Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arise Sir Jimmy of Carr!
OK. I admit that I am a HUGE fan of Jimmy Carr so this review was always going to be biased, and it would have been easy to award 5 stars without even seeing the show, but no, I have waited until I have watched the DVD + ALL the extras before writing this and I can safely award it 5 stars without predjuduce!

This is Jimmy's 4th DVD, and like the others his...
Published on 14 Nov 2008 by Gary Hilton

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars My opinion of Jimmy Carr has decreased
I used to enjoy Jimmy Carr. Saw him on 8 Out of 10 Cats, Youtube videos, and some standup. After watching this I am not fond of himanymore. In this performance he picks people out of the audience to mock them and to get laughs. He is extermely rude and a bully although some of the show is still funny.
Published 3 months ago by R. S.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Arise Sir Jimmy of Carr!, 14 Nov 2008
By 
Gary Hilton "ursinebrute" (Lancashire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jimmy Carr In Concert [Live] [DVD] (DVD)
OK. I admit that I am a HUGE fan of Jimmy Carr so this review was always going to be biased, and it would have been easy to award 5 stars without even seeing the show, but no, I have waited until I have watched the DVD + ALL the extras before writing this and I can safely award it 5 stars without predjuduce!

This is Jimmy's 4th DVD, and like the others his performance is spilt up into sections were he simply stands there and delivers his legendary trademark one liners, then sections were he may sit down at a desk/sofa and branch off into side topics. It is impossible to say if this is better or worse than his previous efforts as humour is subjective but I found myself laughing out loud several times, particularly when he is interacting with the audience. This is fast becoming Jimmy's greatest ( & funniest) area of expertise and he has honed his own brand of audience participation into an art form (watch out for the Henry VIII scene which is just soooo funny when he includes someones MUM into his improvised act!)

The extras are very good but it is a case of quality over quantity and there is really ONE extra feature worth watching - he has recorded some (genuine) audience participation & hecklers and then a team of animaters have made little cartoons of them using many different styles - see Jimmy as a muppet, a 2D drawing, a Monty-Python-esque animation, a 3D claymation model etc etc. These are very funny and can easily stand repeated viewings. It lasts about 36 minutes and is one of the better and most original extras I have ever seen on a DVD. (One gripe; as these are recorded at live gigs all over the country the sound quality can vary immensely but I really am splitting hairs)

Please remember that like all Jimmy's shows there is a certain amount of bad language and repeated use of the C & F words, but this IS an 18 certificate. (Interestingly at one point in the show he "picks on" a 14 year old in the audience there with his parents so clearly this illustrates how parental consent should indicate wheter you let an under 18 watch it?)

All in all, if you already own any of Jimmy's previous 3 DVD's then you know what to expect and there is no reason why this should not be part of your DVD collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Business as usual for Jimmy, 14 Nov 2008
By 
This review is from: Jimmy Carr In Concert [Live] [DVD] (DVD)
Jimmy Carr is the ultimate comedian. Nobody else can pull off so many one-liners, rip into hecklers or shave closer to the funny bone than Jimmy. Anyone with even a vague idea of how comedy works will appreciate just how good he is.

First a word of warning: this is not comedy for the easily offended. This is not family-friendly. As Jimmy himself states on the box: "It's rude, crude and offensive but those aren't the only reasons you'll enjoy it."
He's right, too: beneath the risque jokes and smutty humour is a comedic sensibility and intelligence handled by a professional whose tongue is sharper than he dresses. Jimmy knows what he's doing, knows how far he can push it, and takes great delight in seeing his audience squirm. In the hands of anyone else it would just fall apart.

It's hard to say whether 'In Concert' is better or worse than the rest of his DVDs. It's business as usual: some stand-up one-liners, some sit down read-aloud moments, audience participation: indeed, the only new thing brought to the table here is a spot of jazz midway through. Again, Jimmy admits that on the cover: "This DVD is exactly the same as last year's except every single word." Same format, new set.

And why should he change it? It's a winning formula. Rest assured, if you like Jimmy Carr, you'll be right at home here, and you won't be dissapointed. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gets better every year!, 14 Oct 2008
By 
This review is from: Jimmy Carr In Concert [Live] [DVD] (DVD)
I went to the DVD record and it was brilliant - an hour an a half of belly laughing. His jokes are not for the easily offended, but he delivers them with such confidence and a glint in his eye that you're easily bought in. I hope they included his interaction with the audience on the DVD as the banter was hilarious. A must see!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great show and great extras, 26 Nov 2008
This review is from: Jimmy Carr In Concert [Live] [DVD] (DVD)
This is the 4th Jimmy Carr stand up DVD and it's just as good, if not better, than his previous titles.

Jimmy's interaction with the audience is more pronounced than previous shows - before it was a succession of one-liners, now there are far more put-downs and audience participation, which greatly adds to Jimmy's appeal.

Not only is the show very good, but the DVD extras are spectacular - the 40 min animated skit of various soundbites from Jimmy's gigs around the country is fantastic, and shows the man in great form. The Tutenkhamun gag towards the end is the best bit on the whole disc!

Another fantastic DVD from Mr Carr - definitely worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The 4th DVD, 14 Nov 2008
By 
B. Franklin "Fronk" (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jimmy Carr In Concert [Live] [DVD] (DVD)
well i am a huge fan of jimy carr. Only recently i went to watch his new tour, "Joke Technician", and i have loved all of his work so far.
This DVD is Jimmy's fourth, and was eagerly anticipated by many. Filmed last year at the Bloomsberry, Jimmy once again entertains the audience with his own unique style.
The show is extremely good, with some moments that will have you in stitches (notably his own take on classic jokes as well as his henry VIII scene). Any jimmy carr fan will love it. There is over 90 minutes of show and you will be entertained throughout.
However, i dont feel this is as strong as his third DVD, which was absolutely amazing. It is still one of his better ones though, so i would highly recommend it to any fan of jimmy carr.
This dvd will definetely be around for a while, and i recommend you watch it. The extras include a hilarious 30 plus minute sketch of all his most brutal audience take-downs, which is superb.
This combined with the show makes for a very entertaining dvd. Buy it, watch it, then watch it again, and again, and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 Sep 2009
This review is from: Jimmy Carr In Concert [Live] [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this for my brother as a Birthday present, Excellent gift he loves it very funny Jimmy Carr is great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WICKED, 31 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Jimmy Carr In Concert [Live] [DVD] (DVD)
BOUGHT THIS AS A PRESENT FOR MY HUSBAND, HE IS LOVING IT. VERY FUNNY. IT'S WORTH EVERY PENNY SPENT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very funny, 30 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. M. Proffitt (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jimmy Carr In Concert [Live] [DVD] (DVD)
I was in stitches, JC is soooo funny, would recommend to anyone who is not easily offended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great as Always, 1 Feb 2009
By 
J. Bird "JB" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jimmy Carr In Concert [Live] [DVD] (DVD)
Jimmy Car, what can i say.
Watched this show in Birmingham last year and could not stop laughing.
Fast fireing gags from start to finish
BRILLIANT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jimmy Carr is brilliant, 30 Dec 2008
By 
M. Ward (Newark, Nottinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jimmy Carr In Concert [Live] [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a big fan of Jimmy Carr, I even went to this tour. If you like Jimmy Carr this is a must. He's come a long way from his first DVD and his delivery has only improved.

The extras are only OK. Probably more fun if you've never seen Jimmy Carr before. However if you went to his tour, you'll have seen a fair chunk of the Cartoon clips he does and the cartoon strips appeared in Nuts magazine as well as the programme for the tour. These cartoon strips are also very old jokes of Jimmy's.

It would get a 5 star review from me, but some of these jokes he does are repeated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad2bbc6c)

This product

Jimmy Carr In Concert [Live] [DVD]
Jimmy Carr In Concert [Live] [DVD] by Dominic Brigstocke (DVD - 2008)
5.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews