Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply the best
I read Echoes by Meave Binchy several times and was delighted to see it on DVD. This dvd is a 4 part mini-series. It was so like the book. I almost found myself saying the lines with the actors. I would recommend this dvd to everyone who loves Meave Binchy's work
Published on 21 Dec 2009 by B. Shinnick

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs winding up
Allright if you have a spare couple of hours,because it just rambles on and on.Not one of Maeve Binchy's best books,in my opinion she could take a few lessons from Catherine Cookson as a writer.the casting of Geraldine James as an Irish teacher
was a big mistake,as i'm certain there are many irish actors available with intimate know;edge of how the system works.
Published 22 months ago by Patrick Geraghty


Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply the best, 21 Dec 2009
By 
B. Shinnick "Maeve Fan" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Maeve Binchy: Echoes [DVD] (DVD)
I read Echoes by Meave Binchy several times and was delighted to see it on DVD. This dvd is a 4 part mini-series. It was so like the book. I almost found myself saying the lines with the actors. I would recommend this dvd to everyone who loves Meave Binchy's work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars echoes, 24 Sep 2012
This review is from: Maeve Binchy: Echoes [DVD] (DVD)
good dvd interesting story line good to curl up with on a grey day with a fire going and a mug of tea and bikkies
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 22 Oct 2013
By 
Cloggie Downunder (Australia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Maeve Binchy: Echoes [DVD] (DVD)
Echoes is a 4-episode TV series produced by UK Channel Four, based on the book of the same title by popular Irish author, Maeve Binchy. The atmosphere of 1950's Ireland is well-conveyed, and while some of the acting is a bit wooden, much of it is of excellent quality. The extras include a Maeve Binchy Biography, a bibliography, cast filmographies and a picture gallery. Binchy's novel is faithfully portrayed. Enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just like the book., 28 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maeve Binchy: Echoes [DVD] (DVD)
I am a big Maeve Binchey fan and can't believe I missed this when it was televised. If you love the book you will certainly love this adaptation of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely perfect, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maeve Binchy: Echoes [DVD] (DVD)
The miniseries was executed perfectly in regards to acting, casting, cinematography. Everyone was exactly like I pictured them in the book and the dialogue was almost word for word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I loved this series, 25 Oct 2014
By 
Claire Dolby (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maeve Binchy: Echoes [DVD] (DVD)
I loved this series, it was slow pace, well acted and a lovely story. I really looked forward to the next episode and would definitely watch it a second time. Perfect for a relaxing Sunday evening!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A drop of the old stuff, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maeve Binchy: Echoes [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great mini series and not to be mist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ECHOES, 30 Dec 2013
By 
D. K. Cruickshank "DANNY" (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maeve Binchy: Echoes [DVD] (DVD)
THIS MOVIE WAS SET IN MY FAMILY HOME AND THEY USED THE HOUSE MY DAD USE TO LIVE IN. SET IN DUNMOOR EAST IN SOUTHERN IRELAND. WONDERFUL STORY. I WENT THERE TO SEE THE HOUSE A FEW YEARS BACK AND IT HAS LOVELY MEMORIES FOR ME. RECOMMENDED
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Needs winding up, 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Maeve Binchy: Echoes [DVD] (DVD)
Allright if you have a spare couple of hours,because it just rambles on and on.Not one of Maeve Binchy's best books,in my opinion she could take a few lessons from Catherine Cookson as a writer.the casting of Geraldine James as an Irish teacher
was a big mistake,as i'm certain there are many irish actors available with intimate know;edge of how the system works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Maeve Binchy: Echoes [DVD]
Maeve Binchy: Echoes [DVD] by Barbara Rennie (DVD - 2008)
£8.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews