Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Killer dreams
!!!WARNING-MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS!!!
Claire Parker(Lauren Currie Lewis) finishes her shift at the gas station and waits for her boyfriend Jimmy(Cody Darbe) to pick her up. However, a strange man called Duke(Chris Ferry) arrives in Jimmy's truck, telling Claire that her boyfriends been held up and that he'll take her home. He then proceeds to do so, and when they get...
Published on 20 Dec 2008 by Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good idea - disappointing result
The initial idea here is simple but effective. But poor film-making, below par acting and a shakey conclusion make this ultimately rather second rate. The lead actress is acceptable but some horribly hammy supporting performances let her down. That coupled with very dull direction are the films main flaws. The villain - Duke - is completely unconvincing despite...
Published on 12 Sep 2008 by mark68068


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Killer dreams, 20 Dec 2008
By 
Mr. Jonathon T. Beckett "vampire lover" (Dracula's Crypt) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gruesome [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
!!!WARNING-MAY CONTAIN SPOILERS!!!
Claire Parker(Lauren Currie Lewis) finishes her shift at the gas station and waits for her boyfriend Jimmy(Cody Darbe) to pick her up. However, a strange man called Duke(Chris Ferry) arrives in Jimmy's truck, telling Claire that her boyfriends been held up and that he'll take her home. He then proceeds to do so, and when they get there Duke breaks into the house and brutally murders Claire. Then Claire wakes up back at the gas station, and this time Jimmy picks her up. However, she keeps glimpsing strange figures in the landscape, and Duke keeps popping up to torment her and she relives the same horrors over and over again. Is Claire going mad, or are there sinister powers taking hold of her?
This starts off as very routine slasher fare, but please bear with it, as it leads you down a very twisty path indeed. A kind of cross between Groundhog Day and Carnival Of Souls, this excellent little horror probably gives its audience one twist too many, but its intentions to intrigue and tantalise the audience are admirable.
One modern horror that is very similair to this is 'Dark Corners' starring Thora Birch, but the two films are very stylistically different, and both unique in their own ways.
A very interesting modern horror that attempts to take the slasher genre in new unexpected directions. Very enjoyable. 4 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gruesome, 7 Nov 2008
By 
J. Blair "Blair" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gruesome [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent low budget flick which kept me on the edge of my seat right to the end. Really liked the effective use of music to keep the tension and weirdness going. Not really the horror gore fest I was expecting, but turned out to be much more.
Give it a try if you want something different.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Good idea - disappointing result, 12 Sep 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gruesome [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
The initial idea here is simple but effective. But poor film-making, below par acting and a shakey conclusion make this ultimately rather second rate. The lead actress is acceptable but some horribly hammy supporting performances let her down. That coupled with very dull direction are the films main flaws. The villain - Duke - is completely unconvincing despite opportunities to make him a seriously worrying monster. Some choice pieces of gore make this more horror than thriller but it lacks the scare factor required to make it work. Perhaps worth a look but very unmemorable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No Horror Film, 7 July 2008
By 
Fordy Finn "Agent Finn" (Sheffield, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gruesome [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
I dont see as this can be classed as a horror film. More like a cheap thriller. The reason I gave it 2 stars is because it kept me watcing up until the end. I dont know what I can say about this movie the only word I keep coming up with is weird! If you're after blood, guts & gore stay clear there isnt any. If you want mind games & a sprinkle of 'spooky stuff' then give it a go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb...but gore fans may be disappointed!, 8 Jun 2008
By 
D. B. HALLETT "My first review!" (Somerset, England, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gruesome [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a fantastic little indie flick made with a miniscule budget (less than $10,000) that puts most modern day horror fare to shame. I would like to point out that this film was originally called 'SALVAGE' in the U.S. and appears to have been horribly repackaged and re-named for the U.K. release in a lame attempt to appeal to gorehounds and fans of torture porn. As the previous reviewer mentioned there is very little gore in this film, it really isn't that kind of film, it relies on a tight story, great performances, mounting tension and a fantastic twist ending.

I cant recommend this film enough but beware those looking for Hostel part 3 may be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly original horror, 16 May 2008
This review is from: Gruesome [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
This effectively chilling low-budget horror really offers something diffrenet from the run of the mil stalk and slash fare. The story centres around a distressed teen who's hunted down and killed by a madman - the real horror is that the girl re-lives her own murder again and again, each time more horrifying than the last. The reason the film works so well is because of the stellar lead performance from Lauren Currie Lewis who is outstanding as the helpless victim who struggles to work out just what's happening to her. With a much higher dose of mail-biting tension rather than explicit gore (although the face-cutting scene proved a difficult watch!) Gruesome is a breath of fresh air into a largely stagnant genre. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gruesome [2006] [DVD]
Gruesome [2006] [DVD] by Josh Crook (DVD - 2008)
14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews