Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, but controls are hard!
A great game but very hard controls! I'm at a point were im not even doing the running and swimming events, because my fingers and hands are so sore! With 38 events, you will soon choose your stronger ones and work on these. If it didnt have the 38 it would have fallen very short and got very boring and fustrating because of the hard controls.

Overall very good...
Published on 28 Jun 2008 by B

versus
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great presentation, but a pain to play and incoherent.
It had been quite a while since I tried an olympic-style game on a home format, mainly because I was getting cheesed off with joystick-waggling and button-mashing in earlier titles, mainly because both put a drain on the life expectancy of controllers and made me have to replace my joystick every month or so.

So here we are with the officially-licenced "Beijing...
Published on 21 July 2008 by Mr. A. T. Whitaker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great presentation, but a pain to play and incoherent., 21 July 2008
By 
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Beijing 2008 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
It had been quite a while since I tried an olympic-style game on a home format, mainly because I was getting cheesed off with joystick-waggling and button-mashing in earlier titles, mainly because both put a drain on the life expectancy of controllers and made me have to replace my joystick every month or so.

So here we are with the officially-licenced "Beijing 2008". It has a whole multitude of track and field events, gymnastic, aquatic (swimming and diving), shooting range and others such as judo, kayaking, archery and weight-lifting. The various events have their own controls, understandably, but the problem is that those where actions correlate (e.g. running in 100m and a run-up for the long-jump) do not always share the same control method, meaning that often you have to look at the tutorial or the instruction manual again to remind yourself of the controls in case they were not what you might have expected, which can be annoying.

Another thing that annoyed me was that, even in this day and age, when controllers cost about 20+, we are still expected to do life-expectancy-draining button-mashing or stick-waggling for things like running. Now those sticks on the XBox 360 controller, not to mention the triggers, offered scope for alternatives to these, some of which were explored in the cycling and swimming events, for example (where you rotated the sticks in opposing directions). Why didn't they also use the same sort of thing in the running events (where we are expected to waggle either stick if we chose to use it)? Surely this wouldn't have made it any less difficult while at the same time offering a less wear-and-tear-inducing way of doing the event? Or even use the techniques used in the high-jump and gymnastics floor exercise events, in which you pressed the button depicted on the ground the moment your athlete's foot (sorry!) touched it? This worked brilliantly, as it was reliant on timing, and your athlete's performance suffered if you either didn't time it quite as well or didn't press the right button at all.

While we're on the subject of consistency from one event to another, it seems very odd that you could, for example, be training in the 100m sprint in the Training section using one of the two running techniques, yet you could try exactly the same thing in the Olympics mode and it wouldn't work for you very well at all. I tried this approach with several events and I still seemed to find it considerably more difficult in the Olympics mode compared to the Training mode, which seems to defeat the object of the Training mode.

Other well-done events included: archery, where the right stick was used as if it was the arm operating the arrow (pull down on the stick to draw it back, release the stick to loose the arrow) while the left stick was used to aim while holding the right stick down, taking into account wind speed and direction; diving, where you stop the power meter at the desired power and the dive itself goes into slow-motion while you rotate the sticks to follow the on-screen markers' movements as closely as possible; and weight-lifting, in which you rotated the sticks in opposing directions to build up power for the snatch, then pulled the sticks down and rotated them outwards towards the up position for the lift (sometimes you would have to do these two actions again, particularly for the heavier weights) and used both sticks to keep two balance markers in the centre of the gauge for a short time to complete the lift.

Some events are notoriously bad, however, and one particular bugbear is the judo event. You have an on-screen arrow in which you move the stick in the direction the arrow is pointing to gain the advantage in the clinch, then you must press any of the four buttons (Y, B, X and A) in any sequence to do a throw (it's different depending on the order you press them in), and if your opponent tries to throw you you must press the first button that you would have pressed if you were doing the throw yourself -- which is as hard as it sounds. Ricidulous!

However, in each event you have a small meter which gives you a short amount of time to press either bumper to turn on slow-motion to help you pull off a technique. This is a nice feature that I do not recall seeing in a game like this before, but this alone is not enough to save the game.

Ultimately we have a well-presented (the graphics and sound are really good, as is the optional commentary) and atmospheric game which falls flat due to the uneven nature of the events, some of which are unbelievably hard. Even if you did enjoy the game, it would probably be best to wait until after the real Beijing Olympics have been and gone, when the product's price will no doubt have dropped (that's what usually happens with event-themed sports titles anyway).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Game, but controls are hard!, 28 Jun 2008
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Beijing 2008 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
A great game but very hard controls! I'm at a point were im not even doing the running and swimming events, because my fingers and hands are so sore! With 38 events, you will soon choose your stronger ones and work on these. If it didnt have the 38 it would have fallen very short and got very boring and fustrating because of the hard controls.

Overall very good and great graphics!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy !, 15 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beijing 2008 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Game recieved quickly, very good fun on multiplayer for all the family, clear instuctions given in tutorials before gameplay, very easy to interact with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Addictive, 17 Sep 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Beijing 2008 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game is great and the service was quick and efficient. Would definitely recommend it to other people, especially for this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Amateurish in many ways but still fun, 2 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. S. A. Brown "yentilsale1" (Kilmarnock, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Beijing 2008 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I went back to this because the 2012 Olympics are on right now and it's still quite good fun if you get another three people along. We did a whole Olympics with four of us and it caused much hilarity.

Basically it's like an old school Olympics game where you can do a whole load of events, most of which require some specific skill (such as bashing the buttons really fast, or doing guitar hero-esque button timing, and so on). It's as fun now as this format ever was, because if there are four of you then someone will be really good at one event, but rubbish at another, making it quite competitive.

With that said, there are some absolutely appalling oversights in the game. A few little obvious additions, such as an overall medal table at the end showing you who actually won, a few stats, records and whatever else would have gone a long way. It's really a bare bones effort and there doesn't seem to have been much effort done in terms of designing the basic interface and format of competitions.

Similarly, while most of the game works as it should, some of the events are just dreadful and look like they were tagged on at the last minute. In particular, the Kayak is horrific and almost unplayable. Likewise the team pursuit is one of the most grating and exhausting experiences I've ever encountered in a computer game. If you're going to play this event you'd better wear weightlifting gloves to protect your hand. I can't honestly believe they tested some of these events properly because there are things in there which are just inexcusable.

Despite all of these flaws and the sense that it was cobbled together in a frantic last ditch effort before the start of the Olympics, it is actually quite good fun and I'd recommend it now at the "4 years later" price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not quite Gold, 27 Aug 2009
By 
Ben Cooper - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Beijing 2008 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
The Olympics, the global sporting spectacle comes to 360. But it could have been so much better. Firstly the graphics while giving off a good atmosphere still can't compete with some of the other games sega have brought us, the lack of proper customisation means that most of the atheletes on your team end up looking the same. The control system for some of the events is very difficult to master, it goes beyond the point of being challenging and just becomes stupidly hard. It gets confusing sometimes as well you think you have mastered an event like the cycling then you go and do it for real only to discover that your not doing well at all. However its not all bad, some events are easy to learn and even easier to win but that kind of takes the fun out of it, I prefer the ones that are easy to learn but quite hard to win so you get a lot of satisfaction when you eventually win the gold. But like I said there is still room for improvement, lets hope that when they release the game for the london olympics, they make the control system easier to use as well as improving the graphics and the team customisation maybe even getting the likenesses of real athletes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Its ok like, 28 Feb 2009
By 
Colin Martin "Colscoob" (Kilsyth, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Beijing 2008 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Kinda what I expected it to be, nothing brilliant, but an ok game to have in the collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Shallow fun, 9 Sep 2008
= Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Beijing 2008 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This is a classic old school athletics game. In essence it's not really changed since the old Daily Thompson game on the Spectrum. There's a whole lot of waggling and button mashing.

There's nearly 40 events, but a lot of them are very similar. The more unique ones (table tennis) are have been done very quickly and somewhat poorly. The highlights being the sprint running.

THere's an amount of randomness and lack of skill in many events. THe 1500m you can be far behind up to the last lap and still easily win. There's little strategy.

This does have online for up to 8 players, which is where it becomes more fun. This is the kind of game that comes into its own in large groups, with a couple of beers.

I wouldn't suggest buying this if you like epic, play alone games. If you're a casual gamer, you'll have fun. Wait for the bargain bins.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Falls at the final hurdle!, 28 Aug 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Beijing 2008 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Ok first off the events are great with a nice variety of controls. And the events will leave you as sweaty as the athletes as you bash those buttons. The only poor event for me is Judo which despite many attempts I just can't get to work.

Where this game falls down however is in it's lack of choice of countries and on-line play. I play other games on-line but if I try this with 8 people and 100m run the lag is dreadful and the connection usually drops. I think it can't handle all the rapid button imputs. So your going to need a very high speed internet connection for this to work. Mine does ok with 4 people. Also some of the events which run as knockout like table tennis and archery do not run concurrently so you have to sit there for ages as everyone else plays out their games. How the developers thought that was a good idea is beyond me.

Single player mode features training with the nice feature of being able to compare against your friends personal bests. Of course you can compete in the olympics but it has the hugely annoying feature of you needing to qualify in so many events to get to the next day or you have to do the whole day all over again including events that you already qualified in, very frustrating.

This game is best played with a few friends and overall is worth getting. Be prepared for some serious finger and arm ache though!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun,, 17 Aug 2008
By 
Barry Fowles (Hadleigh, Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Beijing 2008 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
i'll keep this breif, this game is great family or multiplayer with friends entertainment, either locally or over Xbox live. There are so many events you are bound to find one your world class out, and because of that its great value for money. Only two flaws for me it will destroy your joypads and they are still not cheap a lot of button bashing or joystick waggleling. Also Judo is impossible no-one i know has seemed to master it if anyone has please comment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beijing 2008 (Xbox 360)
Beijing 2008 (Xbox 360) by Sega (Xbox 360)
9.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews