Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great show, bad dvd
This is one of the funniest and realistic shows around. The characters are great and it makes excellent viewing for a girls night in. I can't fault any of the episodes, they are all brilliant. There is definately something for everyone. It really is like watching your best friends on screen. The episodes on this DVD definately get 5 stars from me.
One problem...
Published on 6 Mar 2002

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Season; Poor DVD Collection
The first season of "Sex and the City" is full of great moments. It's a true must-have for any fan of the show because it introduces each of the characters, and sets up thier various storylines in a way not seen in later seasons. It's also really interesting to see how the programme has changed from this first season to the last. I also found that alot of the episodes...
Published on 7 July 2005 by Trey Mercartné


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 55 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great show, bad dvd, 6 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This is one of the funniest and realistic shows around. The characters are great and it makes excellent viewing for a girls night in. I can't fault any of the episodes, they are all brilliant. There is definately something for everyone. It really is like watching your best friends on screen. The episodes on this DVD definately get 5 stars from me.
One problem though: why has it not been released on the UK pal format? I was very disappointed to discover that it doesn't work on my TV and so I have to watch it on my computer which just isn't the same.
Great show, Bad DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first series of the rest of your life, 14 Nov 2006
By 
Louise (Coventry, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the first time that the girls, Carrie, Miranda, Samantha and Charlotte graced our screens as the straight talking, sex talking career girls of New York that we all wanted to emulate in one way or another. It's great to look back and so how the series changed and developed as the seasons wore on. And it's still great to watch. If you are going to collect the box sets... then this is a good place to start!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lewd, Crude but Fantastic Fun!, 13 Sep 2005
By 
The whole Sex and The City series make wonderfully compulsive and uplifting viewing... rather like watching an agony aunt column on relationships through the eyes of four quite different, but equally disarming women. Women get to identify with the million-and-one observations of the four women, whilst men get a fascinating insight into the female psyche. However, there are no cringe-inducing cliches here.
If you haven't seen the whole series on TV then you get the chance to see what you've been missing and if you've already seen it, like me, then you get to savour the fabulous Carrie-Big saga. A true love story told without over-sentimentality and complete with all the frustrations and diversions of real life. This is a classic series of Friends proportions, though with a little more drama. There are plenty of laugh-out-loud scenes and the dialogue is witty and concise with no 'filler' material in sight. The characters are perfectly drawn and the one drawback of purchasing Series One alone is that you'll soon wish you'd bought the box set instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Men - you may learn something, 15 April 2001
This is Bridget Jones with New York chic. No large grey knickers appear on the pert butts of the four thirty-something sassy women as they navigate through the minefield that is the Big Apple. Sex right side up, wrong side up, al fresco, singly, in pairs, threes and groups, gay and mechanical, monogamy, love, prostitution and nymphomania all come under the microscope for discussion and/or experimentation...... A major health warning for men who think that girl-talk is all frocks and lipstick.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't be scared, guys, it's good stuff!, 14 April 2001
By A Customer
When I first heard of this series, I approached it with a sense of fear and trepidation. After all, a US sitcom based around four 30-something New Yorker women taking the proverbial out of the weaker sex's "athletic" abilities did not seem to bode well, let alone promise any degree of entertainment. After all, we all think we're perfect, don't we...
Anyway, after getting over this initial stigma, I decided to give the series a whirl. Initially it was a bit of a shock, as I was expecting the standard US turgid pap, but the first signs were promising - no canned laughter! As the first episode progressed I also realised that this series was conforming to the standard ideals of HBO programming - excellent performances (spot on casting all round), brilliant dialogue, and (almost as importantly!) four letter words and nudity! Having come across from the cossetting land of Friends, this made a most refreshing change. It also comes across at times as a slightly less paranoid, female biased version of something Woody Allen may have produced if he worked for HBO.
To cut to the chase, I'd recommend this to anyone looking for an intelligent and genuinely funny comedy programme, but with the proviso that you have to have a fairly broad mind! Okay the dialogue does have a go at us blokes, but not in a "all men are scum" way, and to be fair, the women aren't exactly portrayed as angels all the time, either...!
And if you think Series 1 was good, just you wait for Series 2...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely brilliant, 2 July 2001
By A Customer
Fantastically acted, extremely well scripted, funny beyond belief and so true to life, the characters are well thought out, and the designer outfits are to die for. Top viewing for men as well as women. Buy it now!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unadulterated fun..., 14 April 2001
By 
G. H. C. Kilvington (Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The hip, chic and sassy wise cracking mega babes of the metropolis that is, Manhatten, take us on a journey through the battlefield that is SEX! Managing to overcome diabloical and outrageous sexual encounters with the opposite sex, the four sexy girls manage to pull in the laughs from female and male counterparts alike...At times sentimental and encouraging, it brings home a lesson to us all...sex, be it in a city, is fun!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shockingly hilarious!, 18 Aug 2003
By A Customer
Consistently funny, and scarily close to the truth to how women think.
Definetly a girly night in DVD but if you want to teach your man a thing or two make them watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good Season; Poor DVD Collection, 7 July 2005
The first season of "Sex and the City" is full of great moments. It's a true must-have for any fan of the show because it introduces each of the characters, and sets up thier various storylines in a way not seen in later seasons. It's also really interesting to see how the programme has changed from this first season to the last. I also found that alot of the episodes were brand new to me because this season is so rarely broadcast on television.
The problem with this DVD Boxset is that the video quality isn't what it should be. The video has been ported directly from it's original American NTSC format and unfortunatley it has a very grainy quality to it. This is the only real problem with the DVD boxset and it's a shame that the publishers did not make more of an effort to fix these quality problems. There are some nice special features including a very interesting behind-the-scenes featurette, but the video quality issues are a problem you can't escape. Apart from that, this is a must have for any "Sex and the City" fan - just be prepared for dissapointing video quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I'm only a man, 16 Jan 2011
By 
H. Carlton "autobiogfreak" (London, Eng.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sex And The City: The Complete Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Okay, I'm only a man but I love, love, LOVE this series.
I think it is the wittiest series ever shown on TV.
The acting and casting is the best, too.
I have all the seasons, but of course watching this first season is extra thrilling as one sees how it began and how it will develop.
This is the Noughties Friends, less innocent, sexier, and funnier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sex And The City: The Complete Season 1 [DVD]
Sex And The City: The Complete Season 1 [DVD] by Matthew Harrison (DVD - 2008)
£15.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews