Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chacun sa nuit...
As a fan of French cinema, Jean-Marc Barr's "One to Another" (French, English subtitles) is a treat: complex emotions, ambiguous sexuality, the darkest human passions, stylistic manipulations - it's all there.

20-something brother and sister, Pierre and Lucie, are the centre of a group of five friends in a rural French town. Pierre (the stunning Arthur Dupont)...
Published on 10 April 2008 by Son of Nietzsche

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad transfer...
I recentrly bought this movie with the expectation of enjoying a good movie, well tranfered, but on the contrary, the thansfer is not a good one. Colours are faded, and what's worst, subtitles are burned onto the film. You can't remove them.
I suggest in future releases of Peccadillo Pictures, to consider these points.
Published on 6 April 2012 by Rieuxmx


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chacun sa nuit..., 10 April 2008
This review is from: One Two Another [DVD] (DVD)
As a fan of French cinema, Jean-Marc Barr's "One to Another" (French, English subtitles) is a treat: complex emotions, ambiguous sexuality, the darkest human passions, stylistic manipulations - it's all there.

20-something brother and sister, Pierre and Lucie, are the centre of a group of five friends in a rural French town. Pierre (the stunning Arthur Dupont) is the glue...his draws the group (Lucie and their three males friends) together, as he nonchalantly seduces each of them (literally and/or emotionally) with his charismatic, dominating personality and raw sexuality. Not content with such a limited audience, Pierre - the eternal nihilistic showman - also toys with closeted older men from the town with his sexual shenanigans.

At the outset, we learn that Pierre has been brutally murdered...the film then alternates between present time and flashbacks to the past, as the friends deal with their memories and emotions in the course of attempting to unmask Pierre's murderer. The final denouement comes as something of a surprise - though, with hindsight, it arrives as the natural, intense culmination of events.

Pierre's erotic magnetism powerfully translates through the screen, as his beautiful yet tragic flaws elicit in the viewer a vast array of passions. Liberal helpings of male nudity and sex, combined with volatile emotions (and some beautiful young actors) make "One to Another" an enthralling watch. Despite the thriller/whodunnit plot, the film easily bears multiple viewings. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars great movie-not being Hollywood style made it that much more believable, 3 Jun 2011
By 
M. E. Koperniak (NL) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Two Another [DVD] (DVD)
I didn't actually know until after I saw the film that it was based on a true story. I won't divulge any details but definitely a good film! Very good cast and indeed a lot of skin :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad transfer..., 6 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Two Another [DVD] (DVD)
I recentrly bought this movie with the expectation of enjoying a good movie, well tranfered, but on the contrary, the thansfer is not a good one. Colours are faded, and what's worst, subtitles are burned onto the film. You can't remove them.
I suggest in future releases of Peccadillo Pictures, to consider these points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One, two go!, 31 Aug 2010
By 
Gavin Slater - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Two Another [DVD] (DVD)
This is a strange and quirky movie but very watchable and very good. At first, I was not entirely sure of it since it kept using flash backs and other means of telling the story and I was getting mixed up with the characters who look the same - sometimes! This is a murder story! It takes time to get there and the end denoument is rather unexpected and very mysterious. It tells a good story and is not some exploitative flick. Well worth watching!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Chacun sa nuit..., 10 April 2008
As a fan of French cinema, Jean-Marc Barr's "One to Another" (French, English subtitles) is a treat: complex emotions, ambiguous sexuality, the darkest human passions, stylistic manipulations - it's all there.

20-something brother and sister, Pierre and Lucie, are the centre of a group of five friends in a rural French town. Pierre (the stunning Arthur Dupont) is the glue...his draws the group (Lucie and their three males friends) together, as he nonchalantly seduces each of them (literally and/or emotionally) with his charismatic, dominating personality and raw sexuality. Not content with such a limited audience, Pierre - the eternal nihilistic showman - also toys with closeted older men from the town with his sexual shenanigans.

At the outset, we learn that Pierre has been brutally murdered...the film then alternates between present time and flashbacks to the past, as the friends deal with their memories and emotions in the course of attempting to unmask Pierre's murderer. The final denouement comes as something of a surprise - though, with hindsight, it arrives as the natural, intense culmination of events.

Pierre's erotic magnetism powerfully translates through the screen, as his beautiful yet tragic flaws elicit in the viewer a vast array of passions. Liberal helpings of male nudity and sex, combined with volatile emotions (and some beautiful young actors) make "One to Another" an enthralling watch. Despite the thriller/whodunnit plot, the film easily bears multiple viewings. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Based on true events / Beauty can be also a curse, 10 July 2012
This review is from: One Two Another [DVD] (DVD)
An intriguing story about a group of friends in a small french town. These 4 boys and one girl create relations with bonds that become very strong and destructive (as the story unfolds). It's Pierre, whose provocative and egoistic behaviour make him the centre of the story. He is obsessed with being loved, being desired by everybody, which leds him to have affairs with all members of the group (including his own sister!) and to sell his body to an old closet gay.
The life is going well, until the day the young man is found dead...
There is no happy-ending here. And though, some of the plots may seem disturbing, the film is really well done and well acted. I don't regret any single second I spent in front of my tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love and other things, 23 April 2011
This review is from: One Two Another [DVD] (DVD)
This French film is based on a true story. It concerns five friends; four young men and a woman. The central characters are brother and sister; one year apart. They love each other intensely. The film oscillates between the present investigation into the murder of one of the characters and how things were before that event; blissful, intense in some ways and musically strong. The four boys are a rock band. To say more would give the plot away. I shall certainly watch it again.

Ian Hunter.
Author of The Early Years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One Two Another (Chacun sa nuit), 3 Dec 2009
By 
T. J. M. Klerk (Amsterdam, the Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The free spirited brother forms a tight group with some friends and his sister for whom he has no secrets. The two are very much depending on one another and when the brother disappears and later is found murdered, his sister starts to look for the murderer.
While she does that there are flashbacks in which she remembers the good times and in which we get to know her brother better.
At the end she does find the murderer.
The story is quite amusing and compelling at the same time, and you get dragged into the "whodunnit" chase. Acting is good and some not so necessary nudity included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars True, but without explanation, 23 Feb 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Two Another [DVD] (DVD)
I perhaps would have followed the film more easily if I have realised that it was based on a true story. As it was, the continual flashbacks made it a bit difficult to follow. Also, there is no sense of closure, in so far as the film neither gives, nor offers, any explanation for the events which it depicts. Like so many films based on actual events, one wonders whether the film was merely taking advantage of the inevitable curiosity which accompanies horrendous murders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable mystery., 22 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Two Another [DVD] (DVD)
I love foreign language films for their interesting take on life and are refreshingly different to US./ UK films. This was a simple story of the death of one of a group of friends simply told and with an ending I had not expected.This appears to be based on a true story. Not as lurid as the cover might suggest as nudity is not graphic . A good cast ,well acted not the best film I have seen but an enjoyable 90 minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Two Another [DVD]
One Two Another [DVD] by Jean-Marc Barr and Pascal Arnold (DVD - 2008)
£5.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews