boxset for Sontaran Fans, 24 May 2009
By 
A. Foxley (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who: Bred for War - The Sontaran Collection (The Time Warrior / The Sontaran Experiment / The Invasion of Time / The Two Doctors) [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
If you're a regular buyer of the classic 'Doctor Who' DVD range, 'Bred for War' is unlikely to have much to offer you - this is a simple repackaging of four earlier releases, comprising every story from the classic series featuring the Sontarans, one of the Doctor's most fondly remembered enemies.

'The Time Warrior' stars Jon Pertwee, with Elisabeth Sladen as Sarah-Jane Smith, in an adventure that sees the Time Lord propelled back through time to the Middle Ages, where robber-baron Irongron has struck an uneasy alliance with a powerful Sontaran warrior named Linx, who is kidnapping scientists from the future in order to repair his damaged spacecraft. Although not one of Pertwee's best stories, this is a hugely enjoyable romp nonetheless, with some fantastic location filming and a good eye for period detail. Meanwhile, 1975's 'The Sontaran Experiment' is a two-part adventure from Tom Baker's first season as the Doctor, set on a barren future Earth after humanity has fled to the stars. A survey team is being menaced by a mysterious assailant, who is conducting terrible experiments to assess the feasibility of an invasion. This is a particular favourite of mine - it's an exciting adventure, with a small cast of characters and a memorable performance from Kevin Lindsay as the Doctor's Sontaran nemesis, Styre.

'The Invasion of Time' from 1977 also stars Tom Baker, with Louise Jameson as Leela. The Doctor has apparently abused his position as President of the Time Lords to enable an invasion, but all is not as it seems. The Sontarans are absent until the final third of this six-part epic, but despite that, it's still an entertaining tale, and one that's notable for building on Time Lord mythology. Finally, Colin Baker and Patrick Troughton team up for 1985's 'The Two Doctors', in which the Sontarans are embroiled in a plot to steal the secrets of time travel. Again, their appearance is overshadowed somewhat by other elements, specifically the meeting of the two Doctors, but it's good to see them back one final time.

In common with all the 'Doctor Who' range, all four stories are accompanied by a wealth of bonus features, including the usual commentaries, documentaries, snippets from the archives and suchlike. In addition, 'The Time Warrior' and 'The Invasion of Time' feature the option to view the episodes with new CGI special effects, which help to enhance both stories, particularly the latter which suffered more than usual with budgetary restrictions. Also of note is the inclusion on 'The Two Doctors' of 'In A Fix With Sontarans', a special 'mini episode' from BBC TV's 'Jim'll Fix It', in which young 'Doctor Who' fan Gareth Jenkins gets to beam aboard the TARDIS and help Colin Baker's Doctor fight off some unwelcome Sontaran intruders. It has to be seen to be believed.

Although there's nothing extra to recommend the box set above the individual releases of these stories, and they're not exactly 'Doctor Who's finest hour, this set represents good value for money, and an opportunity to collect every classic Sontaran story in one go. Definitely worth it if you don't own any (or even most) of these stories already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bred For War Box Set Review, 25 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Bred for War - The Sontaran Collection (The Time Warrior / The Sontaran Experiment / The Invasion of Time / The Two Doctors) [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
This is probably the best classic Who box set. It features all four classic Sontaran stories - The Time Warrior, The Sontaran Experiment, The Invasion of Time and The Two Doctors.

The Time Warrior is a fantastic story which is written by my favourite writer - Robert Holmes and introduces my favourite companion - Sarah Jane Smith and also introduces everyone's favourite potatoes - the Sontarans! While there is only one Sontaran in the story, it's still fantastic and the setting is brilliant. Jon Pertwee also gives an amazing performance, as always. 8/10

The Sontaran Experiment is a very short two-parter created to fill the gap between The Ark in Space and Genesis of the Daleks. It's nothing too special but it was Tom Baker's 3rd story, it's got Sarah Jane and Harry Sullivan in it, it's got Sontarans in it and it's just a nice way to spend 50 minutes. If you've only got 50 minutes to watch some Doctor Who, this is definitely a good option as are The Edge of Destruction, Black Orchid and The Awakening. 7/10

The Invasion of Time is a really good and underrated story but it's a tiny bit too long. Again, it features Tom Baker's Doctor although this time the companion is Leela. It's a sort of sequel to The Deadly Assasin - we see a lot of Gallifrey and that's just cool. The Sontarans don't actually appear in this until the end of episode 4 and the problem is, the story doesn't get that good until the Sontarans appear. Episode 1 is interesting and all with The Doctor becoming Lord President of Gallifrey but yeah. Because of the brilliance of parts 5 and 6, I'll give it a 9/10 as it was one of the first classic stories I saw.

The Two Doctors - I love this one so much. I don't care about the hate Colin Baker's era gets, I think he's one of the best actors to play The Doctor, especially in the Big Finish audio dramas (The One Doctor is fantastic!) and Patrick Troughton is good and funny as always, especially when he gets turned into an Androgum for a while - seeing him with those orange eyebrows was great! Oh, and Shockeye was really funny with the way he wanted to taste a human ("There doesn't seem to be a recipe for the human animal") but the Sontarans don't really play a big part in the story, they're just there. It's more about the Androgums really... 10/10

All four DVDs have some very good special features, although there is one on The Two Doctors that is going to be quite controversial now. I'm guessing it will be removed if the story gets a special edition.

Overall the box set deserves a 10/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 21 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Who: Bred for War - The Sontaran Collection (The Time Warrior / The Sontaran Experiment / The Invasion of Time / The Two Doctors) [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
The Sontaran is a brilliant monster, never over used, to make four amazing appearances in classic who. the first of these is a brilliant introduction to much loved companion Sarah-Jane Smith, easily 5 stars, the second a great story in two parts, the third a brilliant adventure with an amazing plot, and the final, while not so good is made enjoyable by the amazing Patrick Troughton.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DOCTOR WHO: BRED FOR WAR - A Great Boxset for an old enemy, 25 Nov 2008
By 
Martin "Martin IK Kelly" (Basingstoke, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doctor Who: Bred for War - The Sontaran Collection (The Time Warrior / The Sontaran Experiment / The Invasion of Time / The Two Doctors) [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
For A Show that had low production values, The Early Encounters with the Sontarans proved to be some of the finnest produced for Television

First before i review all 4 of the Serials in this Boxset i would like to make a point that back when these stories were made they did not have the production values that the current series has and the script writers that has become known in Dr. Who's long legacy... Yet the Sontarans are more fearsome in these 4 Serials than they where in the 2-Part Adventure that Aired This May (I Admit "The Sontaran Stratagem" and "The Poison Sky" had a great story to it. The Problem i Had was the Writers turning the Sontarans into an Intergelactic Rugby Team - complete with their own chant: SONTAR-HA-HA-HAAAA Don't Make Me Laugh...)

Now to the reviewing:
"THE TIME WARRIOR" Starring Jon Pertwee. (1973-1974)
This was the First Story of Season 11 - John Pertwee's Last Year ("Planet of the Spiders" is my favourite, Despite my Fear of Spiders :-)...)
and featured many firsts for the show - Sarah Jane Smith (Elizabeth Sladen) Began her adventures with the Time Lord in this story and ended her tenure with Tom Baker in "The Hand of Fear" (1976) Making her the longest serving Companion in the Shows History and would later tackle the Sontarans twice more - in the 3rd Serial of Season 12 "The Sontaran Experiment" and in the first Serial of The Sarah Jane Adventures Second Series "The Last Sontaran" (2008).
Speaking of the Sontarans, it also happens to be their first outing in the show.
As Well There is the first mention of the Rutans who would be refrenced in most future Sontaran Stories and would appear as a green blob in "The Horror of Fang Rock" (1977).
Also there is a first for the Doctor as Well... The Name of his Planet, Gallifrey, is first heard in this story.
setting the standards for the next 2-3 years of Doctor Who, "The Time Warrior" is not only a great piece of story telling, but shows that an alien can be scary just by showing his tounge... :-)

"THE SONTARAN EXPERIMENT" Starring Tom Baker. (1975)
For Season 12, there were originaly 2 6 Episode Serials planned, One Becoming the following serial "Genesis of the Daleks", it was discovred that a 2 Episode slot was more efiicent instead of having one 6 Episode Serial followed by another.
so they came up with this neat little story that has all had all the hallmarks of Dr Who's next few seasons - A Gothic feel to the stories that gives the show a darker edge.

as well as that the show is clearly unique due to the fact that it is one of the few Doctor Who Shows that has been entirley filmed on Location rather than in studio.

All in All a great Adventure. Tom Baker (or his Stunt Double x-0.) at his best...

"THE INVASION OF TIME" Starring Tom Baker. (1978)
The Adventure that is shunned for it's use of location and quick story writing has everything that a fan could want, the shock of thinking you know a Character and then (GASP!!!) The Doctor's A BAd Guy and his helping a Time Lord Enemy. Whats Going on?

Well the cover of this DVD Gives away who the villain is (Both The Single and and the Boxset Release (A MAJOR Giveaway!!!)). But it is also one of the best story peicews considering they had to write a more cost effective episode and they have managed to do that really well.

"THE TWO DOCTORS" Starring Colin Baker and Patrick Troughton. (1985)
For a 3 Part adventure "The Two Doctors" is not what you'd think as the anniversary show happned a little over a year before this episode had aired. Instead you have a dark adventure - with influnces in Cannibalism and Violence. Though i am not a huge fan of Colin Bakers Doctor this is quite possibly one of his finest adventures...

and there ends my review.

Please Enoy these especially if your a first time Classic Doctor Who Viewer. and make your decision - Which Sontarans are better: Classic or New? You Decide....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great collection, 25 April 2008
This review is from: Doctor Who: Bred for War - The Sontaran Collection (The Time Warrior / The Sontaran Experiment / The Invasion of Time / The Two Doctors) [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
Some of the reviewers seem to have little knowledge as to why the boxset is being released or what it even contains, and therefore beware of such reviews.

Lets make this clear, the boxset is being released to coinside with the upcoming appearance of the Sontarans in the new series, and as such is there as a catch up release for those who have seen them in said episodes and wish to be able to see sll their previous stories at a reduced price. The boxset contains nothing that hasn't been released before for this exact reason. Indeed the only new thing to come with this is the slipcase to hold them together and if people want to buy these again just for a cardboard box then more fool them...

As the the actual dvds, seperate reviews can easily be found for each dvd, but I would advise fans that do not yet own these titles to pick this release up as it is a fine collection. while the later 2 stories are nowhere near the quality of the first two, its still worth seeing them. The extras are interesting, particularly on TTW and the documentary 'Bred for War' on TSE is one of the best extras to appear on the classic series dvds.

A must own release for fans who as of yet do not own the previous outings of the Sontarans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews