Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible film. Loved it.
Frightfest banned it, Optimum didn't know whether to release it or not, the critics weren't keen, but one thing's for sure: We LOVE it!

The makers of Switchblade Romance have done it again! Frontiers is possibly an even more powerful 'endurance test' than last year's remake of Funny Games. Ultimately, Frontiers is made for you to pause the film for a second,...
Published on 17 Oct. 2008 by D. Jackson

versus
25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Karina Testa Is Brilliant In This Above Average Gorefest
France.The Near Future.Riots plague the major cities and under the cover of this civil uprising five people botch a heist and end up fleeing into the countryside only to turn up at a motel ran by a family of cannibals and well....you can guess the rest.
Directed by Xavier Gens(Hitman) and from the team that brought you Switchblade Romance,Frontiers has something in...
Published on 2 Feb. 2009 by Mark Pearce


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Karina Testa Is Brilliant In This Above Average Gorefest, 2 Feb. 2009
By 
This review is from: Frontiers [DVD] (DVD)
France.The Near Future.Riots plague the major cities and under the cover of this civil uprising five people botch a heist and end up fleeing into the countryside only to turn up at a motel ran by a family of cannibals and well....you can guess the rest.
Directed by Xavier Gens(Hitman) and from the team that brought you Switchblade Romance,Frontiers has something in common with the Hostel franchise and the Belgian film Calvaire but thankfully it is a cut above that garbage thanks to some pretty fierce action sequences and a tremendous performance by leading lady Testa who nails the essence of someone in frightening peril with startling conviction.
Frontiers is overlong and empties it's bag of tricks a little too early with Gens using a little too much shadow and fast edits to mask budgetary limitations and while not being particularly original it delivers some ride when it gets going.
I never like to look for "messages"in the horror genre - everywhere else fine - scary,nasty and someone to root for is enough for me,Frontiers ticks all the boxes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible film. Loved it., 17 Oct. 2008
By 
D. Jackson "DJ" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frontiers [DVD] (DVD)
Frightfest banned it, Optimum didn't know whether to release it or not, the critics weren't keen, but one thing's for sure: We LOVE it!

The makers of Switchblade Romance have done it again! Frontiers is possibly an even more powerful 'endurance test' than last year's remake of Funny Games. Ultimately, Frontiers is made for you to pause the film for a second, take a deep breath and ask yourself, 'Why am I still watching this?'

The story plays out just like your average Friday night horror flick: A group of kids get into some trouble whilst rioting at the latest presidential election... soon enough, after deciding to take a run for it, they all end up staying at a creepy old hostel run by a large family of uncompromising Nazi cannibals...

...And thank God! For once! It's as good as it sounds!

Beautifully shot, expertly crafted and brilliantly acted, Xavier Gens -director of the more recent Hitman- has served up for us something quite special: Frontiers is a shocking, brutal, emotionally draining and immensely powerful piece of horror cinema. It demands to be seen, and at this price it's hard to resist!

(P.S- To those who are frightened of subtitles: It's French. Also: Stunning cover art!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars From riots to cannibal diets., 13 Oct. 2010
By 
T. BROOKES "Brookey" (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frontiers [DVD] (DVD)
This is another odd Euro horror, with plenty of gore and 'out-there' surprises. This was in 2007 so would have been more powerful at the time, with more shocking, better Horrors emerging since then, so post 2007 means it has lost some credentials and much power.

Basically a rioting gang hide out in the country, but stumble across a really weird family run motel. This being a Nazi 'pure blood' led family, feasting on those they capture. There are several queezy and gory parts but these are more sick, than scary and feel a bit 'done before', predictable and as if these are the main parts to the film, rather than the far-fetched story or acting.

The Paris riots montage at the start is excellent and the film moves well. It has all the DNA of a modern French horror film, and as always the cast is pleasantly unknown and a real bunch of mixed characters.

It is ok, but clearly nowhere near as good as others (Martyrs, Inside, Switch-blade romance etc) and it's oddness steals from it rather than adds.

MY MOVIE MOT - another French oddball, it passes but needs some work, leaving it's odd styling and drive to very few fans, simply better cars out there!

6 / 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant French Horror Flick, 30 July 2014
By 
William Mason (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Frontiers [DVD] (DVD)
This is an absolutely first rate French horror film, which benefits from several imaginatively over-the-top murder scenes. Four youthful hoodlums flee from the police, after trouble-making in an inner city, and hide out at a remote country inn. The inn is run by a decidedly creepy and dystopian German family. It soon becomes very clear that this Germany family are not like the Waltons, they are inhospitable hosts, who get their kicks by dispatching their guests, in a variety of gruesome ways. As the film gets into the second half, and we are witnessing the fight for survival of the youths, the movie becomes extremely brutal, tense and gripping. Perhaps harking back to The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, there is one memorable scene involving death by a table saw, I've never seen so much blood splattered in one horror film. The movie is made with typical French fair, very artfully shot, indeed it is a lot more inventive and stylistic than the vast majority of horror movies, and it keeps you pinned to your seat right through to the closing scene. Highly recommended, provided that you don't mind the small distraction of sub-titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good wholesome family entertainment, 23 Feb. 2009
By 
All of them Witches (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Frontiers [DVD] (DVD)
Another portrayal of modern dysfunctional family life. A group of Nazi Cannibals living in France running a hostel/farm/abbatoir off the beaten track harvesting their guests for meat as well as for the continuing of the family line in the case of any young females that take their fancy.
It's good. If you loved Switchblade Romance you will love this also. For me this was better because of its avoidance of crass implausability as depicted in SR. It was just a straightforward good old fashioned hack and gore fest.
I did get a little bored towards the end with the continual blood letting. The old adage 'less is more' did spring to mind. It loses a hell of a lot of its shock value due to this. There were some less believable parts than others; what some people manage to survive relatively unscathed and considering the armaments and lifestyles of the protaganists they were awful shots, even at close range.
As I said though quite good, not intelligent or original but worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The French do great horror films, don't they?, 21 Aug. 2013
By 
BobM (South East England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frontiers [DVD] (DVD)
Frontiers is another truly memorable horror film from our neighbours across the Channel.
It is up there with the best, believe me.
The main characters who fall victim to a determined group of hard core Nazis are an unpleasant bunch, and make their gory final moments on Earth somewhat well deserved.
The female lead puts up with an awful lot, with a spectacular and well drawn out climax.
Worthy of the 5 stars I give it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gory French horror, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frontiers [DVD] (DVD)
I am a big horror fan nad have loved some very gory French horror films of late. Switchblade Romance, Inside and now Frontiers is another. If you can handle the gore I highly recommend this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frontiers [DVD] (DVD)
Now i think i made a mistake with this film. i got this because i saw the cracking trailer before i watched Martyrs.(which by the way is brutal but a great film)
I couldnt help but watch this and all the way through i was compairing it to Martyrs. that maybe was a mistake because i was waiting for something shocking to happen and it just didnt. its not a terrible film at all it has its moments, but it just didnt seem to take you to that place when you know you will be thinking of it for weeks after seeing it. some will disagree im sure, but for me not sure if i will be bothering to watch it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Many fathers, 6 Feb. 2009
By 
Charles Vasey (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frontiers [DVD] (DVD)
Frontiers is a film with many fathers which is ironic considering the rather whacky pure blood policy of the villains in this piece. Although the list of slashers from which this one gets DVD-DNA is long it reminded me most of Wolf Creek (though without being as good a film in my view). The same sudden appearance of the Other just off the main road, the same organised nastiness, the same lack of finishing off a villain when he is down, and the same collection of stolen trophies. Yet the oddness of the Nazi cannibals simply gave the film an air of unreality so that the gore became almost a joke. The heroine diving through the pig-slurry was undoubtedly the most unpleasant moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars If you hated Hostel, you'll love this., 6 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Frontiers [DVD] (DVD)
Another shocker from French cinema, Frontiers will rightly have you on the edge of your seat throughout. Basic plot involves a group of violent protesters who have stolen money in the process of the Paris riots and flee to a small village to stay the night in a B &B. Unlucky for them the cocky youths get more than they bargained for and the rest they say is history......

Frontiers succeeds because it has the power to make you feel sorry for the ruthless violent youths who are about to meet there match big time. It is everything that Eli Roth's Hostel wasn't. The French have never pulled back like American cinema, it is gorey, shocking and even moving.

Good acting, dreaded atmosphere- though you will need the stomach for it. Watch out for the head explosion, which may well be the best 'head explosion' ever put to film. Be warned this is a graphic movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Frontiers [DVD] [2007] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
£5.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews