Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant!
One of the funniest and most intelligent films I have ever seen! Not for everyone for sure, but if you like independant films that go way over the line, then this might be for you! Make sure to get the uncut version of the film though (the R1 DVD is uncut), or hunt down the directors version, which is called "The Revolution Is My Boyfriend". Everybody now: "Join the...
Published on 29 Jan 2011 by djessie

versus
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The torture....
This film had me clutching my DVD's of Latter days, Beautiful thing, Beautiful laundrette, Liles and quite a few others in glee that some people know how to make good gay genre films!!!

It's rubbish! The acting was dire, the constant yelling of the main female made you want to press mute all the time. The well overlong and tedious sex scene at the beginning...
Published on 14 April 2009 by JDP


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Brilliant!, 29 Jan 2011
By 
djessie (Reykjavik, Iceland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Raspberry Reich [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
One of the funniest and most intelligent films I have ever seen! Not for everyone for sure, but if you like independant films that go way over the line, then this might be for you! Make sure to get the uncut version of the film though (the R1 DVD is uncut), or hunt down the directors version, which is called "The Revolution Is My Boyfriend". Everybody now: "Join the homosexual intifada!"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The torture...., 14 April 2009
This review is from: the raspberry reich (DVD)
This film had me clutching my DVD's of Latter days, Beautiful thing, Beautiful laundrette, Liles and quite a few others in glee that some people know how to make good gay genre films!!!

It's rubbish! The acting was dire, the constant yelling of the main female made you want to press mute all the time. The well overlong and tedious sex scene at the beginning where she bonked everywhere, yelling and screaming,made me so many times want to press stop. Just stop the endless dirge. But I thought, maybe it gets better... maybe all will be alright....but nope. Maybe it was funny and sending over some ironic message, I don't really know as my attention wandered to other exciting things like counting the hairs on my arms and wondering if it was going to rain. It was a mixture of noise, annoying words floating across the screen that she had just said so really didn't need to be there and bits of long boring rhetoric and bare flesh. Guess if you just wanted to see some male bodies and a bit of sex, turning the sound off and pressing forward will give you some of that, but all in all I can't really see why anyone would wanna watch this again. If you like torturing yourself, by all means watch this, if you don't, there are most probably about a million much better things you could be spending your pounds, dollars, euros, yens, whatever on! Avoid big time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must see for every Bruce LaBruce fan!, 19 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Raspberry Reich [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
I must admit, there was not so much comedy as "pornography". Although all the juicy parts are "censored" or covered up by the slogans used by political organisations. But I love everything that Bruce LaBruce makes & can't wait for the next film to hit the stores!
In short: The Raspberry Reich is a film which explores what LaBruce calls "terrorist chic", cult dynamics and the power of homosexual expression. An "uncut" version of the film has been released, titled "The Revolution Is My Boyfriend", edited by the gay pornographic film company Cazzo Film including erotic scenes edited out in the original version.
The scenes are somewhat funny when they are making "love", but the movie is filled with slogans used to convey the politics of the Raspberry Reich. It's bit strange & confusing for general audience. But if you loved such movies as Hustler White [DVD] [1996] or for that matter OTTO; Or Up With Dead People [DVD] [2008] you must certainly will love this one as well! So in conclusion if you are an open minded person, who is certain of his/hers sexuality - see this movie: rent it or buy it!

Some special features also available:
* Interviews with Bruce LaBruce & Jürgen Brüning
* Introduction by Bruce LaBruce
* Director/Producer Commentary
* Special Guest Stars: Tony Blair & George W. Bush
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 37 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not Worth A Look, 25 Nov 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: the raspberry reich (DVD)
Held good promise on the review on the case but did not deliver.
Overlong, appalling acting, dire script, all in all a total load of rubbish. I have purchased some low budget movies over the years that have been surprisingly good. This was not one of them. The actaul idea and storyline could have been made into someting really quite excellent but this film never delivers. I would ask for my money back had I seen it at the cinema.
I have given one star as I cannot give less. I suppose I could say the odd sex scence was erotic.
I would not bother with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Can sex be dull? Yes, if the actors can't act and the writer can't write, 1 Sep 2012
By 
C. O. DeRiemer (San Antonio, Texas, USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The Raspberry Reich is a mess. Written and directed by someone calling himself Bruce LaBruce, the movie is designed to be an-in-your-face send-up of Europe's revolutionary passions by the youth of the Seventies. Here the leader of an inept boy gang is a left-wing, well-built harridan name Gudrun, who shouts, rants and copulates energetically with her hetero partner. Gudrun discovers that hetero sex is not all that revolutionary or liberating, so she insists that her gang members have sex with each other. Cue in plenty of gay sex acts.

The visual look of the film is vivid and bold. The story is amateurishly written, acted and directed. The sex looks like it was fun. The movie, after the first half hour, wasn't. The ranting was loud. The sex, ultimately, seemed merely a way for the writer/director to provoke all the grannies in New Jersey.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A classic, it ain't., 29 Dec 2011
The Contrivance
The self-style "Sixth Generation of the Baader-Meinhof Gang", later referred to in the film as "The Raspberry Reich" kidnaps the son of a wealthy industrialist, with a view to making demands of the said industrialist. In moving towards making those demands we learn of the dogma of the leader of the group (Gudrun) which includes the importance of personal life in revolution, including the breaking of heterosexual and possessive sexual norms. This she claims as the Homosexual Intifada, which did provide a rather humorous basis for the movie.

The Prose
Director Bruce La Bruce was also the writer, and it's hard to see in which role he was worse. There were some classic lines: "How many times have I told you that homosexuality is only to be used for revolutionary purposes?", "The Revolution is my boyfriend" and "Heterosexuality is the opiate of the masses", amongst others. But really the script could have been written on the back of a beer coaster.

The Talent
It was remarkable that Director Bruce La Bruce could have amassed such a list of truly ordinary actors. I did not know Susanne Sachsse (aka Susanne Sachße) who played the lead female role, and so was very surprised to learn that she had starred in over 30 movies, and in fact had professional training. I can only put it down to bad direction - there is simply no other way to get such gogglingly-bad acting. Okay, so I made up the word gogglingly-bad, but you get my drift.
Out of the 30-something credited actors, only one stood out, and that was Pünktchen who played the Drag Queen Bouncer. A small part, but oh so convincing.

To talent of the other kind, and this movie was chockers with it. They were all pretty vanilla, and pretty much bloke next door types, but so long as you're not looking for muscles, there was plenty to keep most entertained.

The Summation
As other reviewers have noted, make sure that you buy this (Region 1) version. There is nothing more annoying than on-screen censorship as the other version contains. This was of sufficient humour value - and of mainstream porn value - to warrant a viewing. A classic, however, it ain't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Fails on all levels, 21 Oct 2009
By 
Gavin Bradshaw (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Raspberry Reich [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
The concept sounded fun. A group of straight male radicals in Germany who are told by their leader (who's a woman) that heterosexual monogamy is the opiate of the masses and therefore to support the war against capitalism they must have sex with each other. It could have been funny, it could have been porn, it could have been a tongue in cheek protest film, but it was, in my opinion, just rubbish.

I usually try and be more constructive in my comments, but I really couldn't find any redeeming qualities in this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quitenjoyedthis1, 25 Sep 2009
By 
Benny Van Dam (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Raspberry Reich [2004] [DVD] (DVD)
Ok movie for lovers of male nudity in all it's glory...
I think it's a shame most "hard" scenes are covered by silly messages, you can still quit see what's going on but i found that sometimes you have to use your imagination a bit too much. I did still enjoy it and some scenes are quit explicit..... to say the least
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Raspberry Reich [2004] [DVD]
The Raspberry Reich [2004] [DVD] by Bruce LaBruce (DVD - 2008)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews