Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subtle and beautifully disturbing
When it arrived, this was titled 'Ghost School Quartet' rather than 'Ghost School Horror', but it's exactly the same box set. Furthermore, losing the word 'horror' is advisable because none of these are really horror films, more subtle and evocative ghost stories - though 'The Voice' has some genuine shocking moments. The films are known as 'Whispering Corridors' and its...
Published 23 months ago by AVW

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars dvds
i only gave this three probarly hadnt looked hard enough what i was ordering it is sub titled which i didnt realise but good condition and good service
Published 21 months ago by jacky adams


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subtle and beautifully disturbing, 15 Mar. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost School Horror (Whispering Corridors / Memento Mori / Wishing Stairs / The Voice) [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
When it arrived, this was titled 'Ghost School Quartet' rather than 'Ghost School Horror', but it's exactly the same box set. Furthermore, losing the word 'horror' is advisable because none of these are really horror films, more subtle and evocative ghost stories - though 'The Voice' has some genuine shocking moments. The films are known as 'Whispering Corridors' and its sequels, and so very much belong together; even though the characters and the stories are completely different. the schools are so similar in structure it's possible they might have been using the same locations for some of the scenes, and the atmosphere and themes explored are all certainly along the same lines.

The main theme appears to be relational aggression or 'covert bullying'. This has been explored in American films like 'Mean Girls', but these films go further for a couple of reasons. One is something referred to by Kim Jee-Woon, the director of 'A Tale of Two Sisters', when he says in an interview about his film that Koreans tend to emphasise loyalty and togetherness more than individuality - which makes any departure from this much worse, and in each of these films deep loyalty is shown to shift quite dramatically, powerfully, even unexpectedly, to cold betrayal. Because these are ghost stories, the drama is all the more intense, something a gentler Korean film like 'Look After My Cat' cannot achieve so easily. The second advantage these films have, is that they confine nearly all the action to within the schools, thus making the claustrophobia all the worse - the classic monster-in-the-house scenario. There are no parents or reliable, compassionate adults to rescue the girls, they have to do it themselves - if they can. (I should add, another advantage here is that these are all-girls' schools, so that unlike with American films like 'Mean Girls' or 'Easy A', there are few distractions - though sexual relationships inevitably arise, and are key for some of the plot developments, it is the nature of friendship that is continually emphasised.

Despite the over-riding themes in the films, they are each very individual. (Again, the question of individuality and community.) 'Whispering Corridors', for example, is quite unlike the others in that it's low on special effects, the photography in general is not a very high standard and it's generally lacking in visual trickery. This bare-bones approach though works extremely well in telling a very complex and clever ghost story in a school that is so rigid, its brutality passed down from teachers to pupils, the familiar 'High School is Hell' metaphor is conveyed with disturbing conviction. Many of this school's horrors will find resonance with viewers, even if their school was not so overt in its brutality.

'Memento Mori' is probably the best-known film here. Immediately, after 'Whispering Corridors', it's a relief to find the students more vivacious, relaxed and individualistic. There are even shades of St Trinians here - and, yes, even laugh-out-loud moments. The photography matches the colourful student body, and is at times quite beautiful, bringing in the CGI dramatically, as needed. Whilst an effective ghost story, the tale is also an exploration of time and memory, as the title suggests.

In some ways, including style, 'Wishing Stairs' is quite similar but has some even quirkier characters and more of a childish, fairy tale-like perspective that enhances the experience. However, this is the one time a slip-up in the quality of these films is evident, 'Wishing Stairs' goes so far in trying to be original yet cannot get away from various clichés of the genre. Shades of 'Ring' and other famous examples abound. What rescues the film ultimately is that on one level it is not a ghost story at all, but more a devastating psychological portrait of ambition and loneliness. Like other great ghost stories of the past (e.g. 'Turn of the Screw') it can be interpreted in many different ways.

From 'Wishing Stairs' to 'The Voice', the focus shifts from ballet to choir, and in this fourth film we discover the crown jewel in what is already an embarrassment of riches. 'The Voice' could also be described as a hidden gem as it seems the least known of the four. As the title suggests, much of the story is auditory, in the air, sounds that one may or may not be hearing. The link with schizophrenia is clear and forms an important part of the plot. This isn't really a spoiler, as this is at the very beginning of the film, but just in case you feel it might be I'll warn you now - SPOILER ALERT - one of the most effective devices used here is in telling the story largely through the ghost's perspective. This adds to the complexity of the film and also to its terror - it is probably the only one of the four films to actually achieve this, as the others are quite mild in the fear factor (emphasising, as they do, the horrors of human nature more than anything beyond).

While all four films demand revisiting, 'The Voice' is probably the one which will continually yield more and more secrets each time. To paraphrase Cho-ah, one of the striking leads, 'This is a time of dogs and wolves. At sunset you cannot tell whether it's a dog or a wolf in the distance... It's time for the truth to be hidden. Or to be revealed.'

This review may seem over-long, but at most I've only given a glimpse of the riches offered in this quartet. Four superb films, strong in acting, concept and production, at the price you would normally pay for one meagre blockbuster - a bargain on so many levels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value set, 14 Nov. 2009
By 
Chinatown Blue "cthulhoid" (S-O-T, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost School Horror (Whispering Corridors / Memento Mori / Wishing Stairs / The Voice) [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
The four films in this set do share similar themes and of course, the same setting, but each of them brings something different to the theme. If you are looking for outright gore or torture porn, don't waste your time; these movies rely on atmosphere, on a build-up of creepiness to a pitch of tencion. They also focus on characterisation, on creating characters you actually care about. They touch on dangerous and challenging topics, such as child cruelty, same-sex relationships, and the vestiges of Japanese colonialism in Korea. Yet they manage to be successful as horror stories. And you get four full length movies for your money, which can't be sneered at. Quality entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 10 Feb. 2009
By 
This review is from: Ghost School Horror (Whispering Corridors / Memento Mori / Wishing Stairs / The Voice) [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This is a great box set to fall on when you are looking for something to do. I found that a couple of the films are hard to find on their own, but this way, I could asure that I was getting the whole lot.

The films are very similar, but luckily they are all very enjoyable. Some are scarier than others, but they all have interesting characters and are really well told. My personal favourite is 'Wishing Stairs', I think that's beause it's the most relatable.

To summarize, if you like K-Horror, this is a must have, you are not a K-Horror fan til you have this in your collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some of the best films ever made!, 25 July 2013
By 
L. Williamson (Whitley Bay, N E) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost School Horror (Whispering Corridors / Memento Mori / Wishing Stairs / The Voice) [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
The whispering Corridors movies are by no means scary however they make up for horror in everything else!
Each film has a different story even though they are set in the same all girls school where some creepy happenings have been going on. In the my opinion the second film, Memento Mori, is the best film of the series. It has everything, Creepiness, Suspense and the list goes on.
All of the other films are very good too but the 2nd film captured my attention more.
This Box-set if a definite buy for any creepiness fans or people who just want a good story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm going back to school, 26 July 2012
This review is from: Ghost School Horror (Whispering Corridors / Memento Mori / Wishing Stairs / The Voice) [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This has just come up on my recommendations and I am snowed. I have all the titles apart from 'The Voice' which singularily is not available in this region. That makes this set very attractive indeed! The stories are well made, creepy and atmospheric. The Wishing Stairs let you have your wish with horrific results, Memento Mori is about a couple of girls and a deadly obsession and Whispering Corridors is about a girl who only wants anoter chance to get things right at school. 'The Voice'...who knows, I'm going to have to buy the set!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, 14 Feb. 2012
By 
F I. FOTEVA "~~~ ^o^" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost School Horror (Whispering Corridors / Memento Mori / Wishing Stairs / The Voice) [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I am so happy that I found the original box set!. It even has behind the scenes footage on some of the movies! It is not HD but it is great quality!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Chilling Tales, 24 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost School Horror (Whispering Corridors / Memento Mori / Wishing Stairs / The Voice) [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
I didn't know what to expect but as ghost story fan I ordered this set due to the excellent reviews. And I am pleased I did. These aren't super scary or gory thankfully but have enough spookiness to spark your imagination and give you goosebumps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Recommended., 19 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost School Horror (Whispering Corridors / Memento Mori / Wishing Stairs / The Voice) [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
This Whispering Corridor series is definitely worth checking out. I've seen three out of the four films and each have been interesting while also being different enough from each other to not cause boredom. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Dec. 2014
By 
yogaworm "Tina" (Corsham Wiltshire UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost School Horror (Whispering Corridors / Memento Mori / Wishing Stairs / The Voice) [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
brilliant buy for the money - a must for Asian cinema fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good film, 23 Aug. 2014
By 
Seligor "Seligor's Castle" (Pontybodkin, North Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghost School Horror (Whispering Corridors / Memento Mori / Wishing Stairs / The Voice) [DVD] [1998] (DVD)
Excellent if like me you like Asian Films and Dramas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews