Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful piece of Romanian art-house, especially for lesbians
I don't write that many reviews, but I felt compelled to write a review of this, as my opinion of Love Sick is so different from that of many other readers. I thoroughly enjoyed it, and have watched it several times.

A lot of people have complained about the film being in Romanian with English subtitles. Well, what's wrong with that? The clue is in the...
Published 19 months ago by Alison L

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star
Still sealed as it's not in English.
Published 19 days ago by Kelly


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful piece of Romanian art-house, especially for lesbians, 14 Oct. 2013
By 
Alison L (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Sick [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
I don't write that many reviews, but I felt compelled to write a review of this, as my opinion of Love Sick is so different from that of many other readers. I thoroughly enjoyed it, and have watched it several times.

A lot of people have complained about the film being in Romanian with English subtitles. Well, what's wrong with that? The clue is in the description: it's a ROMANIAN film! Why shouldn't they use their language? And if you don't speak Romanian, which most English people don't, here's a chance to hear it, while reading the subtitles. How lazy do you have to be not to want to read subtitles?

As for the storyline, two girls, Kiki and Alex, fall in love. The girls are very different in character, and also in background. The sassy, feisty, and very beautiful Kiki, comes from a middle-class, academic background. Alex, on the other hands, is quieter, and her parents run a farm. I found it fascinating to see something I hadn't witnessed before, class differences in Romania.

Things are further complicated by Kiki's brother, with whom she is having incestuous sex. Naturally, this causes tension between the girls.

Although the characters are well-acted by both girls, my favourite has to be Kiki, played by Maria Popistasu. Some viewers might remember her as Vara in the excellent drama Sex Traffic, some years ago now. She also appeared in a drama aout Mary Queen of Scots, as one the the Queen's ladies in waiting. But I have never seen her in a poll of sexy gay women (or women who play gay characters), which I find surprising.

So if you only want to watch a really mainstream movie, in English, with no scary subtitles, give this a miss. On the other hand, if you don't mind watching something a bit different, and find the idea of another culture and language appealing, give this a go. And - did I say this before? - Maria Popistasu is well worth drooling over!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of art., 17 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Sick [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
A really strange and twisted film that examines the depths of the darker levels of human emotion, relationships, fear and desire. It has a dark sense of humour and will leave you thinking about it for a few days after watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 3 May 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Sick [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Still sealed as it's not in English.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant :), 22 Feb. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Sick [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
It wasn't how I imagined, It was better than the trailer makes out :D

I can't really remember the ending, but it was rather beautiful.
A must see for lesbians too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No comprende', 12 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Sick [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
Can not give this one a review as i was never able to watch it as it is not in English! Let me know if you want it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, 5 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Sick [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
it was rubbish, was not in English with subtitles total waste of money.

If you are looking at this DVD and wondering.. don't do it. your be very disapointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 24 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars LOVE SICK, 9 Oct. 2009
By 
C. E. Pheiffer (SOUTH AFRICA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Love Sick [2006] [DVD] (DVD)
VERY VERY SLOW AND IF YOU ARE ENGLISH ONLY HAS SUBTILES TO GO ON NOT HAPPY WITH WITH THE PRODUCT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Love Sick [2006] [DVD]
Love Sick [2006] [DVD] by Tudor Giurgiu (DVD - 2008)
£4.50
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews