Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Nesbitt is England's 'Enemy Of The State.'
I watched this 3 part mini series at a friends house last night, liked it that much so I bought it on DVD this morning.

James Nesbitt stars in this excellent thriller which bares a slight resemblence to the film 'Enemy Of The State.'

As it says on the box "This will definately have you on the edge of your seat".

Nesbitt plays Max Raban a...
Published on 6 Jun 2008 by Lee Thomas

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK
My British drama of choice is normally stuff filmed in the 70s, 80s and 90s.

After watching the first few minutes of this I remembered why - a bullet in the head and blood all over - older dramas could still portray a death without showing the gory details but still retain the impact of the scene.

Anyway regardless of this it's quite a good...
Published 19 months ago by Mr. P. Fixter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars James Nesbitt is England's 'Enemy Of The State.', 6 Jun 2008
By 
Lee Thomas (South Tyneside, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Midnight Man [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this 3 part mini series at a friends house last night, liked it that much so I bought it on DVD this morning.

James Nesbitt stars in this excellent thriller which bares a slight resemblence to the film 'Enemy Of The State.'

As it says on the box "This will definately have you on the edge of your seat".

Nesbitt plays Max Raban a disgraced journalist who is reduced to looking through the bins of famous people to find juicy stories, just so he can make ends meet. His phobia of crowds in the daytime forces him to work at night, hence the title 'Midnight Man'.

He is unliked by his old colleagues because they think of him as a paranoid person who is not to be trusted. Then one day Max finds himself drawn into a murder case involving a cover-up by the government. He becomes a hunted man as he begins a personal crusade to find the proof he needs to expose the truth to the public.

This 3 part thriller is extremely well written, directed and edited, giving the whole series a fast pace. Even the slower dialogue scenes are gripping. And also, because it is so well produced, it can seem at times like you're watching a big budget film.

The acting is superb by everyone in it (this is actually believe it or not, the first thing I've ever watched James Nesbitt in) and already I rate him as a top actor. He gives an exceptional performance of a lonely, unpopular and troubled man. Reece Dinsdale is also very convincing as a cold blooded man who kills and orders others to kill. And he's actually very frightening.

All in all this is a great mini series, (which although borrows little bits from the aforementioned film 'Enemy Of The State') it has a great story and plenty of originality and twists, that makes you want to see the next episode as soon as you've watched the previous one.

Actually, thinking about it, this is probably the only gripe I have against this DVD release. The whole show lasts around 2 hours 15 minutes. For the DVD I'd have thought it would have been better to edit the 3 parts into a feature length film. They have however cut off the 'Last Week on...' bits so you don't have to sit through a recap of the previous episode.

There are also no extra features sadly.

But apart from that, I'd recommend you buy this. You wouln't be disappointed!

Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 28 Oct 2008
By 
RD - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Midnight Man [DVD] (DVD)
This is what we pay tv licences for! Not sure how I managed to miss seeing this on tele but am certainly glad I took a chance and rented it out.
James Nesbitt's acting is first class and I really started to empathise and get attached to his character with all his annoying habits.
The storyline is also very relevant to todays culture of fear, blame and hatred.
Without giving too much away 'The Midnight Man' is about Max, a washed out reporter who is afraid of leaving his house during daylight hours. He remains tied to the world of journalism by rumaging through (famous) peoples rubbish for secrets. One day he stumbles across a piece of paper which holds clues to the death of a local British man of Iranian origin. He feels there is a greater conspiracy around the death and begins to investigate with deadly consequences.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the midnight man, 26 Jun 2008
By 
J. D. Corner "tv king" (bury, lancs, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Midnight Man [DVD] (DVD)
has to be one of the best tv drama`s released this year; James Nesbitt back to his suplime best providing a believable storyline of a down on his luck newspaper reporter who has experienced life at its worst; his friends, family and colleagues have disowned him, his only love coming from his daughter; his dealings with his phobia are interesting to say the least, it keeps you on the edge of your seat from start to finish.

this is tv drama at its very best ........... a must for all tv drama adicts; a must for James Nesbitt`s fans; and i like others who viewed on the smaller screen aim to purchase on dvd ........ very soon !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's OK, 5 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. P. Fixter (Wakefield, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Midnight Man [DVD] (DVD)
My British drama of choice is normally stuff filmed in the 70s, 80s and 90s.

After watching the first few minutes of this I remembered why - a bullet in the head and blood all over - older dramas could still portray a death without showing the gory details but still retain the impact of the scene.

Anyway regardless of this it's quite a good storyline, but there are bits where the story moves on far too quickly, which causes some loss of reality. But at the end of the day it's fiction, not fact.

So in summary it's OK, but I'll tend to go back to my post 1970/pre 1999 stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nesbitt delivers again, 23 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: Midnight Man [DVD] (DVD)
This one must've snuck under the radar on TV. I bought it because James Nesbitt rarely lets you down and this show is no different. Don't get me wrong, it's not the best conspiracy drama you'll ever see. But if you've got a couple of hours free, it's well worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Midnight Man not dark enough., 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight Man [DVD] (DVD)
Plot a wee bit thin and predictable for my taste. Nesbitt does well with a light-weight script , supportinhg cast OK , but not a series in my top 10!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Public Eye revisited, 18 Nov 2010
This review is from: Midnight Man [DVD] (DVD)
In this mini series James Nesbitt is reminicent of Garner in Rockford Files or perhaps the down-at-heel private eye Frank Marker in the 65-75 Thames TV drama series. Nesbitt as Max Raban cannot go outside during daylight hours, he must trust no-one, all the world is against him - the usual anti-hero fare. The story clicks along quite well and keeps viewer interest. The events timeline is suspect - maybe rushed editing? The scene where the hitman tracks him and they meet on the top deck of the bus pushes credence out of the solar system. But, that's entertainment. I'm pleased with the DVD, glad I bought it and will watch it again I'm sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Gritty britflick drama, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight Man [DVD] (DVD)
About a discredited Journalist who investigates a Story but is unable to go out unless it's nighttime. Quite well done.Far from brilliant but worth a view if you have seen everything else or almost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Suspenseful, 17 Feb 2010
By 
B. Addie "needle newby" (australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Midnight Man [DVD] (DVD)
The storyline is intriguing. Who to trust etc. Surprising events that left me gasping.
James Nesbitt is brilliant as usual. Not much dialogue but the mood and settings
set the pace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Very bad!, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Midnight Man [DVD] (DVD)
Am a big fan of British series. That is why this purchase was a real disappointment. "Midnight Man" is just....bad! Bad script, bad acting. I cannot understand the positive review.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Midnight Man [DVD]
Midnight Man [DVD] by David Drury (DVD - 2008)
£6.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews