Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kenny Everett film
looks like the pre-cusser to that film about zombies terrorising Britain.Shaun of the Dead (2004)highly entertaining if you like Shaun of the Dead (2004) you will like this . don't expect Kenny Everett TV programs sketches but a well thought out film ,underrated horror comedy with some blood and gutsHot Fuzz / Shaun of the Dead (3 Disc Box Set) [DVD] [2004].
Published on 21 Feb 2011 by Philtyke

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 18 Slain At House Of Death!
There was a time in my childhood when Kenny Everett was seen as the cutting edge of comedy, he pushed the boundaries and mixed zany antics with in your face attitude. Someone in the early eighties thought it might be a good idea for him to branch out into films and follow in the likes of Frankie Howerd and do a spoof movie.

A roll call of named stars from the...
Published 14 months ago by Spike Owen


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kenny Everett at his very best - and a superb quality DVD, 27 April 2008
By 
John Frame "There Is No Substitute For Equality" (Brisbane, Queensland Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloodbath at the House of Death [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
A group of psychics and ghosthunters return to remote Headstone Manor on the anniversary of a ritualistic mass murder by mysterious monks.

I'm pleased to see only good comments registered on Bloodbath At The House Of Death, because it's one of my favourites. Favoured not for it's technical merit, but for the absolute dedication to Kenny's unique style of comedy - where no joke was either too obvious or too tasteless to be included.

Some of these jokes are supremely tasteless, for example the young woman who offers her bared breasts to the mad monk as he threatens her with a knife: "You want these, don't you?" and then she screams "Oh my god, did you say "To take away?!".

Vincent Price has a very good time as the very Sinister Man.

I was lucky to see this on the big screen here in Australia and I also considered myself lucky to have bought an ex-rental VHS years ago. Hhowever there are quite a few dark scenes which VHS tape simply can't reproduce with adequate definition.

The July 2008 DVD release arrived today and I am very impressed. The video and audio quality are first class. I appreciate that we're offered a choice of either the original mono in sensible Dolby 2.0 - or a quite reasonable simulated 5.1 surround version.

Now we get to enjoy Bloodbath in its original theatrical aspect 1.85:1 - with none of the limitations mentioned for the VHS version. The extra features are valuable - including a pdf file of the script, the UK and USA trailers, and a wonderful, highly informative 22 minute retrospective documentary. I loved seeing snippets of Kenny in Australia promoting the film - and enjoyed learning the background story of how this magnificent purposefully B grade film sadly missed getting the exposure and wide success which it truly deserved.

Twenty five years after the limited cinematic release the world has a second chance to embrace "Bloodbath At The House Of Death" as one of the all-time great kitsch cult classics.

The producers of this DVD have done exceptionally well and should be very proud. Kenny's spirit will be smiling on them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gory but Fun, 27 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloodbath at the House of Death [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
I loved it, it is not pure comedy there are some creepy gory bits in it but it is still good. Pamela and Kenny really hammer it and it was reaally good. Kenny Everett is a legend always will be
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloodbath at the House of Death: Theatrical Trailer, 18 Aug 2008
This review is from: Bloodbath at the House of Death [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
Length:: 2:34 Mins

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B0014YKRBI/ref=nosim?tag=mondoerotico05
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Beyond The Kenny, 10 Nov 2011
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloodbath at the House of Death [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
A group of scientists visit the infamous Headstone Manor, a place where eight years ago, 18 people were murdered. It seems, however, that the locals don't want them there. Once inside, they come under attack from silent farts and amorous ghosts....
This film is very, very silly. It also happens to be very funny, and quite ahead of its time, as it shares the humour of the Scary Movie franchise. That is, a gag a minute, some funny some not. I bet they all had a whale of a time making this film and were quite perplexed regarding the critical lambasting the film recieved.
The films that are lampooned in this film are too numerous to mention, but to name a few, we have hilarious scetches based on Carrie, Legend Of Hell House, Satan's Slave and Ghost Story to name but four.
A great cast is also present here, with Don Warrington and Gareth Hunt very funny as a pair of gay scientist lovers who like nothing better than perusing a copy of 'Him', Sheila Steafel plays a sexually repressed investigator with telekinetic powers, but my favourite is John Stephen Hill who plays dumb American scientist Henry just right, simply repeating sentences uttered by other characters, and stating the bleeding obvious. Very funny.
Just to mention Kenny Everett, the star of the show. I loved his BBC television series, but approached this dvd with some trepidation, as I was aware of the film's bad rep. I'm so glad that the film exceeded my expectations, being very funny in parts and well made for a shoestring budget too. I'm also going to mention Vincent Price, terrific as 'The Sinister Man' having great trouble keeeping his coven in line.
Finally, this wonderful dvd release by Nucleus Films must get a mention. The transfer of the film is great, a lovely crisp sound and picture, and there are plenty of extras, the best being a highly informative behind the scenes featurette.
Highly entertaining. 5 out of 5 for the whole package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny movie with great comic effect, 28 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloodbath at the House of Death [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
Absolute classic comedy, about time it came to dvd! This movie will have you in stitches very funny and well scripted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A milestone in cult movies!, 23 July 2008
This review is from: Bloodbath at the House of Death [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
A long wait for this lost cult classic was definetly worth the wait,the gentleman who tracked down the rights etc.had one HELL of a job in doing so,but came through in the end.
Anyone who has a fondness for British cult cinema will absolutely LOVE this.Funny,well scripted,Pamela Stephenson gets 'em out,some decent gore,atmospheric and the one and only VINCENT PRICE along with comic genius Kenny Everett,make this a MUST HAVE.
Great extras complete a fantastic package which features one of the crispest transfers and clearest sound jobs,thus seen on a film of this age.
Go on One-click it NOW-you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars filmed at northaw place coopers lane potters bar herts, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloodbath at the House of Death [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
this film was made at the home i went to in the 70s it brought back so many memories, thanx for putting it on dvd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gift, 16 Jun 2013
By 
Mrs. Marcia Clark "mgc reader" (co. durham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloodbath at the House of Death [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
Bought as a gift for my grandson who loves Kenny Everett and who was greatly entertained by the usual antics. A good watch as he is no longer with us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars KENNY RULZ, 6 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bloodbath at the House of Death [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
If you don't like Kenney Everett read no further.
I had a copy of this on VHS and now on DVD. Loved Kenny in all forms of media. If you like Kenny buy this and you wont be disappointed. Its silly and ridicules but also brilliant. It has everything that made you like Kenny. Not going to tell about the story as it is a spoof of a stack of movies. Carrie , ET , Legend of Hell House and Alien to name a few and does them brilliantly. The humour is at times childish but if you don't want a movie like this then get one of the previous mentioned movies.IF you have a childish or sick sense of humour get it, if not keep shopping. Was way ahead of its time and should be a treasured part of your movie collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wish I could...!!!, 7 Aug 2009
This review is from: Bloodbath at the House of Death [1984] [DVD] (DVD)
I would LOVE to be able to write a legitimate review pertaining to this DVD release, but unfortunately I cannot, as it is available only in PAL format right now. If someone associated w/ the company holding rights to this film happens to read this review, please please PLEASE put in a suggestion that it be released in NTSC format as well. I remember this hilarious movie from late night shows during my teenage years, and it was SO very very funny. Again, an NTSC release would be very nearly a dream come true for myself and other U.S. fans of this excellent sardonic black comedy. There is definitely a market for it over here, too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bloodbath at the House of Death [1984] [DVD]
£15.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews