Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (95)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


69 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let me clear a few things up...
I'm writing this as I feel a few people may be put off buying this superb set for all the wrong reasons. The version of Temple of Doom available in this set is the version released in this country way back in 1984... THERE IS NO DIFFERENCE. The BBFC did indeed cut 1 minute and 6 seconds from the film back then. In particular a shot of Mola Rams hand plunging into the...
Published on 12 Oct 2003 by Simon McMahon

versus
31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother....
If you already own the 4 disc boxset released a few years ago, there really is no point in getting this. Yes, the extras are different but not as extensive or interesting as those on the 4 disc set. Even if you don't own the films, I would advise either getting the earlier 4 disc box set, or maybe waiting till later in the year when they're bound to release another boxset...
Published on 7 May 2008 by M. Evans


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

69 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let me clear a few things up..., 12 Oct 2003
By 
Simon McMahon "Film Buff" (Chelmsford, Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I'm writing this as I feel a few people may be put off buying this superb set for all the wrong reasons. The version of Temple of Doom available in this set is the version released in this country way back in 1984... THERE IS NO DIFFERENCE. The BBFC did indeed cut 1 minute and 6 seconds from the film back then. In particular a shot of Mola Rams hand plunging into the sacrificial victims chest, shots of said victim burning as he closes with the lava and a scene of Short round getting flogged by Thugee guards.
The BBFC felt that these scenes were unsuitable for children (the target audience of the movie) and cut the scenes accordingly. Indeed the Anerican equivelant the MPAA felt the same way, Steven Spielberg came to an arrangement with them and lo and behold the PG-13 rating was introduced (it took us a few years to catch up with our own 12 rating). the BBFC offered Spielberg the option to have it passed uncut at a 15 rating. Spielberg refused and hence the cut version came into being.
Let me assure you unless you have seen the American version of this movie this DVD will the version of TOD that you love and cherish as much as I do!!! Some of the articles I have read regarding this subject seem to indicate that these cuts are new made specifically for the DVD (that includes the reviews on this site)and I just thought I'd set the record straight THEY ARE NOT! (if, like me, you want the uncut version its time to get a multi region chip!!!).
Oh and rumour has it that when the trilogy was released on video a few years back, the BBFC offered to re-rate it. Spielberg refused... (the BBFC have been very good with rerating old films recently and passing them uncut so I think this rumour may well be true).
Anyway, these films are the best in the world (and that is official by the way) cut or uncut, so sit back whack up the volume and enjoy... Adios, Sapito.... ominous rumble....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Smashing box set!, 17 Jan 2005
A little note for the REAL Indiana Jones fans...If you own a multi-regional DVD player, then I highly recommend that you buy the region 1 box set, rather than the UK version (region 2). It has the uncut version of Temple of Doom. The ripping-out-heart scene is more tense and more detailed than the UK one, which does it more justice and puts back some of the darkness into the film - how Lucas and Spielberg originally intended it to be. It also answers my question of why there isn't an horrific open wound in the victim's chest before being lowered into the hot lava pit (also a longer, more tense scene.) In the scene where Shortround is being beaten, Indiana actually swears in it!!! (Which gave me hot flushes! Every man should endeavour to be like Indiana Jones...)The bonus material (over 3 hours) is the same as the UK version, and is excellent. Buy this trilogy box set!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic movie entertainment, 14 Nov 2003
By A Customer
What's there to say about the Indiana Jones trilogy that hasn't been said already? The George Lucas, Steven Speilberg collaboration has created three landmark movies that have stood the test of time. Countless movies have borrowed elements from the trilogy, but all have failed miserabley to replicate its subtle humour and its edge of the seat thrills. Harrison Ford is perfectly cast as the globe trotting archeologist who battles both Nazis and evil occultists on his quest for rare and holy artefacts. For those interested in the cinema this box-set is an absolute must and a essential edition to any dvd collection, with hours of extras and in depth interviews on all three films this is definately worth the money. Roll on number 4!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 96 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As you will remember them, 26 Oct 2003
By A Customer
Reading some reviews you would think that temple of Doom has been diced sliced and diluted untill it is a shadow of it's former self. Well it is the EXACT SAME as it was when it was released in the cinema. You STILL see the guy get his Heart getting ripped out as you saw it origionally NOTHING has been cut. The cut that people keep going on about is about a minute extra of blood that was cut before it was even released in Britain, America introduced the PG 13 rating just to cover it.
So if it really means that much to you get the American one.
As for me I've never seen the cut segment don't care about it and think that it cannot take away from the enjoyment of the film one little bit.
The Box set is fantastic and crystal clear quality, films are fantastic.
If you like Indiana Jones just buy and don't listen to all the talk about cuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Man With the Hat is Back...and on DVD...., 7 Nov 2003
By 
Alex Diaz-Granados "fardreaming writer" (Miami, FL United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
At last! Since the advent of the Digital Video Disc format in the late 1990s, there have been two long-awaited movie trilogies: the Classic Star Wars films and the Adventures of Indiana Jones. Since scuttlebutt has it that the former probably won't be released on DVD till 2005 to either precede, coincide, or follow the theatrical release of Star Wars Episode III, fans now at least have something to celebrate with the four-disc Indiana Jones set.
The Adventures of Indiana Jones consists of the first three films of the George Lucas-Steven Spielberg collaborative creation, 1981's Raiders of the Lost Ark, 1984's Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom, and 1989's Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade. Rounding out the set is the Bonus Material disc, which includes making-of documentaries, featurettes, trailers, and links to the Indiana Jones DVD site.
Raiders of the Lost Ark, by far, is the best of the three films. Inspired by the serial films of the 1930s and '40s, it was actually one of the two projects conceived by George Lucas in the 1970s after he wrapped up American Grafitti in 1972. One was a space-fantasy adventure inspired by Flash Gordon, and the other was the more Earthbound archeologist/adventurer named (at first) Indiana Smith. Of course, Lucas developed the Star Wars concept first, but even as he and Spielberg were vacationing in Hawaii in the summer of 1977, Lucas pitched his idea of the raiders of the Lost Ark as the two filmmakers built a sand castle on the beach.
Based on a concept by Phil Kaufman, Lucas' story and the screenplay by Lawrence Kasdan pit the daring archeologist Indiana Jones (Harrison Ford) against Nazis and Rene Belloq (Paul Freeman), a rogue French archeologist who has a habit of crossing paths with Indy and often beating him to other coveted relics. Hired by the U.S. government to locate an item called "the headpiece of the staff of Ra" after Army Intelligence intercepts a Nazi message which ties the piece to Abner Ravenwood, a former mentor of Indy's, our hero deduces that the Germans are really looking for the Lost Ark of the Covenant. Soon Indy is in a race against time and a horde of Nazi spooks and soldiers to find one of the greatest religious artifacts of all time before it can be taken to Adolf Hitler himself. Aided by his mentor's daughter (and former lover) Marion Ravenwood (Karen Allen) and his loyal Egyptian friend Sallah (John Rhys-Davies, who has also starred as Gimli in the Lord of the Rings Trilogy), Indy risks life and limb on his daring raid for the Lost
Ark.
1984's Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom, with a story by Lucas and a screenplay by Willard Huyck and Gloria Katz, is a darker chapter in the series. On a quest for several missing Sankara stones in India, Indy and his companions Short Round (Ke Huy Quan) and Willie Scott (Kate Capshaw) encounter a dangerous cult of Thugees based in Pankot Palace. Its very scary scenes (including a really gross banquet and a human sacrifice) earned Temple of Doom one of the first PG-13 ratings. It's still quite a thrill ride, but many fans consider this as the weakest and least involving film in the Indiana Jones series.
Audiences fared better with 1989's Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade. Spielberg, working from a screenplay by writer Jeffrey Boam and a story by Lucas and Menno Meyjes, harkened back to the first Raiders film and evoked its mixture of thrills, chills and laughs and added a father-and-son dynamic with the casting of Sean Connery as Dr. Henry Jones, Sr. Although once again Indy faces off against Nazis on a search for a religious relic -- in this case, the Holy Grail -- and there are cliffhangers galore, it's the relationship between Connery and Ford's characters that makes Last Crusade more than a pale rehash of the first movie. Starting with a prologue featuring the late River Phoenix as young Indiana Jones (which explains our hero's choice of outfit, his phobia of snakes, and the scar on his chin) and ending with a ride-off-into-the-sunset credits sequence, Last Crusade is one of the best adventure movies ever made.
With great casts, amazing stunts and effects, thrilling scores by John Williams, and deft directing by Spielberg, these three films defined adventure films in the 1980s and their popularity still resonates more than 20 years after the premiere of Raiders of the Lost Ark.

About the DVDs: I think they are good. They have been digitally remastered and given the "royal treatment" by Lucasfilm and Paramount. The menus are astonishing, and the sound mix is good. I can only speak for myself and not for other fans who, judging by other reviews, have been disappointed by this collection of long-awaited films. True, there is no audio commentary by George Lucas and/or Steven Spielberg, but no DVD of a Spielberg film (and I have several in my collection) has that feature. It's something Spielberg hates doing ("Now, in this scene, watch how I cleverly made a reference to Raiders' famous 'Indy-shoots-the-guy-with-the-sword!' ") and it's not really necessary, even for students of film. I have discovered that director's commentary is worthwhile if the director and others involved in the track actually have something meaningful to say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Box Set By Far !, 7 Nov 2003
By 
T. Hope "Mister Hope" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
..having enjoyed the countless times that lovable Antique Hunter has been on the BBC..i was in heaven when i heard it was finally coming to DVD in October..in July. These countless months of waiting have paid off. It couldn't be better..again nothing is cut that we should be seeing and it is re-mastered in sight and sound.
The bonus disc is crammed full of the bonus material you would expect to find on a trilogy box set such as this.
George and Steve. Great Job.
..And now i go to finish watching this DVD boxset, the favourite in my vast collection of films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still 3 x Great Films - But Pointless IF You Bought The 4 Disc Set Already..., 27 May 2008
By 
Adam Jackson "Symphonic Metal Fan" (Stoke On Trent , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Indiana Jones: The Adventure Collection (Raiders of the Lost Ark, Temple of Doom & Last Crusade) [DVD] (DVD)
The original trilogy all together in a new box set - however MINUS the 4th, stand alone, special features Bonus DVD! Basically, the special features are spread out over the 3 discs this time and don't appear to add anything really new.
I have the (2003) 4 disc set and if you already have that, there looks little reason to buy this (the films are not any longer & do not have any extra scenes etc). The packaging is really good on the 4 disc edition & is much better than when I looked at this set the other day in Tesco! If you own neither box set, my advice may be to hunt for the 4 discs....
3 x Great movies; Raiders Of The Lost Ark (1981) - still the best! Indiana Jones And The Temple Of Doom (1984) - dark & moody! and Indiana Jones And The Last Crusade (1989) - closer in tone to the first film but perhaps slightly too comedic??
Great plots, memorable characters, fantastic action setpieces (some of the very best gun fights, fist fights & car chases ever filmed), stunning locations, stunning cinematography/editing & some truly awesome visual effects ( All 3 movies have supernatural elements, most prevalent in Raiders Of The Lost Ark).
Also a stunning set of scores by genius film composer, John Williams (Star Wars, Jaws, CE3K).
And all this under the masterful direction of a Spielberg firing on ALL cylinders, and with a career defining performance from Harrison Ford that makes for one of the most engaging heroic characters ever created!
These are perfect films for all generations, although it should be pointed out that Raiders & Temple Of Doom are quite bloody in places, with some farly violent scenes - for all the old fashioned feel, there's no shortage of blood & bullets at times!
Absoluteley no sexual content or any bad language whatsoever, so safe for the grandkids (who all love a bit of blood & guts!)
I've reviewed the new movie & I thought it was good, better than I expected!
5 STARS ARE FOR THE MOVIES THEMSELVES - up to you, if you want the 3 discs or 4.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Box Set, 3 Aug 2005
I love box sets, especially when they come with a bonus disk full of extras. So no suprises that I love this collection of the Indiana Jones movies.
The movies, everyone nows about so I wont mention much here. Only that they look stuning on DVD, I didn't see them in the cinema so I can't really compare, but still good, clean versions.
My personal favourite is Raiders, obviously a great start and a brilliant story line. I was shocked, the first time I saw it, that the melting heads at the end still got a PG (If you watch the extras you will discover this movie helped create the PG-13, certificate that so many movies try and get now adays).
My second favourie is the Last Crusade, I think Sean Connery is great, just what you'd expect from Indiana's dad. The Temple of Doom is not bad, but not great.
The extra disk, contains three main documentaries about the three movies, which you can view as one whole feature length 180 min odd doc. This is a brilliant insight into what George Lucas and Steven Spielburg did to make these great movies.
The other features a good too. The Music doc is interesting as is the stunt doc. There is also a ILM doc and the trailers of all three movies.
Overall a great box set that should fit into anyones collection just fine. My only worry is, if they make a fourth, it wont look good next to this thing on my shelf!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest dvd release of the year!, 11 Oct 2003
By 
Boshuda (Wakefield, UK) - See all my reviews
Indiana Jones..those are the words associated with the greatest adventure stories ever put on celluloid.Now the proffesor is back and into the digital age..released on DVD in a frame by frame restoration with THX enhanced sound!
It has been a long time coming but better late than never.Also included is an astounding 4th disc packed full of new interviews and retrospectives by those involved especially made for this DVD.(Full use is made of the Lucasfilm archives).Why are you reading this review get out your card details and order this now!!
(If you have read the earlier reviews, of Region 2 cuts in the film, fear not. The versions here are the ones originally shown in British cinemas on release. The cuts were made way back then, so you are not missing anything that wasn't there originally.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fortune and glory, 7 Nov 2003
By 
Quintin Cloud "quintin_weather" (South Africa) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When I saw the movie on the TV it was a big hit for me, but now that the adventures of Indiana Jones is now on DVD it has taken all three movies to a new level.
The sound and piture quality is remastered and it is in 5.1 surround which make the movie even more enjoyable, The 4th bonus disc is very informitive and seeing Tom seleck try out for the role Indy quiet funny.
The DVD box set is must for any adventure or classic movie lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews