Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What would Grandma say?
Well Grandma probably read more Jane cartoons than I've had hot dinners! Jane was a favourite with our troops during World War II and was once decribed by Churchill as "Britain's secret Weapon!" Anyway enough of the historical stuff, this film is as saucy as is got in 1949. Jane is at her best, losing clothing and flashing those gorgeous stocking tops along the way, and...
Published on 15 May 2012 by Chutney Ferret

versus
21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing double B feature
The Adventures of Jane...fortunately is only 55 minutes long but it seems much longer. Of interest to film fans because it was made at the Brighton Film studios it is a poor tribute to the character Jane. The best things in the film are Fritz the dog and the music of Stanelli.
Murder at 3am...Dennis Price certainly deserved better than this and his profile surely...
Published on 30 Oct 2008 by C. FULLER


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What would Grandma say?, 15 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventures of Jane/Murder at 3am [1949] [DVD] (DVD)
Well Grandma probably read more Jane cartoons than I've had hot dinners! Jane was a favourite with our troops during World War II and was once decribed by Churchill as "Britain's secret Weapon!" Anyway enough of the historical stuff, this film is as saucy as is got in 1949. Jane is at her best, losing clothing and flashing those gorgeous stocking tops along the way, and Fritz, her dog - whilst not in the Pudsey league - puts on a good show. The film does show its age, but no doubt when it first came out ex servicemen were raving about it. It is - to be fair - a good film, but I found that I was almost watching it from an historical point of view, or rather as a collector would with the original cartoon strips. It is in effect a piece of memorabilia of World War II, or rather something that is reliant on WWII memories. And not a pair of tights in sight!!!!!
The Dennis Price film is just a typical late forties thriller, with a few good twists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT!!!, 13 Nov 2012
This review is from: The Adventures of Jane/Murder at 3am [1949] [DVD] (DVD)
Jane is a light and funny film, with the original Jane model starring as Jane. You have to remember that this film was made 1949 and not 2009. Jane is definitly a morale-booster film, which is bound to cheer you up! Murder at 3am was a eerie murder mystery whith the creepiest music ever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing double B feature, 30 Oct 2008
By 
C. FULLER (Brixham, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventures of Jane/Murder at 3am [1949] [DVD] (DVD)
The Adventures of Jane...fortunately is only 55 minutes long but it seems much longer. Of interest to film fans because it was made at the Brighton Film studios it is a poor tribute to the character Jane. The best things in the film are Fritz the dog and the music of Stanelli.
Murder at 3am...Dennis Price certainly deserved better than this and his profile surely demanded better and yet we find him here in a dull role. In spite of good photography by Bunny Onions this is a drab affair. Eric Spear's organ musical score adds to the atmosphere a little.
The anticipation of the double bill was not really worth it for me. A rare misfire for Odeon Entertainment. Picture quality fine but with noise on soundtrack probably due to the age of print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible, 12 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventures of Jane/Murder at 3am [1949] [DVD] (DVD)
I am a fan of movies from this era and have seen movies of all standards and when I bought this I wasn't expecting too much. However, the first film was probably one of the worst films I have ever watched. The so called acting, the terrible plot, the awful links between scenes and as for the "star", oh dear! Aviod unless you like me collect movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars awfull, 5 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Adventures of Jane/Murder at 3am [1949] [DVD] (DVD)
the cover gave me the impression that this was the comic strip version of jane which appeared on t.v. some years ago & was very well done. It isnt, & this is unlikely to appeal to anybody under 90! I found it awful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Advebtures of Jae/Murder at 3am, 17 Aug 2009
By 
thewatcher (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Adventures of Jane/Murder at 3am [1949] [DVD] (DVD)
The Adventures of Jane/Murder at 3am [1949] [DVD]
This dvd was terrible. The acting is pathetic and the fact that you get two films on one dvd does not make it worth the money.
Avoid unless you are a fan of both "stars".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Adventures of Jane/Murder at 3am [1949] [DVD]
The Adventures of Jane/Murder at 3am [1949] [DVD] by Alfred J Goulding and Francis Searle (DVD - 2008)
7.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews