Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John does it again....
Continuum is a logical step up from Heavier Things, the mainstream sound of that album evolving here into a settled, bluesy tone. John has found the sound he is most comfortable with, I think, and it shows on this relaxed record. Standout tracks for me are the bittersweet 'Slow Dancing In A Burning Room', the simple and powerful message of 'Belief' and the honest yet...
Published on 27 Oct. 2006 by K.Davies

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dissapointing
I waited, as many of you will have done for John Mayer third studio album expecting off the back of "John Mayer Trio" a very good album. Unfortunately I have been disappointed, although the songs are good; the album seems to have lost the edginess that was prevalent in his previous work. The album has an air of overproduction to it, a softness. If you had heard the track...
Published on 19 Sept. 2006 by Mr. P. Gostling


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John does it again...., 27 Oct. 2006
By 
K.Davies (Wales, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Continuum (Audio CD)
Continuum is a logical step up from Heavier Things, the mainstream sound of that album evolving here into a settled, bluesy tone. John has found the sound he is most comfortable with, I think, and it shows on this relaxed record. Standout tracks for me are the bittersweet 'Slow Dancing In A Burning Room', the simple and powerful message of 'Belief' and the honest yet strangely moving 'I Don't Trust Myself With Loving You'. But my ultimate favourite on this album is 'Vultures' - a self assured song with excellent guitar work and the confidence of a seasoned pro. Anyone into his earlier work should buy this album. Indeed, so should anyone who actually cares about music with heart and soul, as this album is filled to the brim with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars john mayer just keeps getting better, 25 Oct. 2006
By 
C. Geiregger - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Continuum (Audio CD)
I have been a huge fan of John Mayer's since his first release and have loved how he has improved with every new album. Heavier things was better than room for squares(which was itself fantastic) and now continuum has topped them both. John has really shown what he is capable of in this album. There are wonderful riffs, fantastic lyrics and some stunning solos. Even if you don't class yourself as a fan of blues music I'm sure you couldn't help but love this new evolution of his style. The album really shows how he has matured over the years. Gravity is probably the best song on there but also slow dancing in a burning room, i'm gonna find another you, heart of life and stop this train are fantastic. There isn't a song on the album that i wouldn't rate as 5 star. Don't hesitate, buy it, it's definately worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One For the Future, 3 April 2007
By 
A. J. brown "andycara" (Newcastle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Continuum (Audio CD)
Saw John Mayer playing in the background of an episode of CSI and was stunned by the sound he was making, very soulful guitar with a rich bluesy voice I did not expect from somebody so young.I instantly bought Continuum and then Heavier Things and Room For Squares which although the latter 2 are good they show the path he has taken to get to the style of Continuum.

Although a stunning guitarist he definately practices at the B.B.King school of guitar i.e. 'why play 10 notes when 1 note will do' and this is refreshing in a world where to many guitarists thing the quicker you play the better you are.

There are to many stand out tracks but Gravity is simply beautiful.

Ingore this at your peril.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Laid back, 27 Mar. 2007
By 
J. Stewart (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Continuum (Audio CD)
I watched John Mayer on TV, recording at Abbey Road studios, and was struck by his laid back style and smooth blues sound. Thoroughly enjoyable watching. The next day I bought this album, and while there are 2 or 3 songs I don't particularly enjoy, the bulk are simply stunning! My personal favourite is Vultures, such a catchy tune. My advice is money well spent!

I'm looking forward to warmer weather so I can sit outside with a glass of wine and John Mayer in the background!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mayer only gets better with age, 5 Oct. 2006
By 
C. Jones "lill_jonesy" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Continuum (Audio CD)
No bubblegum pop here, simply a well constructed album.

Ok, a Mayer fan won't need my approval to buy it and likewise they won't be disappointed. As for the rest of you it really depends on where you're coming from. If you loved `Room for Squares' and still sing `Your Bond is a Wonderland' to yourself in the mirror, and you thought `Heaver Things' was a disappointment, then this album is probably not for you.

John's song writing returns to the lyrical genius of `Room for Squares', but the bubblegum pop is now well and truly behind him. If you were hoping for another sugar hit of the bubblegum pop then go to amazon.com and look up Matt Wertz - he's fantastic.

Now, if you've enjoyed `TRY', or seen John Mayer live or you just have total respect for the floppy haired genius, then don't delay buy it today. `Waiting on the World to Change' and `Belief' are great singles, but scratch a little deeper and there is more adult John Mayer just waiting to get out. `Dreaming with a Broken Heart', `I Don't Trust Myself (With Loving You)', `Stop This Train' and `The Heart of Life' offer far more mature song writing from a man who has grown up massively in five years and it's also given him a far more gentle approach to song production. `Vultures' (Previously heard on `TRY' John Mayer Trio) and `Bold as Love' see a John in heavier guitar form, which should please any Jonny Lang fans amongst you.

For me the stand out song is `Slow Dancing in a Burning Room', possibly the best song John's ever written and well worth the £10 alone - just timeless.

Overall an outstand offering and one that will undoubtedly withstand the test of time..and how many albums today could make that claim?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the wait, 19 Oct. 2006
By 
Cat (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Continuum (Audio CD)
Ah, John Mayer. Finally he's back with a new studio album and it doesn't disappoint.

Evolving from the guitar balladeer of old and striking a nice balance between heartfelt songwriter and blues guitar hero, John Mayer proves that he's one of the best musicians around today. I still think it's a crime he's not popular over here in the UK, although the success of ticket sales for his one-off London gig in October may be a pointer in the opposite direction.

This album has been a long time coming for patient fans and you can tell he's taken his time to craft a flowing and heartfelt selection of songs. I personally loved his previous albums, plus the John Mayer Trio but I think you can enjoy this album even if you didn't. Sure, it's bluesier, but in the 3 years since Heavier Things, John Mayer has really grown as a songwriter. I think he's more confident in his ability and it shows with songs such as the epic `In Repair' and simple but deep `Gravity'.

Belief started life as an off the cuff riff during a live show and has grown (with the added injection of Ben Harper joining on guitar) into an awesome, politically laced anthem with a nod to Sting's style. Heart of Life is a melody driven slice of melancholy while Stop This Train is a call to aging and what it means to us. Vultures, the falsetto funk fest first heard on Try, sounds just as brilliant in a studio setting. Slow Dancing in a Burning Room is a heartbreak tour de force and possibly the best song on the album.

I don't know how he does it, but John Mayer seems to articulate any thought I've ever had in a way I could never do. Buy this album even if you've never heard of him before, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The album I've always wanted John Mayer to make...., 9 April 2007
By 
Mr. A. J. Whiteway "andy-ru" (Londinium, uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Continuum (Audio CD)
This is something very special indeed, not that John Mayer hadn't accomplished great things with his major label debut 'Room for Squares' and considered follow-up 'Heavier Things', but 'Continuum' is a mature and individual album that I think showcases John Mayer as the artist he has perhaps 'wanted' to be in the past.

Those who follow Mayer closely know that in between the recording of his last album and this one, he released a live album called 'Try', which showcased Mayer with an excellent rhythm section and his own excellent blues guitar playing, modelled on Clapton BB King and Stevie Ray Vaughn. 'Continuum' therefore finds Mayer looking for the middle-ground between this, and his more commercial studio work. That he finds such a compelling balance between the two is a testament to his ability as a songwriter.

Opening song 'Waiting on the World to Change' and later 'Belief' epitomise this approach. Lyrically they are intelligent responses to the nervous and difficult world we exist in today, while rhythmically they are propelled forward by strong grooves and great guitar work.

Mayer's voice too, has grown. He feels more comfortable in his shoes ('Gravity' in particular, is a great vocal performance) and this is demonstrated in his decision to include 'Bold as Love', a Hendrix cover. It's not perfect, but is a strong inclusion nevertheless. For me the standout track is 'Slow Dancing in a Burning Room', a delicate and bitter love song that marries this new maturity in both Mayer's musicianship and writing. Continuum has been huge in the US, but as always it remains to be seen whether it will do the same over here. My advice is fairly simple - if you like your music to be considered and articulate then look no further - John Mayer has definitely arrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i can't believe this is the first I heard of this guy!!!!!, 18 Nov. 2006
By 
L. Mitchell "loulou" (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Continuum (Audio CD)
Having never heard of John Mayer, I thought I would give Continuum a listen. I was so glad I did. With tracks like "I don't trust myself" (with loving you) & slow dancing in a burning room, how is this guy not massive in the UK! I feel it is just a matter of time before the general public hear his wonderful, soulful, bluesy music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars John Mayer, pop/rock anti-hero?, 19 Oct. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Continuum [CD + DVD] (Audio CD)
At his best, John Mayer brings home some great things from the House of Tasteful Blues Guitar, Buttery Vocals and Melodic Choruses, but every now and then he crosses the street and shoplifts from the Predictable Waste of Time and Pop by Numbers Mini-Mart, and doesn't even seem to realise it's a crime.

Praise be then that Continuum is mostly premium Mayer with stand-out tracks I Don't Trust Myself, Vultures and Belief finding a balance between pop and rock (not always perfect bedfellows no matter how nicely they trip off the tongue together) and a sound comparable to Clapton's slick Change the World era. With Stop This Train, he even achieves something truly arresting; beautiful melody and wonderful words.

Like Clapton, the guitar features heavily and there's no mistaking his talent. He's no Hendrix, as his cover of Bold As Love comprehensively attests, but the accompanying DVD shows that he has no shortage of skill, and many versions of the songs make their album equivalents feel suitably bland in comparison.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars John Mayer - Continuum, 17 Oct. 2007
This review is from: Continuum (Audio CD)
Continuum is the 3rd studio release from American singer/songwriter John Mayer, which follows on from 2003's impressive 'Heavier Things'. Mayer's music has evolved somewhat from his earlier offerings of acoustic pop into a more mature blues influenced sound. Songs such as 'Vultures', 'Heart Of Life', and 'Belief' do enough to justify this claim. The majority of the songs on Continuum are slow relaxed numbers, with plenty of melody and act as the perfect pedestal to showcase Mayer's excellent vocal capabilities. Lyrically the album really stands out, none more significantly than 'Waiting On The World To Change', which was played at the recent Live Earth concert, and could not have been a more perfect song for the event's overall message. It's very rare to find an album that you can honestly say every song is truly excellent, basically there are 12 potential singles here and no fillers whatsoever. How John Mayer hasn't become big in the UK yet is beyond me, but with albums like Continuum to his name, I am positive this will soon change. 10/10. Well done John.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Continuum [Revised] [Us Import]
Continuum [Revised] [Us Import] by John Mayer (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews