Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (69)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


80 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winsor & Newton Medway Table BoxEasel
Although this is classed as a toy, it isn't. This is an extremely useful tabletop easel which I guess will appeal to everyone who likes to paint or draw but doesn't want the hassle of a full size easel. It has a very good build quality, being quite heavy with nice dovetail joints on the edges, brass catches and a leather handle. When it arrived it gave off a nice polished...
Published on 7 Jan 2011 by DoctorSteve

versus
13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better
It's a nice box and works well as a present for an artist. However, there is a design fault.

The wing nuts that secure the wooden easel bracket to the box lid can hit the internal divider when you close the lid. That prevents the box from closing. When my wife closed the box for the first time it happened and, unfortunately, caused the lid panel to break away...
Published 18 months ago by Uriah Cameron


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

80 of 80 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Winsor & Newton Medway Table BoxEasel, 7 Jan 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Medway Table BoxEasel (Misc.)
Although this is classed as a toy, it isn't. This is an extremely useful tabletop easel which I guess will appeal to everyone who likes to paint or draw but doesn't want the hassle of a full size easel. It has a very good build quality, being quite heavy with nice dovetail joints on the edges, brass catches and a leather handle. When it arrived it gave off a nice polished wood smell too. The sides of the box are made from solid wood which is 11mm thick, so I although we've not destruction tested it, I think it will last a long time. Storage capacity is good with two long compartments inside for brushes, and three smaller central sections for paints etc. Paper is held in place by a screw-on ledge at the bottom and an adjustable wooden bar at the top. This sits inside the box when not in use so keeps it safe. Order and delivery time were excellent too. Overall a very impressive piece of kit. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars handy box easel, 12 Sep 2010
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Medway Table BoxEasel (Misc.)
This easel is exact as the picture shows , it is great for using indoors and out. I already have one and am so impressed by it that I purchased this one for my husbands Birthday, before he'd borrow mine! I have put large pictures on to board and canvasses A1 size and it worked great what I love about it is you can store a selection of materials, e.g paints , pens ,pencils,brushes, pastels etc. inside and pads and I have it already so I can take of any time , pop it in car . I would recommend this as it is great vaue for money if you want a portable easel or sit at the table.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could be better, 12 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Medway Table BoxEasel (Misc.)
It's a nice box and works well as a present for an artist. However, there is a design fault.

The wing nuts that secure the wooden easel bracket to the box lid can hit the internal divider when you close the lid. That prevents the box from closing. When my wife closed the box for the first time it happened and, unfortunately, caused the lid panel to break away from the frame. I found myself gluing it back together on boxing day!

The wing nuts must be left in the vertical position to stop this from happening, but there is nothing to tell you that. It is an inconvenience and there is great potential for the same problem to recure. I'll have to keep my glue handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Box easel, 24 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Medway Table BoxEasel (Misc.)
I am not sure why this item is in Toys, its not a toy, it is an excellent table top easel, which I have purchased to take along to my learn to draw class!! It is of excellent quality, well put together and has loads of storage space for pens pencils etc. Extremely easy to put together, its just a case of putting in a couple of screws to add on the shelf which holds your paper, could not be simpler, it does have inside a leaflet which shows you anyway, with suggestions also to put a little linseed oil on the wood. I am so pleased with it, it looks and feels very sturdy. The packaging was extremely impressive, outer cardboard and original makers box, oh! and amazing price, I could not get the same product in the high street at that price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely present for the junior budding artist (and some older too!), 3 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Helps keep everything together in an attractive well made box and converts into a useful table top easel. Bought as a present for a grandaughter (a triplet) where the ability to protect and safeguard personal possessions is important. The Winsor & Newton Medway Box table easel delivers well against this need and enables the young artist freedom to work wherever the inspiration bubbles up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its not a toy :), 9 Sep 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Medway Table BoxEasel (Misc.)
Great, great, great!

+ Excellent quality wood
+ Good size, it isn't too big but you can still place a large canvas on it
+ Is also a box at the same time, it has compartments so you can store your equipment in it
+ On time delivery, packaging perfect.

- No disadvantages!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect for the casual sketcher, 28 Feb 2011
I do pencil sketching, and I wanted an easel I can take on holiday and set up on a little table. This, then, was the perfect product for me. The box under the easel stores all my pencils, sketch pads, erasers etc, and has a handy carrying handle. The angle of the easel is easily adjustable to suit your drawing style.

Overall, a good value-for-money easel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Buy, 27 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Medway Table BoxEasel (Misc.)
Could not give any category stars in this review as was asked to comment against a 'toy' - which it clearly is not. However, I would give it 4 stars overall. This was a Christmas gift for my husband and he was very pleased with it and has found it very useful for all his painting materials having just taken up painting again after many years. Might need something bigger if his collection of matterials grows too much but at the moment it is fine for a moderate selection of paints, brushes, small pallets etc. The fact that it has adjustable compartments was particulary useful. Just remember that if you want to do landscape paintings on paper only, you will need an additional piece of wood to support your paper, but there is ample space to accommodate this. Good value for money and well made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars one-format easel, 23 Dec 2012
By 
Mrs. B. C. Tocknell (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Medway Table BoxEasel (Misc.)
I am not surprised at the price reduction now having seen it. It is perfect for "portrait" format but useless for
"landscape" format. Otherwise well made and practical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant value for money, 24 July 2011
= Durability:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Winsor & Newton Medway Table BoxEasel (Misc.)
As others have stated this boxeasel should not be exclusively in the toy department. I was nervous about buying the easel as it seemed to be too cheap to be robust and useful. I need not have worried as the hinges and fixings are strong and the box is made of solid wood. At the moment we have a reasonably large canvas which is securely held. As we live in a very small space I appreciate the box design - big enough to hold paints and brushes but can be neatly stored. I like this so much that I'm thinking of giving it as a gift this C...mas (sorry to say the word in July!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Winsor & Newton Medway Table BoxEasel
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews