Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent- But has to be given time.
I was going to review this game after owning it for less than 24 hours and give it a luke-warm oppinion. However now I have played the game a bit more, I have to say that it is the most enjoyable game I have played in years and years. After initially being sceptical of the sandbox free roaming style of the game i have now realised that it offers a much more engaging and...
Published on 1 Nov 2008 by Tom E

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great graphics....shame about the rest of the game.
When i started playing this game I had a feeling that it was going to be a good investment, graphics look really good and clean and there and loads of weapons and vehicles. Unfortunately it didnt turn out that way. The game becomes repetitive, AI spawn in the exact same place that you killed them 10 minutes ago, everyone shoots at you even if you're just driving around...
Published on 27 July 2011 by Matt H


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent- But has to be given time., 1 Nov 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I was going to review this game after owning it for less than 24 hours and give it a luke-warm oppinion. However now I have played the game a bit more, I have to say that it is the most enjoyable game I have played in years and years. After initially being sceptical of the sandbox free roaming style of the game i have now realised that it offers a much more engaging and encompassing game play experience that puts you in the control seat. At times i have found the driving to diffent missions tiresome, especially when you get killed just trying to GET to the mission, but i love the way this means it is not all just SHOOT SHOOT SHOOT like in most FPS but the action comes and goes making it more tense and exciting and giving you more time and room to plan your attacks.
To me the graphics seem excellent and the IA is, by a modern day standard, superb, the enermy movements don't seem as scripted as in other games. The sound and music is brilliant also. As for the map editor, well its fantastic and should add a lot of shelf life to an already superb game. However after spending maybe 10 hours designing my map i couldn't get anyone to play on it, I suppose there are more maps put there than people who want to play on then, or most players are choosing the highest rated or pre-desined maps to play on. Frustrating, but hardly the games fault i suppose.
Overall a intelligent and addictive shooter that does require some time and patience but rewards you greatly in return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A decent, but not perfect FPS, 6 Sep 2009
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
I bought this game on a whim, as I had seen some decent adverts for it and liked the look of a FPS set in Africa.

At first, I hated this game! I wasn't too keen on the aiming, and it seemed like the bad guys always knew where you were and that they were invisible. I sacked it off for a while and then came back to it a few months later and got really into it.

To enjoy this game, you really need to approach each combat situation with a strategy. It's not the kind of game where you just wade in lobbing grenades and blasting everyone in site - it requires a bit of finesse.

If you're prepared to be patient and clever, then you'll be rewarded with an awesome immersive action shooter that will last you many hours. Far Cry 2 is not for ADHD afflicted casual gamers.

There are some flaws:

1. Enemies respawn in the same places whenever you back track through an area that you previously encountered. This can get a bit annoying when you have a few journeys to make.

2. Everyone wants to kill you! There are no neutrals or civilians in this game. Everywhere you go you'll be shot at.

3. The wildlife in the game are very fragile. A zebra walked into my parked car and just keeled over! Strange, but quite amusing in all fairness.

4. The glider is useless. Don't bother trying to use it. Enemies spot you a mile off and a few shots bring it down. Totally wasted concept.

But the benefits are plenty:

1. Graphically impressive - the African plains, deserts, and jungles are all very convincing. The weather and day/night usage is very cool and can be used to your advantage in combat.

2. The variety of weapons is impressive. You can really tailor your arsenal to suit your combat style. Each weapon is upgradable too.

3. Longevity - this game is huge and will keep you busy for many hours. The vastness of the environment means that there are many hidden things to find and unusual spots in the environment that come in handy when you're planning an ambush.

4. Buddy system - this can be very useful, but also a bit annoying at times. If you get too badly injured in a firefight, your buddy will show up and rescue you and help out a bit in combat. This is really useful if you're doing really well on a mission and offers you a second chance to complete it. The downside is that some of your buddy missions can end in their death, and it's sometimes too much hassle completing them only to result in having to put your buddy out of his or her misery...but I guess that's war for you.

5. Fire effects - the way fire spreads and consumes in this game is awesome! If you're clever, you can turn an enemy outpost into a raging inferno in seconds and get the enemies believing that they're under attack by a whole army. Very cool!

6. First aid scenes - I thought these were wicked! Some people hate them, but I found they added to the realism of the game. When your health is critically low, you have to find somewhere safe to perform a short first aid treatment. This can be anything from removing shrapnel from your arm, or putting out a flaming limb. A nice feature IMO.

Overall, you'll either love this game or hate it - there's not much middle ground. I can see the reasons why some people gave this game negative reviews, but I think that this game is definitely worth working with to get a whole lot of enjoyment out of. If you can rent or borrow this game first, give it a try - you might just be impressed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best game I have ever played!, 5 Nov 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Storyline:
Caught between two rival factions in war-torn Africa, you are sent to take out "The Jackal", a mysterious character who has rekindled the conflict between the warlords, jeopardizing thousands of lives. In order to fulfil your mission you will have to play the factions against each other, identify and exploit their weaknesses, and neutralise their superior numbers and firepower with surprise, subversion, cunning and, of course, brute force.

Campaign:
The campaign took me about 23-24 hours to complete, and was amazing and full of action all the way through, it gave you 50km worth of open space to venture around and have fun whilst playing. And whilst following the main story line, it gives you plenty of opertunity's to take side quests from buddys and strangers to earn you diamonds and other stuff. The only real problem that I had with the campaign, was it was ruined by the amount of times you just go driving out going to your destination and then suddenly out of nowhere you are part of open warfare, and it was usually you on your own, against atleast 5 other people. Also a big thing that didn't help, is how your health bar doesn't regain until you revive yourself, which you usually will get killed whilst doing. Also another great thing about the game, is that once you are finished with the main campaign you can explore around the map and turn it into more of a free roam type game.

Multiplayer:
The multiplayer is possibly what makes Far Cry 2 my most favourite game of all. What makes the multiplayer so much fun is all of the player made maps, which gives you new maps to play on everyday, unlike other games such as Call Of Duty, where you only have around 20 maps and they are all of them. The multiplayer pace isn't to fast or two slow it is just the right speed of action. It gives you plenty of game types to choose from including:
-Deathmatch
-Team deathmatch
-Capture the Diamonds (which is FC2's version of Capture the Flag)
-Uprising (which is like ^ but only the captain can capture)
The game types are all great fun to play on. The BIG issue with FC2 online is that there are two types of games there are Player Matches and Ranked Mathches, ranked matches are offial games where you can rank up and level up and play competitivly, but there is never anyone playing on ranked matches so it is hard to both rank up offically and to get the online Achievements for FC2, as all the multiplayer achievements are for ranked matches. But don't worry, because Player Matches are great great GREAT fun to play on.

Map Creator:
The map Creator is what brings the FC2 community together, it gives you amazing oppurtunity to create your own maps and share them online and let people rate them. Although map editor is great fun to play around with alot of people (including myself) will find it very hard to create a descent and fun to play on map. And to create a very fun map it will take atleast, I'd say, 5 hours work on? Which alot of people wont want to spend creating a single map.

Overall:
Anyone thinking about buying this game in advance for Far Cry 3, I would tell you to buy it and just see what you think of it... I personally thought it was by far, the best game I have ever played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ooooo, 15 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. Filipe Lamont (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
wow ok everyone has their own opinion on this game but whoa personally this game is absolutly amazing...seriously the graphics are amazing if you have an hd tv no joke in the very first cut scene youd honestly think you were watching a film they are amazing the fact that you have got a massive map to just roam about in is class!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! the mission are cool ai is smart also theres animals in the game which is cool if you just feel like kicking back on top of a hill sniping them or sneaking about in the grass to do some hunting..very satisfying!..get attactked alot though but nothing a good noobtube or rpg doesnt sort out..the explosions in it are also amazing eveyrthing explodes and wild fire starts its just great, there are also lots of brilliant touches in the game which you will find out if you buy..seriously..just get this game if you dont have!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flawed Diamond, 25 Dec 2008
By 
Mr. R. J. Tomlin (Milton Keynes, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Well this is overall a pretty good game, but has a few nagging flaws.

The Plusses:

1. Graphics are fantastic

2. There is a great selection of weapons, which are upgradable.

3. There is an open sandbox style of play, you get various missions and sidequests, but these can be done in a variety of ways.

4. Weapons degrade, which makes purchasing new ones a sought after incentive. Plus also allows use of some 2nd hand guns that you wont unlock till later at the arms dealers.It makes refreshing change to include this variable.

5. AI is fairly good. Guys will sneak up on you, flank you and shout for help

6. The missions can be quite interesting, though more so from chapter 2 onwards.

7. I liked the graphical healing. No just walking over a medpack. Stopping to prise bullets from my leg with pliers in the middle of a firefight was much more gritty.

The minuses:

1. When travelling, you constantly get attacked by enemy vehicles and have to deal with roadblocks. You have to fight your way to locations, which at first is ok, but soon gets repetitive. You have to rinse and repeat these fights to get anywhere, but especially by road.

2. Pretty much everyone is your enemy. Both the two factions soldiers will shoot you on sight, as your missions for them are considered secret. It would have been better to have more factions and a friendly status score (As used in mercenaries 2) to dictate how they react to you.

3. The story is pretty weak. You are sent to kill the Jackal arms dealer, who is perpetuating the war. However, he spares your life several times, and it seems hard to criticise his warmongering, when you are blasting your way through thousands of goons constantly. Any sane man would have got out of the country with a haul of diamonds, rather than stay, spending them on more guns.

4. The missions in chapter 1 aren't as interesting as the ones from Chapter 2 onwards. I nearly gave up on the game initially, as it was repetative. However, the gameplay got much more interesting from Chapter 2 onwards, with missions including defending a barge, a prison break and dropping a bomb from a bridge onto a boat underneath. Also by this time, I had access to much more interesting weapons and gear.

5. There are only a couple of silenced guns in the game. It would have been nicer to have silencer upgrades (Maybe at the cost of fire rate or range) on more weapons (A silenced sniper rifle was sorely missing, the dart rifle came close but was very slow).

6. It would have been nice to have upgraded one off weapons that you could pick up from the dead bosses and top targets. These could have been new models not available in the arms shop. Or existing ones with better accuracy, rate of fire, capacity or decoration than the normal models. This would have given an added incentive to some missions and sidequests. Maybe they could have also had some hidden around like Easter Eggs in the game, a bit like some weapons in Fallout 3.

7. The malaria factor was pretty annoying. It went against the sandbox idea, as you had little choice than have to hunt down more medicine. One mission included blowing up kilns for a malaria vaccine. This seemed crazy, that you wouldn't get the vaccine first before blowing them. This conflicted with the malaria idea totally.

All in all a good game, worth sticking with to get past dull Chapter 1
The great graphics, weapon choice and durability, and sandbox enviroment make it a great gameplay experience, that moves away from most on the rails fps's around. I predict if certain flaws are sorted out, then the next game Farcry 3 will be a gaming classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Great graphics....shame about the rest of the game., 27 July 2011
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
When i started playing this game I had a feeling that it was going to be a good investment, graphics look really good and clean and there and loads of weapons and vehicles. Unfortunately it didnt turn out that way. The game becomes repetitive, AI spawn in the exact same place that you killed them 10 minutes ago, everyone shoots at you even if you're just driving around and some of the missions are annopyingly hard. Overall the game is ok, if you found it for sale for around 5 then go for it because it will entertain you for a few hours. After that it ends up being another game that you put back in its case and will only see the light of day when you go to trade it in. If you're into games where you're shooting non stop and no storyline then this may be one for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Game, 18 Jun 2009
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Right, lets try to cut out the rubbish here. Its a good game. Its not great, but tell me a game you played that was, and other people will remind you of its flaws.

It is a gorgeous game, the sun coming through the trees is really something to see. The enemies are pretty good, you shoot one and he cries out for his friend to get him and crawls away, his friend comes out stooped to the ground... and then you snipper HIM! niiice.

BUT going up hills is almost impossible and the re-spawn soldier camps are annoying. Feels like you should have some locals you can talk to, feels a bit lifeless, but then ive never been in a state being overun by crazies.

Its really GTA 4 in the bush, mission-wise. So, repeat after me, its a good game, things will annoy me, but i must let them go!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Savour the calm before the storm, then go in with your flame thrower and grenades., 27 Oct 2008
By 
Johnny (West Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
Farcry 2 is a very enjoyable game. I played the first on my computer, and I feel that this certainly lives up to the quality. The beginning may be a little slow, and I had to turn the sensitivity on the joystick down, but you soon get the hang of it, and the controls are much the same as COD4 and Battlefield Bad Company.

The thing that struck me most of all was the realistic nature of the game. This is in more ways than the graphics, which are excellent, and the sun effects are brilliant, but in the game play itself. I was beginning to get the sense of GTA with the large open map, getting lost and checking your map, but then the effect of never leaving your characters eyes really comes into it's own.

The dedication of this effect sets the game apart; Jumping into a van to leg it away from a raid, getting the map out on your lap to check the way, while trying to run people over, and not crash into a tree are rare occasions in games, and makes this one seem even more realistic.
The map is beautifully done, and it gives you a sense of the claustrophobic atmosphere of jungles, and deep river ravines, and, on the edges of the maps, the openness to drive around chasing zebra.

I would not judge the online element of the game yet, as it is so new and does not have the online basis of bad company (which had many of the same problems when that was new) and COD 4. But the single player campaign is surprisingly long, and when other games like COD4 would have finished, this gives you a whole new map to explore. Which also means that: like a real traveller, you are never completely sure what is around the corner, or indeed where you are, or which way is home, and sometimes even what time it is. Lol

The buddy system is cool, and I did feel a little remorse when I had to mercy kill my best mate. But when push came to shove, I decided that this was the life they had chose, and so went to save the innocents in the church.

Play this game. And don't listen to the feedback left by people who have only played the demo, or haven't bothered to get past the first mission before moaning about anything and nothing here, it is raising the bar for games, and I hope more games try to match it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun game,HUGE FREE ROAM world !, 19 Sep 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
i really don't understand how people can give this game poor reviews ! this game is amazing,free roam anywhere you want,loads of guns,amazing graphics,you can choose weather you want to take on missions at day or night time.you can do whatever you want in this game,there's main missions and side missions,or you can just mess about free roaming killing any african Malisher that get in your way,go by car/boat or on foot,there is also paragliders you can fly,people who give this game bad reviews are obviously blind hillbilly's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good game once you get into it, 4 Mar 2011
By 
Mr. W. M. Thomas "W T" (Oxford) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Far Cry 2 (Xbox 360) (Video Game)
This game takes a while to get going. You have to accept the annoying parts such as the guard posts re-populating and enjoy the excellent scenery and stealth required to win the battles. That said, the enemy vehicles are very irritating, especially when you suddenly hear a revving engine and get run over without even knowing it was there! On my second time of playing, I used the bus system much more and it made it so much easier to get around the map. Personally I much prefer the thought required to complete this game than the single player games of Modern Warfare 1 and 2 where you get through missions without really having a clue what is going on or how you survived. Far Cry 2 is not perfect but it's fun if you have an attention span longer than a goldfish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Far Cry 2 (Xbox 360)
Far Cry 2 (Xbox 360) by Ubisoft (Xbox 360)
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews