Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A most excellent sprawling epic of a film
There is a fashion at present to make films that go on and on and on. There are example where this expanse is used to good effect, such as the Lord of the Rings films and the opposite, such as the latter Pirates of the Carrebean films. This is an early example of a long film and it pulls it off with a swagger.

The second in a trilogy of films made by the late...
Published on 16 May 2008 by Mr. C. J. Iredale

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dated and without any sense.
Perhaps being only 18 years old I am too young to 'Truly understand' this film. Although I understand that the film aimed to take a jab at capitalism I felt that as a whole it had no real sense of direction or movement.

There are points in a film where 'the plot thickens' for example the car crash which involved the two dogdy police officers seemed as though it...
Published on 19 Jun 2012 by Ecky Carlyle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A most excellent sprawling epic of a film, 16 May 2008
By 
Mr. C. J. Iredale "juxtapose" (London Town) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: O Lucky Man! [DVD] (DVD)
There is a fashion at present to make films that go on and on and on. There are example where this expanse is used to good effect, such as the Lord of the Rings films and the opposite, such as the latter Pirates of the Carrebean films. This is an early example of a long film and it pulls it off with a swagger.

The second in a trilogy of films made by the late great Lindsey Anderson, O Lucky Man plots (albeit somewhat surrealistically) the progressions through life in the early 1970s (this was made in 1973, and boy, does it look it!); it is almost a kind of Pilgrim's Progress/ Road to Damascus tale, and is highly entertaining. Some have said they felt it flagged towards the end; I question whether the film flags or the viewer, as it is nearly 3 hours long, but to edit it would be to ruin it. It's sprawling aspect is one of it's selling points.

It has many stars other than the wonderful Malcolm MdDowell, such as Arthur Lowe, Jeremy Bulloch and Helen Mirren. The music is supplied by Alan Price and he also stars in the film as the leader of the band who supply the music to the film. At points still shocking (a rare thing for a film so old), at others laugh out loud funny and at others hard to fathom, this is a treat for anyone who likes the slightly odd, cult films from this period or the open minded.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A labyrinthine odyssey!, 19 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: O Lucky Man! [VHS] (VHS Tape)
'O Lucky Man!', despite its three hours plus duration, is a marvellously entertaining, episodic odyssey in a (lucky! ) young man's career as a coffee salesman. Loosely a follow-up to director Lindsay Anderson's 'If', 'O Lucky Man' is a flawed, but extremely involving movie that features several stellar performances. Malcolm McDowall is at his wide-eyed best as the innocent abroad, whilst English character actor Arthur Lowe (Captain Mainwaring in 'Dad's Army') excels in several different roles - most notably in blackface drag as 'Doctor Munda'. There's also a great score by Alan Price, who contributes the classic 'Poor People' - an underrated act in himself. Stick with it, and 'O Lucky Man' is intensely rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An enduring classic now with added nostalgia, 23 Nov 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: O Lucky Man! [DVD] (DVD)
Voltairian oddysey, road movie, surrealist fantasy, anti-capitalist satire, this world class British film is all of these and of course, more. Helped by 35 years of nostalgia for the way things were before the press decided to become public judges, much of what is lambasted by dir. Anderson here looks familiar because of what we know from the papers and the TV. The general themes here of ruthless ambition, class distinction, plutocracy v poverty, institutionalised corruption and greed, and obviously hypocrisy, are probably better known now to a wiser, more cynical public. Of course Anderson did his bit with this great film to try and make it better known. This bold critique on the wiley old ways of the world looks as relevant now as it did then. The vices pilloried here are still with us, and the themes are still relevant. Of course the depiction here is fantastical but that's what makes this film a great piece of art.

Some elements of the film do look very clanky now, the use of sub-titles and old film clips, for example, and one or two scenes look very much of the day, but this is a clever and rakingly ambitious film, and even satirises film making in one passage. It rounds off his previous satire very well, and perhaps just as importantly now to a nostalgia loving British public, it records some memorable aspects of life before The Age of PC, and has some damn fine actors in their prime. McDowell is amazing once again, perfect for the role, with his everyman looks and personalty, and the ever gorgeous Helen Mirren is stunningly sexy and youthful looking here. Add the decent, very English score from The Alan Price Set and what you have is an enduring masterpiece of real old fashioned film making. Magnif!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent film, completing the availability of the trilogy on DVD, 29 Dec 2007
By 
Django (Chesterfield) - See all my reviews
Posting this because I think the other comment is misleading. Do not be put off by the comment that it is is cut, it is definitely not cut - this is the 178 minute uncut version - the print is split over the two discs, disc 1 having the first 87 mins and disc 2 having a further 90 mins. In all it's an excellent presentation of the film and if/when it's released on R2 I would expect the presentation to be similar if not the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars compelling, 27 Jan 2006
This review is from: O Lucky Man! [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I watched this film in the 70's and was completely captivated. It has a sureal context,not being obvious at first.However once realised, and you get into the flow,it is a ride you really enjoy.
It is full of subliminal nuances that stand out after each veiwing leaving the veiwer debating over what means what.
The plot is going somwhere but never gets there, purposly going off on a plethora of diferent tangents.The black comedy is intellegent and captivating.
I just love the scene where Travis is being interrogated,(strapped to a chair) and is screaming at being electrocuted and then the lady with the tea trolley (Dandy Nichols)casually comes in serving tea and biscuits and interupting the interrogation she says casually to the inquisitors Er!whould the young man like a cup of tea too ?
and just as casual they look at each other and say er...perhaps Later!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally!, 12 April 2008
By 
simonpeggfan (Maidenhead UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: O Lucky Man! [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD format is 10 years old - and finally we're getting a release of this, following on from Paramount's release of If... and the age-old release from Cinema Club of Britannia Hospital we can have a complete Mick Travis collection :-)

Of the trilogy of Anderson's films I find this (the middle work) the oddest, and the possibly the best - but it's so hard to judge between masterpieces.

The film follows Mick Travis (Malcolm McDowell) and his surreal adventure through '70s England along with the Alan Price's band that provide the music commentaries in the traditions of a Greek Chorus.
O Lucky Man! is simply one vast, weird, intelligent and funny movie. It provides some great food for thought on survival-of-the-fittest style capitalism, through Mick Travis's increasingly unexpected adventures

O Lucky Man! deserves to be recognized as one of the great films of the 1970s, and perhaps of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A towering film, 5 Dec 2011
By 
Julie D (Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: O Lucky Man! [DVD] (DVD)
'O Lucky Man!' is my favourite film to date. It is as relevant today - if not more so - than when it was produced as its themes are universal. It is a filmic cross between Fielding's 'Tom Jones' and Voltaire's 'Candide'. By turns it is joyful and depressing. The main protagonist, Mick Travis played by Malcolm McDowell, is a truly good man. There are times in this film when he does truly good things selflessly in the interest of helping his fellow men and women. There are times when he's motivated largely out of self interest and what's in it for him. Just like real life. McDowell puts in a performance which suggests that he understands Mick Travis inside out - after all, the film was based on an idea suggested by the actor himself - and in part this may be what raises 'O Lucky Man!' as a film above so many other of its contemporaries. Undoubtedly Lindsay Anderson was a brilliant alchemist who knew precisely which ingredients to use to elevate a film to lofty heights and leave it there years later in your imaginings. He continually resorts to a select cast of actors who are stupendously good at their craft. He uses them again and again; they appear, for example, in 'If' and in 'Britannia Hospital', other films from the period both well worth watching. I first saw 'O Lucky Man!' on late night telly when I was sixteen or seventeen. I understood the point of it then but to be honest, I don't think I really bought into the concept. I liked the youthful feel of the piece and I certainly liked the way McDowell looked and his challenging, rather chippy stares. I yearned for some kind of female equivalent of the gold lurex suit worn by Travis. There were loads of things I liked a lot about 'O Lucky Man!' But it never, ever, occured to me that the truth it sought to advance could really be true - that is to say, truly and sadly it kind of matters not how one behaves and what you put into life ain't necessarily going to equate to what you get out. We are buffeted by fortune. We can influence things - but not completely. There is always a self serving pantomime villain just around the corner out to trip us up no matter how great a human being we try to be. And Travis tries. He tries very hard and is still trying after life has chewed him up, spit him out and stomped all over the remnants. It is no coincidence that the pinnacle of Mick Travis' success - being plucked for stardom from a sea of young hopefuls by Anderson playing himself - comes in such close proximity to his lowest moment when he is stripped of all possessions, hope and dignity. Now, at fifty, I can both understand and buy into the premise of this film in a way it was impossible for me to do as a teenager. The truths of 'O Lucky Man!' have grown with me. This is not a sad thing - just a life thing. I should say that the Alan Price soundtrack is very good. It does what it ought to do and adds to the film. It reminds me somehow of the wordy introductions to chapters that were a device of early novelists and this increases the sense that we've fallen into a vehicle of Fielding's or Voltaire's. It also performs a then extremely contemporary function as it seems to mimic the device that was coming through in literature of the 1960s of continually bringing the audience up sharp with the fact that this is just a work of art, nothing more, so don't get too sucked into the fantasy. That really is a bag of popcorn on your lap and you are just the audience, the actors mere shades. The two devices from different ages are strangely similar I find. Do not be daunted by the length of this film - you will not feel it. I say this as one who was dragged to watch the also very long 'Titanic' - and I felt every second of that for sure. There is nothing dour about 'O Lucky Man!'. Some of it is quite funny and the overall tone is upbeat - even when perhaps it shouldn't be as Travis fails to realise the fatalistic nature of things. The satisfying thing is that the audience is never in any doubt who is bad and precisely why they are so - in a sense, Travis is vindicated by our gaze time and again as the film progresses even if the character himself is unknowing. Don't be fooled into thinking 'O Lucky Man!' is a kind of highbrow Benny Hill. It isn't. The 'chocolate sandwich' scene is brief and has the air of irony about it. Anderson and all involved with the film were likely as aware as anyone that the film emerged at a time when the tectonic plates of society were on the move and phrases and attitudes such as this had begun to shift radically. The one quibble I have with this version is that it's split across the two discs included in the set but it may well have been over long to fit on a single disc and this is a trifling point. Treat it as an interval and make refreshments. 'O Lucky Man!' is worth buying. It will make you think. The film's ending even foreshadows the cult of celebrity that has cast its spell over the society we now inhabit. I'd say it's a great work of art. Astonishingly, when I first saw it there were no videos. Now in this great democratic culture you can own it and play it on your own wide screen TV in that front room of yours. So things didn't turn out too badly after all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you have friend on whom you think you can rely- You are a lucky man, 4 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: O Lucky Man! [DVD] (DVD)
I must say that the other refreshing customer reviews do more than this film justice.I have read many reviews by film critics who have hardly had a good word to say about O Lucky Man, so it comes as a pleasant and welcome surprise to read about what I always thought was and is a splendid and underrated piece of British cinema.This has to be one of my favourite films of all time and I really can't add more to what other reviewers have said and described but just to say thank you for restoring my faith in the fact that I thought it was only me who found this Lindsay Anderson gem of a film together with Alan Price's music score to be a delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars O Lucky Purchaser!, 9 July 2009
By 
Adam Hodgkins "sixandnine" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: O Lucky Man! [DVD] (DVD)
Somewhat overshadowed by the, admittedly fantastic 'If....', this one is often overlooked as the gem it truly is. Less tight than 'If....' and certainly longer, it's a peculiarly British take on Godardian politics and sentiment. Think 'Weekend' but with a travelling salesman in a dreary 70's British north to south landscape. However, dreary the film is not, with plenty of quirk, humour and hippy colour. Great soundtrack too, neatly incorporated into the film. At this price you'd be daft not to engage in a little capitalism!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - but still missing scenes, 23 May 2008
By 
J. R. Kerr "raekerr" (Livingston, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: O Lucky Man! [DVD] (DVD)
Towards the end of the excellent commentary on the second DVD, Alan Price mentions that people who see this film in their early adulthood often say it fundementally changed their outlook on life - I have to agree because, well, I was that soldier. This film is a truely remarkable piece of work and somehow manages to rise completly above it's seventies origins and seem even more relevant more than 30 years on. Disturbingly the film's exaggerated and satirically ruthless businessmen and government officials, complete with dirty arms deals etc, who use Travis throughout the film now seem entirely plausible. The only small disappointment is that despite the lengthy running time the film is still missing a few minutes halfway through, a scene where Travis stays the night at Sir James house and tests his authority by ordering champagne from the butler before having to take instruction from Sir James who has retired to bed. It doesn't add much, but as Travis also phones Patricia in the sequence, and there is a revised version of "Poor People" playing on the soundtrack, it is a shame it could not be included with two discs worth of space to play with. Incidentally, this scene was shown on the BBC broadcast in the early eighties and also appears in the script of the film published in book form - check it out if you doubt me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

O Lucky Man! [DVD]
O Lucky Man! [DVD] by Lindsay Anderson (DVD - 2008)
Used & New from: 18.73
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews