Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Actor for the Man in the Street....
Johns Mills always showed and radiated dignity, reliability and a certain amount of grace. He was a key actor in wartime that helped boost the moral of everybody. His characters he made his own and remain uniquely him. People of my father's age remember him fondly as being one of their favourite actors.

I bought this set, mainly, for Tiger Bay, one of my...
Published on 24 Mar 2012 by Tim Kidner

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could Have Done Better
I am a John Mills fan and he has made some great movies over a long career. I received the John Mills Centenary Collection II as a birthday gift. Two of my favourite movies of his "The Long Memory" & "The Vicious Circle" are included so it was worth getting for a reasonable price. I had never heard of "Car Of Dreams" and in his first starring role "Forever England". The...
Published on 23 May 2012 by B. T. Davies


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Actor for the Man in the Street...., 24 Mar 2012
By 
Tim Kidner "Hucklebrook Hound" (Salisbury, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: John Mills - Centenary Collection Vol.2 [DVD] (DVD)
Johns Mills always showed and radiated dignity, reliability and a certain amount of grace. He was a key actor in wartime that helped boost the moral of everybody. His characters he made his own and remain uniquely him. People of my father's age remember him fondly as being one of their favourite actors.

I bought this set, mainly, for Tiger Bay, one of my favourite British movies and having lived in Cardiff myself, fascinating to see the old Docks that are no longer there. It's a real thriller, as well as a drama and which also stars his young daughter, Hayley.

CAR OF DREAMS is an early (1935) - and frankly, not particularly good film, branded a musical comedy where Mills plays the son of a musical instrument tycoon and poses as a young chauffeur in order to win the heart of factory worker Vera Hart (Grete Mosheim). Its sense of fun and frippery no doubt resonated a lot stronger back then. Mills sings, but the songs are rather poor. 1.5/5

THE WAY TO THE STARS (1945) is still a very popular WWII flag-waver, about the boys in the RAF and their everyday experiences in love, life and aerial battle. Directed with aplomb by Anthony Asquith it stars a feast of familiar stars of the time; Michael Redgrave, Noel Coward, Trevor Howard and Stanley Holloway plus our man Mills, as the rookie, down-to-earth fighter pilot who brings a sense of balance, a connectivity to the general population. 5/5

THE LONG MEMORY (1952) is a crime thriller, quite gritty and more akin to U.S types, where Jimmy Cagney may have starred. Mills looks slightly odd at ease as the embittered, wrongly jailed/just released lag, who, having been wrongly convicted in court by dodgy evidence given by three witnesses, sets about tracking them down, 12 years later, on his release. On his tail are John McCallum, as the Scotland Yard detective inspector and a newspaper reporter after a coup. Directed by Kind Hearts & Coronets director Robert Hamer, it is rich in locational detail - London's docks and especially Gravesend, where Mills rents an old moored boat on the beach and where he finds an equally strange bed-fellow, Elizabeth Sellers. It's not the easiest of films to watch, the plot quite complex and various people getting quite deep and psychological, especially Mills himself. It's also violent, for the period. For me, the photography and locations are the stars. 3.5/5

ABOVE US THE WAVES (1955) tries to do for submariners what The Way to the Stars did for the airforce. Claustrophobic and stifled by lots of starchy stiff-upper-lip dialogue rather than action, it's a bit disappointing. Great if you want to know the ins and outs of the preparation needed to launch a secret underwater attack on the German battleship 'Tirpitz', that's behind a mined harbour entrance. Using miniature submarines the team, that includes Donald Sinden, John Gregson and James Robertson-Justice (posh accents personified!) finally get the film going and it's good when the mission gets under way. Mills plays the Commander. 3/5

FOREVER ENGLAND (1935) is based on C S Forester's novel about the Great War and was the first film to have full co-operation from the Royal Navy, meaning technical advisors and ships, giving it a whole new dimension. The first 20 mins are slow and it only lasts for an hour beyond that, but once aboard it's good comradeship and banter aboard HMS Rutland. Torpedoed, the Rutland goes down and the German battleship Zeithen picks up survivors. Mills, as able seaman Albert Brown, escapes and the film charts his adventures. This movie looks fairly vintage now, the SFX looking like gaping mistakes but the fresh-faced Mills is bright, breezy and amiable and it must have been a breath of fresh air at the time plus it gets quite exciting when pushed to its limits. Now, it hardly passes muster as a war film of significance but remains watchable and it's good to see an early defining role for our hero Mills. 3/5

THE VICIOUS CIRCLE (1957) is a twisting Hitckockian picture, where Mills is a GP of some standing and gets embroiled in murder, blackmail and intrigue, all leading to an organised passport forging racket. It's good, but not brilliant and shot in moody, atmospheric black & white (all films in the set are monochrome - and 4:3 ratio) and Mills plays his part well and efficiently. There's distinguished support from Lionel Jeffries, Mervyn Johns and one of my favourites, Wilfred Hyde White, whilst we see quite a lot of Roland Culver as the Inspector. Good, if you enjoy such yarns, but it's not exactly memorable, or outstanding. 3.5/5

TIGER BAY (1959) is named after the area that is now Cardiff Bay and features Mills' daughter Hayley's first performance, as she witnesses a Polish sailor shooting dead an unfaithful girlfriend and in her awe and panic the lonely 12 year old takes the gun, with which she can impresses her playmates with. Hayley is very impressive, with that wide eyed wonder look she eschews and her Dad is the superintendent who pursues the case. But, it's the background characters and locations that add authenticity and grit and so making it more than the average 'kid & killer' chase movie. The murderer and child go on to form a strange bond as he drags her round the sights and sounds of the bustling Docks, whilst the police close in, leading to a nail-biting climax. This remains one of my favourite films and why I bought the box set. 5/5

I already had Ryan's Daughter, as that is also a firm favourite of mine, so its exclusion that some reviewers have commented on, doesn't affect me.

The set is nicely laid out and the quality of the transfers good. It has a chunky fold-out design and is well packaged, offering good value. It makes a nice gift to someone, or indeed, for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could Have Done Better, 23 May 2012
By 
B. T. Davies (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: John Mills - Centenary Collection Vol.2 [DVD] (DVD)
I am a John Mills fan and he has made some great movies over a long career. I received the John Mills Centenary Collection II as a birthday gift. Two of my favourite movies of his "The Long Memory" & "The Vicious Circle" are included so it was worth getting for a reasonable price. I had never heard of "Car Of Dreams" and in his first starring role "Forever England". The latter could have been left in the vaults unless you are a die hard fan. As soon as I saw the letters ITV on the box I was worried that they may be the copies of the movies that have been shown on TV over the decades and not remastered versions. I have only viewed "The Vicious Circle" as of this review and it does not look like a remastered version to me so I don't hold out any hope that the others are. I cannot understand why a company would go to all the trouble of transferring the movies to DVD and presenting them in a quality box but not remaster them. I may be wrong about the remastering but on viewing one DVD I can only give the collection 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great selection, 4 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Mills - Centenary Collection Vol.2 [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my mothers birthday. Someone had previously bought her vol.1 and we'd been a bit disappointed by the selection of films they'd included. (There seemed some odd choices amongst some great films of his.) This second volume includes some more favourites as well as some very early Mills films that we weren't familiar with. If you're a fan of John Mills and old British B&W movies this is a great addition to your collection at a good price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic trip down memory lane., 12 April 2009
By 
S. Turnbull (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: John Mills - Centenary Collection Vol.2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the second centenary collection of John Mill's finest films.It shows just what a versatile actor this magnificent performer was.This collection spans the years 1935 with 'Car of Dreams' to his Oscar winning 1970 performance in 'Ryan's Daughter.If you are a fan of classic British films or just a John Mill's fan, you will not be disappointed.
Contains English subtitles for the HOH.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Mills Must Have!, 31 Dec 2013
By 
Juan Carlos Mateo (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Mills - Centenary Collection Vol.2 [DVD] (DVD)
He did some very memorable films which are very worth buying and watching any time. Very under rated actor. Watch them and enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great actor, 28 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Mills - Centenary Collection Vol.2 [DVD] (DVD)
John mills
Brilliant actor
Not much else to say !
But have to write more, if you like john mills then get this if not there is something wrong with you !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Mills Centenary Collection Vol. 2 [DVD], 23 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Mills - Centenary Collection Vol.2 [DVD] (DVD)
Following on from Vol.1, this is the ultimate John Mills' experience; entertainment to satisfy for a long time to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great British actor!, 17 April 2012
By 
J. Osborne (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Mills - Centenary Collection Vol.2 [DVD] (DVD)
This is a collection of a few of the films in which John Mills appeared and/or starred. John Mills never disappoints and this collection is no exception. He appeared in many war films, but brings new dimensions of intensity to his acting in 'The Long Memory' and 'The Vicious Circle'. A good buy for all John Mills fans and for everyone else too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars John Mills "The Centenary Collection "2, 31 Mar 2011
This review is from: John Mills - Centenary Collection Vol.2 [DVD] (DVD)
Very dissapointed in that Ryans Daughter was not is this set althought it clearly stated it was one of the films in the set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad subtitling, 3 Jan 2014
By 
A. Baker "Gruffyground" (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: John Mills - Centenary Collection Vol.2 [DVD] (DVD)
Something needs to be done about the subtitling (for, as the French would say, 'sourds et malendants') of Hamer's THE LONG MEMORY in this set. When John McCallum's Inspector tells his wife that 'injustice has been done', the subtitle turns this, absurdly, to 'justice has been done'. Equally nonsensical in terms of the plot is John Mills's return to his hulk on the mudflats, to be told by Eva Bergh about a 'man who wanted to see you' - which in the subtitle becomes 'the man you wanted to see'. One begins to wonder if the subtitler was 'sourd ou malendant' himself. (For a better transfer all round, go - if your player is multi-region - to the region 1 Rank Ccllection LONG MEMORY.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

John Mills - Centenary Collection Vol.2 [DVD]
17.63
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews