Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atomic!
Having bought the original DVD away back in 1999 (in the old-style transparent plastic case and everything), I have to say I was aprehensive about paying the extra money for the extra scenes and interviews. However, it was well worth it.
To recap, Trainspotting follows the lives of three junkies (Renton, Sick Boy and Spud) and a psychopath (Begbie) in Edinburgh...
Published on 27 July 2003 by Amazon Customer

versus
28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy on Blu Ray
DO NOT BUY THIS ON BLU-RAY!!! The transfer is a mess and ruins a great film. The image judders resulting in some scenes that almost seem to be running in slow motion for a few seconds, the first 40 minutes are perticulary bad.

Avoid.
Published on 16 Jun. 2009 by Mr. B. L. Haskell


‹ Previous | 1 2 324 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars champion stuff, 14 April 2008
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Trainspotting [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Trainspotting caught a nations breath when it was released in 1996,it felt when i look back that the entire world had seen it and not only enjoyed it,but learnt the script,picked up the phrases and gave the film a success that few in the studio at the time would have predicted,the soundtrack sold like hotcakes,people picked their character in the film that they admired and this film was as much an icon of the 90s as cds,oasis and four weddings and a funeral to name just a few.
Twelve of so years have passed and you are indeed entitled to ask if this film has aged,after watching it for the first time in a while the other day i am happy to say it hasnt,none of its initial magic has been lost,granted i wasnt obsessed with this at the time,i liked it and that soundtrack had no appeal for a lad like me but this is a great film adapted from a book i havent read but can assume it isnt bad.
The film deals with the harshest of drugs,heroin and how it affects a key number of players and those around them,the film is lively,nasty,comical and trippy,all things that you would expect,it is a film that just works on many levels and came into the world at a time that felt right,much like lock ,stock and two smoking barrels which was released two years later,this is a great and dare i say vital film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Moving on, the day you die'., 15 Oct. 2006
By 
Mr. A. E. Hall "brother_of_sadako" (Liverpool, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trainspotting [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Trainspotting is largely responsible for the revival of the British Film Industry and one the finest films of the 1990s. It is also one of my personal favourites.

Set in the underworld of Edinburgh, Renton and his 'so called friends'. Among them are Begbie (a psychopath), Tommy (too honest for his own good), Sickboy (Sean Connery enthusiast and utterly unreliable) and Spud (slimy loser). Renton is desperate to kick his addiction to heroin. But why would he want to choose life? His attempt to go straight goes through many twists and turns, with underage girls, scrapes with the law, re-addiction and even all the way to London, back to Edinburgh and then back again. Despite the horror of the life of the protagonists, the films ends or an uplifting high.

Among the best scenes in the film are (The Worst) toilet (in Scotland), Spud's moring-after-the-night-before disaster, the junkie limbo and Renton abandoning his 'so-called mates'. The final shot of Renton walking away over the Bridge with Born Slippy by Underworld playing is one of my favourites of all time.

Sick, twisted and funny, black comedy, with great acting by all, impressive directing by Danny Boyle and a wonderful soundtrack, Trainspotting is a great buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Choose a job, choose a family.....choose life., 11 Sept. 2006
This review is from: Trainspotting [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
How can you not like a movie that features a shot of a dead baby crawling along a ceiling and rotating its head 180 degrees? If that doesn't scream 'fun' for the entire family, I don't know what does. Ha.
Anyhoo, the movies setting and subject matter were somewhat grim to put it mildly, but that didn't stop Trainspotting from becoming one of the top movies of the nineties, and having just watched it this morning I can safely state that it holds up well to this day. While I haven't read the Irvine Welsh novel on which this movie is based, I have read some of his other work (Porno, Filth), and the movie is a perfect distillation of his storytelling style-rapid-fire, filled with bawdy set pieces, characters living on the edge of acceptable society, and lots and lots of swear words.
It's also the kind of violent, genre-defying, and pop culture reference-laden movie, complete with way-cool soundtrack, that emerged with such force in the nineties and spawned so many imitations in this decade. For my money at least, this movie is a much more entertaining and convincing look at the world of heroin users than the interesting, but annoyingly depressing and pedantic, Requiem for a Dream, which came out a few years later to almost hyperbolic praise.
Trainspotting is a blunt, unapologetic look a life most of us can scarcely imagine, delivered with a combination of hilarity and horror that effortlessly intertwines these two extremes. It doesn't shrink from depicting the damage caused by heroin addiction, but it doesn't downplay all the fun of it either, which is what lends it so much of its gritty believability.

Trainspotting also marked the arrival on the international scene of director Danny Boyle, whose manic visual style would later serve him well on the slightly-less-brilliant 28 Days Later. Perhaps most impressively, it manages to contain one of my all-time top ten movie lines ("Who needs reasons when you've got heroin?"), my favorite nickname ever, fictional or otherwise ("We called him Mother Superior on account of the length of his habit"-brilliant), and more "Oh my God, did I just see that?" images than you'll find in fifty Hollywood blockbusters. In Boyle's hands the crazy imagery practically flies off the screen, be it human waste flying from a sheet across a room, the movie's protagonist climbing into Scotland's filthiest toilet to retrieve something he lost, or the hallucinatory, nightmarish haze of a cold-turkey withdrawal. The unrestrained depictions of sex, nudity, violence, drug use, and bodily functions make this a movie not to be viewed by the squeamish, but they perfectly suit its unflinching examination of the sordid goings-on in one country's drug-laden urban culture.

Outstanding. 8/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Choose This!, 22 Dec. 2002
By 
David Carling "Author" (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trainspotting [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
Still boasting one of the most spectacular opening sequences of contemporary movie history, Trainspotting remains as one of the more finer pieces of British cinema to grace our screens in recent years. Filmed in an disused Cigarette factory in Glasgow on a 1.5 million budget, Trainspotting is based on the best-selling book by Irvine Welsh, author of other drug-fueled novels such as 'Ecstasy' and 'The Acid House', John Hodge's near faithful, toned down script is one to savor and relish within, as we are taken through the back streets of the human breed.

Starring Ewan McGregor as the young, unemployed junkie Mark Renton, Director Danny Boyles' disturbing vision of a crime-controlled Edinburgh, is ruthlessly displayed with incredible confidence and effortless brutality as we are shown the way before the eyes of Renton. Following the lives of Mark and his disturbing friends Sick Boy, Spud, Begbie and Tommy and their crusades into violence and addictions, and the price their fun will cost. With nothing left to imagination, the film skips from Drug-use to cot death, from sexual frustration to underage sex, but stays alive long enough to tell a very poignant tale of how life can change where return to the norm is no longer an option. Even though the disturbing use of harrowing imagery remains the key player of the films make-up, an agonizing soundtrack which underplays the powerful leads, rests as an odd mixture of golden oldies and modern pop.

A Classic in a new era of film-making
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 34 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Do not buy on Blu Ray, 16 Jun. 2009
By 
Mr. B. L. Haskell (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trainspotting: Ultimate Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] [1996] (Blu-ray)
DO NOT BUY THIS ON BLU-RAY!!! The transfer is a mess and ruins a great film. The image judders resulting in some scenes that almost seem to be running in slow motion for a few seconds, the first 40 minutes are perticulary bad.

Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome and terrifying, 20 May 2011
This review is from: Trainspotting [DVD] [1996] (DVD)
I saw this one when I was just a kid and I just watched it again a couple of weeks ago.
It's a movie about drugs, and alcohol and violence... and friendship, and struggle. It's a great performance by a still very young Ewan, with its fierce and difficult accent. Danny Boyle is raw in all its movies but this is one you simply can not miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite Danny Boyle film., 26 Jan. 2014
By 
This review is from: Trainspotting: Ultimate Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] [1996] (Blu-ray)
Despite having many Blu-rays I haven't seen yet, I still get the urge to watch this movie again and again.

This is by far my favourite film by Danny Boyle, the entire feel and atmosphere of this movie is something that is rarely matched.

This movie brings me back to being a child in the 90's, even though I was only about 4/5 years old, the music, clothing and style of this movie still brings me memories of that time. It's strange really.

The acting in this is amazing and this is also my favourite Ewan McGregor movie.

Whenever I think of this film, the line, "It's s*** being Scottish!", shouted by Ewan McGregor in the Scottish countryside, always comes to mind. I'm not sure why, I think it's just one of the lines that always stayed with me.

The original and creative way this movie was filmed also strikes me, there are very few films nowadays that take the chance of daring and never before used filming techniques.

This film defines the 90's for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-Ray ..? are you kidding ??, 17 Jun. 2012
By 
Simon Harold (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trainspotting: Ultimate Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] [1996] (Blu-ray)
Thanks to all those who have told "us" the spending public what to exspect when hoping for something special with this ..If you are going to spend money on packaging , and re-releasing why bother at all if you not restoring what it is your selling. No matter the cost , this film should be preserved to look its best regardless of the expense. Danny can afford it , so can Channel Four Films , its just a shame that this classic 90's piece of cinema will never get the polish it rightly deserves..Spielberg spent 3 years cleaning up JAWS for its Hi-Def release in September , the 35mm print of Trainspotting would be worth the 3 years wait if it ended up looking as sharp and pristine. The LOWERY restoration group did wonders to Ridley Scotts ALIEN as well as many others like all the James Bond films , now they all now look sharp , detailed and like they were made yesterday..Maybe Danny will realize one day that his work is as important and stop making a few quid directing sports events instead of decent movies...A real shame. Thanks to the public's advice ,I will NOT be buying this in Blu Ray now , so that's one less sale from the buying public.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Go see this......NOW!, 23 Jan. 2004
By A Customer
This is an absolute must-see film. Gritty, funny, serious, harrowing - the film includes all these elements. Excellent cast, excellent soundtrack and excellent film. Ewan McGregor gives a very good performance as main character/narrator Mark Renton. Although he is not a model citizen, he is likeable. Spud is a bit goofy and also likeable. Robert Carlye perfectly plays physco Begby who in the words of Renton 'Begby doesn't do drugs, he just does people'.
The film follows Renton and his so called mates. The situations the characters find themselves in can be scary, funny and interesting. Throughout the film, we see the tension between friends and the battle Renton has with drugs. The film also shows the bad effects drugs can have on peoples life in a hard-hitting way.
When people think of Trainspotting they think 'oh it's a film about heroin addicts'. But when you see the film you realise there is more to it than that. Dig deeper and you realise the film is mainly about choices and friendships. Renton chose to do drugs rather than live a life working 9-5 with a family to look after. Although i don't agree with drug-taking at all, in a way his reasons are understandable. This film can be watched over and over again. There is so much to take in as there is a lot more in it than meets the eye. Enjoyable, entertaining and highly interesting. I get engrossed in the film every time i see it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, disturbing and highly entertaining....!, 17 Jan. 2006
Making a good film based around hardcore drug abuse is a tough thing to pull off, however somehow this tale of gritt, violence, sex, betrayal and drugs found its way to international stardom. The acting is A*, you really don't get much better then this, and the script is slick and snappy, along with the plot which is funny and disturbing at the same time, showing us life as a 'druggi' in an almost documentary style way, making it highly realistic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 324 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Trainspotting: Ultimate Collector's Edition [Blu-ray] [1996]
£7.10
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews