Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's not what it *is*, but what it lets you *do* that's important.
Ok, on it's own this is a pretty boring kit. You can't make anything with this set, but that's not the point of it.

This set however, allows you to augment your existing models, and add some motion to them. There are also LEDs, and a selection of useful gears (including a clutch, to stop you burning out the motor... it's the White one) and the regular motor...
Published on 17 Aug 2011 by M. Dexter

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lego Technics power set
The product was ok but was a little deceived by what it was going to do with the formula 1 technics set we have. We thought it would make the set mobile but only made spoiler and engine canopy go up and down. Another power unit is needed to make car move. The packaging was also damaged on receipt but no damage to the product.
Published 4 months ago by Andy04


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's not what it *is*, but what it lets you *do* that's important., 17 Aug 2011
By 
M. Dexter (Sheffield, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Technic 8293: Power Functions Motor Set (Toy)
Ok, on it's own this is a pretty boring kit. You can't make anything with this set, but that's not the point of it.

This set however, allows you to augment your existing models, and add some motion to them. There are also LEDs, and a selection of useful gears (including a clutch, to stop you burning out the motor... it's the White one) and the regular motor (not the large motor), with a switch. I used this kit to add motion to the LEGO Technic 8265 Front Loader, but you really are only limited by your imagination. I think that this kit has excellent potential to aid a child's learning too- working out gearing and routing the wiring are great practical problems, and the fact that there are plenty of 'anchoring points' on the battery box, motor, switch, etc means that it will fit with any model you've made.

A great addition to your existing Lego- or bought with another kit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LEGO Technic 8293 Power Functions Motor Set, 17 Oct 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Technic 8293: Power Functions Motor Set (Toy)
My Grandson was really pleased with the motor. He can now motorize the models he makes. Product arrived promptly and was well packaged for protection during transit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars versatile motor, 30 Jan 2011
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Technic 8293: Power Functions Motor Set (Toy)
At first disappointed that it did not fit directly into all Lego Technic models, as I was given to believe by the staff at the toy store. My son, at first was a bit upset by this also, then it sparked his creative, analytical side. We could see the potential for so many building opportunities. So, overall we were pleased. However, I will reiterate, that it was false advertising to give the impression that this motor could easily be fitted to any of the 'Technic' range of models, as I was made to believe. Also, no info came with the motor, so I had to go online. Great advances in Lego ingenuity though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars LEGO Motor Kit, 30 Dec 2009
By 
Graham W. Timbrell (lancashire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Technic 8293: Power Functions Motor Set (Toy)
Bought for a 7 year old who is becoming quite adept at building lego articles . His first attempt using the motor kit was a trike with reversing lever , and was great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars feb, 27 Oct 2009
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Technic 8293: Power Functions Motor Set (Toy)
power motor was just what I needed for my lego technic...makes it move and light up..great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Power up your creations, 4 Jan 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: LEGO Technic 8293: Power Functions Motor Set (Toy)
This is a great set that includes a battery box, switch, motor, lights and a small bag of accessories including gears, axles etc. The motor certainly has enough power for what I need, the connection of the lego pieces on the end of the wires to points on each other and the battery box are very strong and won't come loose. This set was perfect for bringing life to my fully automatic lego M249 SAW rubberband gun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but could be better, 10 Jan 2012
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Technic 8293: Power Functions Motor Set (Toy)
Our 9 year old was very excited at being able to get his Lego moving by itself, however, this product should have come with more detailed and clearer instructions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 46 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh no I had to give Lego only 4 stars!, 8 Jan 2010
By 
R. Wesson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Technic 8293: Power Functions Motor Set (Toy)
I got this for my kids to make it even more interesting and the motors and lights are so much better than my old motors and lights. You get what you see in the picture but if you don't know the white cog (clutch) is special in that is slips when you apply to much pressure so no more stalled motors or broken cog teeth! The reason for the 4 stars is the battery pack, you need a tool to remove the last battery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Lego Technics power set, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Technic 8293: Power Functions Motor Set (Toy)
The product was ok but was a little deceived by what it was going to do with the formula 1 technics set we have. We thought it would make the set mobile but only made spoiler and engine canopy go up and down. Another power unit is needed to make car move. The packaging was also damaged on receipt but no damage to the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lego power motor, 23 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: LEGO Technic 8293: Power Functions Motor Set (Toy)
Bought with the Lego excavator, well worth adding on, as it makes the excavator into something special. Would definitely buy more of these when buying compatible Lego sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews