Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great cooker, 30 April 2010
By 
N. Phillips (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trangia 27 Non-Stick Cookset With Kettle & Spirit Burner (Sports)
Great cooker, packs down very well, very easy to use and cheap fuel. get the 27 series if cooking for 2 people max. for more people get the 25 series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trangia, 4 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Trangia 27 Non-Stick Cookset With Kettle & Spirit Burner (Sports)
This is the second Trangia I have bought and both times I haven't been disappointed. They have been bumped about, loved and have never failed. My second purchase was the Trangia 27 series. On reflection I would have gone for the 25 again as it is not that much bigger and the 27 won't feed two really hungry campers easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing bit of kit, 19 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Trangia 27 Non-Stick Cookset With Kettle & Spirit Burner (Sports)
The trangia stove series (whatever flavour you choose) are; in their design principles... exactly the same. A lower and upper wind shield, mated together by twist locking latches. A pan set, a kettle and a burner. The flavours change of course by their pan choice (non-stick/ultra light) and the 25 series is simply bigger. Non stick pans are the quality non stick surface type, not the cheap non stick coating. I compare it to my best tefal pan at home...that's how good!

Now here is the good bit! The trangia stove is amazing in whatever flavour. Its design is unrivalled, in that not one other package gives such a complete setup in such a compact design. No other manufacturer has created a product that does what trangia stoves do! Yes they come close but they always somehow ruin it with a features that tries to win the mass market (like a super rubber coating for lovely ergonomic grip...said in a cheesy deep sales voice), where of course trangia does not, simply because it does not need to win the market by sales pitch or silly feature, it does it by simple quality design principle.

The windbreaker for starters, is the best design you can find, its design uses wind direction; even if somewhat random direction, to bellow the flame. Heat travels up the side of the pans/kettle and not a lot of energy is wasted! And it's never gone out on me (gas or spirit burner) due to the wind!

So if the pans are great quality and the wind breaker is amazing, all in a neat little package that tucks into itself, what else can you expect?

The burner (Spirit) is quite the little gadget. I suspect most people did what I did when I bought my trangia and that is to opt for a gas burner thinking I would not use the spirit burner. What I found was that the spirit burner is a little gem! It is not simply a brass pit of meths! The design utilises the heat that the flame in the big hole in the middle creates, heat vaporises the fuel inside the container. Gas jets are created and the thing is literally is like a little gas ring on a cooker hood. You have to learn how to get the best from it, but I urge you, don't underestimate your spirit burner and throw it to ones side. When you can't find gas cartridge, I assure you someone will have spirits for sale that you can burn. P.S use the little gadget they send with the burner (simmer ring) you can slide the cover over the flame to dull its edge, my goal is to cook up a slow cooked curry one time with the simmer ring on in my billy can...things in the outdoors take time...you should know that, but good things come to those who wait. By the time the burner has boiled I'm sure in saying you will still be putting your tent up or be deep into conversation. (For the record it boils a full kettle in about 10 mins)

Finally the gas burner...there is not much to say if I'm honest, it's a primus product and I think the only thing trangia about it is the name on top. As its primus it's a great quality gas burner, efficient on fuel, equipped (due to its double back fuel line setup) to cope with cold weather by pre-heating and vaporising the fuel in the line, and is a sturdy bit of kit that packs away into the kettle/pan space too. Its super fast and I can boil a kettle in a little under 3mins 30 seconds (on full pelt which saps fuel, 5 mins if you use it modestly)

All in all I don't look back in buying my trangia; I only wish I could get what I paid for all those other rubbish products while trying to find something that works this well!

Accessories include...well, have a browse but you won't get caught short of additions and my no.1 tip is the 2.5l billy for the 27 series the full stove packs into this even!...Amazing!

Kind Regards

Tony.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trangia 27 the Volvo of stoves, 22 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Trangia 27 Non-Stick Cookset With Kettle & Spirit Burner (Sports)
This stove is great. A bit heavy for a stove at just under 1Kg BUT you get two saucepans a frying pan AND a kettle , a complete cooking system ready to go.

Fuel is easy to get here in Spain , I just but medical alcohol from a chemist and at 75 cents for a 500mm bottle fuel is cheap.

A Trangia stove will last you a life time and you will leave it to the kids. Buy a Trangia you will not regret it and cant go wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, effective, reliable., 26 Mar. 2015
By 
Andrea Cattolico (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trangia 27 Non-Stick Cookset With Kettle & Spirit Burner (Sports)
Hard to fault this product.

Surely, there's smaller and/or lighter stuff out there; but the Trangia design is hard to beat for how practical it is. I've found myself using it at home, one day we had a power-cut and nothing was working. Good ol' meths burner made a 2 courses dinner in 30min and one fill of the burner. Brilliant.
The accessories are well though too, the pot handle is rock-solid, so much better than flimsy handles found on those ultralight pots. Not talking about the Trangia Multidisc, what an awesome thing! Draining pasta from the pot is super-safe and quick and very convenient.
Going back to "mix&match" ultralight pots and cooking sistems becomes a real chore. The Trangia is a solid piece of kit that will last.
Just be careful to the non-stick frypan. One may get carried away, as it is wide and much more usable than those tiny 10cm ultralight titanium lids; the Trangia can actually cook well, but make sure you put oil or butter, and always stir/mix so the food won't stick at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great camp cooker., 28 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trangia 27 Non-Stick Cookset With Kettle & Spirit Burner (Sports)
Fantastic camp cooker. Seems more economical than gas and works really well in the wind. Meths is much cheaper if you buy 2.5 litres. They never seem to have an ice-cold 500ml bottle anyway...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trangia 27 Non-Stick Cookset With Kettle & Spirit Burner, 15 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trangia 27 Non-Stick Cookset With Kettle & Spirit Burner (Sports)
Brilliant product, my son has used it on his youth test with the c&cc, also for his DofE. He took a few practice attempts to get used to the flame and meths, he did manage to burn the non stick off though. I would recommend this, I think I should have bought the ordinary set rather than the non stick - but that's only because my son burnt it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Trangia 27, 23 Feb. 2010
By 
J. Laing (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Trangia 27 Non-Stick Cookset With Kettle & Spirit Burner (Sports)
Compact, light and easy to use. Bought for motorbike touring.
Only problem is handle scratches the non stick but nothing a bit of insulating tape can't sort. Top product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trangia 27 Non-Stick Cookset With Kettle & Spirit Burner (Sports)
If you are buying one of these then you should already know how good they are. Unbeatable product. Only problem is that the pot handle comes into contact with the non stick coating when packed away which is hardly ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Trangias are great. suprising how much heat you can get out ..., 21 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Trangia 27 Non-Stick Cookset With Kettle & Spirit Burner (Sports)
Trangias are great. suprising how much heat you can get out of so little fuel.

This size suited me and girlfriend on cycle trip, you wouldn't want to cook for any more people than that
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews