Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far better than how the "experts" review it
What the Empire review fails to mention is that this film is at least based on a true story which adds reality to this gritty tale.
Marvelously directed, the film opens on the Vietnam Veteran's Wall in Washington, DC to the strains of Philip Glass's excellent and chilling musical score. The names on the Wall blend to become the elephant grass of South Vietnam...
Published on 13 Aug. 2000 by J. Bennett

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars love the film, but hate the transition to blu-ray...
First I want you to know that I really like this movie. yes, there are stereo types and one liners, but it's a good vietnam war movie. not as good as Platoon or Full Metal Jacket or Apocalypse Now, but it's good to watch.

However the transition to blu-ray is abominable!! I have never seen it so bad! grainy all the way and the sound isn't that good either! even...
Published on 30 April 2010 by Peter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Hamburger Hill., 17 Jan. 2013
By 
Mrs. Barbara J. Petersen (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hamburger Hill [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
May I say to these boys, thank you for what you did and may you all now live in peace knowing we love you all. Wonderful movie with amazing facts of such an awful war. Please view and never forget this movie story. Great movie well produced. Barbara. Petersen. Australia.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Overcast by the likes of Platoon, but this is better, 8 May 2008
This review is from: Hamburger Hill [DVD] [1987] (DVD)
People always go on about Platoon being such a great film, whilst I like the film, Hamburger Hill is even better as far as I'm concerned.

The action feels and looks very real, everyone puts in good solid performances, it deals with the moral issue of war constructively and very well, we get to know some of characters and see them attempting to deal with the issue of war as well as their personal issues too.

There's a nice bit of action, some of the scenes are brutal as is the nature of war, people are killed, maimed and just plain wiped off the face of the Earth with barely a trace of them left, but there also some lighthearted moments too so it's not a constant action, action, action film, but moves at a good pace throughout.

Overall an excellent film and well worth picking up, I've had this film for a long time now and can watch it time and time again (and do).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the real deal, 29 April 2004
This review is from: Hamburger Hill [DVD] (DVD)
based on the real events of the 101st Airborne Division's fight to takeDong Ap Bia, a 'mini' mountain in the A Shau Valley in Vietnam, unlikePlatoon and Apocalypse Now which those movies mainly focus on one maincharacter Hamburger Hill focuses on the platoon itself, from the bloody,brutal and disturbing scene's of the battles to the scene's which see'sthe troops talk about there loved ones and what there going to do if theyget out of vietam alive.
once again another movie that proves that you not need a big budget tomake a powerful and realistic movie, its just a shame it was overshadowedby the likes of Platoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars good entertainment, 26 Nov. 2009
By 
Rui Lima "Anzac" (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hamburger Hill - 20th Anniversary Edition [1987] [DVD] (DVD)
while not an exactly amazing movie, that i personally think was spoiled with abuse of stereotypes and shallow script, it is nonetheless for such a low price worth buying...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great war movie, 20 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hamburger Hill - 20th Anniversary Edition [1987] [DVD] (DVD)
Not as celebrated as Full Metal Jacket and Platoon, but definitely their equal. And the special feature on making the movie was superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still head and shoulders above all war films, 2 Jan. 2005
By 
This review is from: Hamburger Hill [DVD] (DVD)
This film is still my favourite war film despite it's age. The only film to have come close was the opening 15 minutes of Saving Private Ryan. But where as Saving Private Ryan then embarks on the usual moral and American Flag waving route this film just tells the story of a bunch of young guys fighting and dying for a "hill". If you you are a fan of war films this is the one you have to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars bluray, 26 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Hamburger Hill [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Fantastic film. A real classic war film that is superb in 1080p definition. A steal at such a low price. Advise everyone to buy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hotdog, 10 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hamburger Hill [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I really got hyped up on this film but was not to impressed after veiwing, there are much better war films than this around.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hamburger Hill, 17 Jun. 2012
By 
R. Childs - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hamburger Hill - 20th Anniversary Edition [1987] [DVD] (DVD)
Goodd film of how the yanks tryed to take a hill and got pushed back time & time again and finaly got to the top
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, worth a watch if nothing else on, 24 Oct. 2014
By 
Creedance fan (fochabers, scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hamburger Hill [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Decent war film, hadn't seen it for a while. In my opinion no where near as good as FMJ!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hamburger Hill - 20th Anniversary Edition [1987] [DVD]
£4.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews