Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diagnosis Murder on Region 2
Finally! Diagnosis Murder on Region 2 DVD. Have been waiting for this for ages. Can't wait for the other seasons to be released on Region 2 as well. This box set looks smart and with all 19 episodes from th first season (including an episode starring Dr Sloan from Jake and the Fatmen). Would definitely recommend to all DM lovers out there.
Published on 10 May 2008 by Krisy P

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff but not consistent
There are a lot of seasons and episodes to review so I am not going to do that. These comments are more generalised. At times this series is first rate, at other times it sinks into the lowest common denominator mire. I have a simple formulaic question I pose to each episode: Does the episode show you who the murderer is at or near the start? If it's yes the episode is I...
Published 1 month ago by tubbydaddy


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars great viewing, 17 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diagnosis Murder - Season 1 [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Diagnosis murder is a great entertaining series …..as well as a serious side it is also funny ...the storylines are good and its great to see the van dyke family pop up in some episodes ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars diagnosis murder season1, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diagnosis Murder - Season 1 [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
diagnosis murder is well written the actors are very good i gave it five stars because i like watching the crimes and some of stories are light hearted .the plot of disagnosis murder isDick Van Dyke plays Dr Mark Sloan he helps the police slove murders its great tv show .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars diagnosis murder, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
the best murder mystery show on tv i never miss an episode i no longer worry with the dvd set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD DIAGNOSIS MURDER SEASON 1 - TERRIFIC, 9 Jan 2011
By 
Karen Squires (ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diagnosis Murder - Season 1 [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I have thoroughly enjoyed watching the wonderful, charismatic Dick Van Dyke as the hospital doctor Mark Sloan. How marvellous to have the joy of seeing this wonderful actor in such a good, well acted, family friendly show. Well done to you all. I would certainly recommend this show to anyone who likes a good who done it, with well drawn affable characters. Please hurry and release the rest of the seasons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars diagnosis murder, the story begins, 1 Oct 2007
By 
Bj Lucas "saculnamron" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
this is the first season of Diagnosis murder, following the first appearance of Dr. Mark sloan in the series 'Jake and the fatman'and three made for T.V movies, a series was commisioned. This season, Mark has to contend with, a double dealing priest in the very first episode, An amnesia pateient (or is she fakeing it?) in Amnesia, the mob, in vanishing act, In which Mark's son Steve, gets caught up in a plot. Amanda come face to face with her past in reunion with murder, and The plague makes a return.

Join dick Van Dyke, Barry Van Dyke, Scott Baiou and Victoria rowell for some highly entertaining mystery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good stuff but not consistent, 1 Mar 2014
By 
tubbydaddy (Pontefract UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Diagnosis Murder - Season 1 [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
There are a lot of seasons and episodes to review so I am not going to do that. These comments are more generalised. At times this series is first rate, at other times it sinks into the lowest common denominator mire. I have a simple formulaic question I pose to each episode: Does the episode show you who the murderer is at or near the start? If it's yes the episode is I stop watching. If it's no I carry on watching. There is no entertainment in seeing who the killer is at the start and then watching how long it takes Dr Sloan et al to catch up. I like my detective dramas to keep the killer hidden until the end, like Christie and on a lighter note Murder She Wrote. Keeping it hidden gives us the chance to work it out for ourselves, which is much more rewarding. Being spoonfed the killer(s) at the start is just an exercise in laziness; and projects quite a negative view of the viewers' intelligence. Solve it yourself is a much more positive view of the viewers. There is no consistency as such; but the earlier ones with Scott Baio seem to be more about solve it yourself. The plotlines were also better. Good fayre for a rainy afternoon or early evening; but not one I would choose to buy on DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It is o.k., 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diagnosis Murder - Season 1 [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
I like this , but I have had season 1-3 for a long time and have been waiting for season 4 for a very, very, very, very long time, and they have never never put it onto Amazon.
I think Norman is the main idiot, who does not do much work and is a weirdo.
Dr. Mark Sloan is good fun and so are Amanda, Steve and Jack is o.k., but I prefer Jesse.
Mark's Secretary is also nice.
Norman is really stupid with most thing, as he does seem to understand most of them and he speaks stupid as well.
He is short and fat and does not do much exercise and he eats too much.
I have enjoyed them for many years and now have sold 2 seasons and will sell season 1 at some point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well done Dr Sloan !, 16 Nov 2008
By 
Mr. Mg Reynolds "Carry On fan" (Oxfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Diagnosis Murder - Season 1 [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Murder, She Wrote - Season 6 [1989]
This is very enjoyable stuff and thank goodness it is out on DVD ! The cast are a hoot ! It is in the tongue in cheek tradition of Columbo , Murder She Wrote & Quincy and as such is delightfully easy to watch ! You get the feeling that if Agatha Christie had written about a medical sleuth then this is sort of how it would have been. Diagnosis Murder deserves to be popular as it is updated drawing room fare a la Helen Hayes as Jane Marple or Sir Peter Ustinov as Poirot. Amazon deserve the credit for offering this fine show at a competitive price as not all of us can either be at home to watch it on TV during the weekday afternoons or operate a DVD recorder !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as good or cheesy as the later series, 4 Jun 2008
By 
Bridget O (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Diagnosis Murder - Season 1 [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Having waited ages for this to come to DVD it's a little disappointing. However it great to be able to sit at home and watch these and have a laugh at/with Dick Van Dyke. Great character as Dr Sloan. Good for watching on a Sunday afternoon and relaxing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars THE ALTERNATIVE TO MURDER , SHE WROTE., 16 Jun 2009
By 
NEO "Daren" (orpington kent) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Diagnosis Murder - Season 1 [DVD] [1993] (DVD)
Diognosis Murder is very much in keeping with an un-demanding crime/Medical series. Starring most of the Van Dyke clan from in front to behind the camera's which is no bad thing. Screen and musical legend Dick Van Dyke stars as Dr Mark Sloan who is attached to the Police to help solve crimes. And Dick's real life and on-screen Son played by Barry Van Dyke as Detective Steve Sloan. Also from series two we see Barry's real life son as Medical Student Alex Martin played by Shane Van Dyke. The stories are of the standard type from extortion cases and murder and all the medical related crime in-between. It makes for good viewing and its good to see it on Dvd which seems to have taken a long time to happen. The series ran for eight seasons of 178 episodes including 5 specials from 1992-2001.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa3c21eac)

This product

Diagnosis Murder - Season 1 [DVD] [1993]
Diagnosis Murder - Season 1 [DVD] [1993] by Dick Van Dyke (DVD - 2008)
9.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews