Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Santa Vittoria review
I waited a long time for this to be available on DVD, only had it before as a copy of TV. One of those classic films that seemed to me to have never received it's full appreciation, great acting and presentation and recommended to anyone who likes a good film.
Published on 29 July 2009 by Mr. S. J. Matthews

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Secret of the Missing Editing of Santa Vittoria
I watched this movie when I was a kid and, like some films do, it had an enduring appeal to me. I didn't know what it was called but I just remembered the funny film where they hid the wine. So, some 35 years later I cast my (somewhat more jaded) eyes over the Secret of Santa Vittoria again.
It starts well with a bravura performance from Anthony Quinn as the drunkard...
Published on 31 Aug 2012 by Merlin's Owl


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Santa Vittoria review, 29 July 2009
By 
Mr. S. J. Matthews (London,UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I waited a long time for this to be available on DVD, only had it before as a copy of TV. One of those classic films that seemed to me to have never received it's full appreciation, great acting and presentation and recommended to anyone who likes a good film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Superb Fun, 19 Nov 2010
By 
Peter K. Day "dinerouk" (Doncaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anthony Quinn playing a drunken clown of a mayor, who surprises his fellow villagers. The superb Anna Magnani as his long-suffering, loud-mouthed wife and based on a true story of Nazis trying to steal 1 million bottles of their wine while the villagers attempt to keep it from them. Add a bit of love interest and a great Italian location and you have all ingredients for a rollicking, funny film you will play and play.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "What kind of people are you?", 28 Feb 2009
By 
Kona (Emerald City) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Secret of Santa Vittoria [DVD] [1969] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Bombolini (Anthony Quinn) is Santa Vittoria's resident fool, drunk, and lazy good-for-nothing, but everybody in town loves him. He becomes the new mayor just as the Germans are coming to occupy the village and confiscate over a million bottles of wine. Bombolini comes up with a plan to hide most of it, but will everyone keep the secret?

This drama with comedic elements has a lot going for it, especially Anthony Quinn in a happy-to-lucky role similar to his in Zorba The Greek with the wonderful Anna Magnani playing his long-suffering wife. Their scenes are full of earthy charm and raucous energy. Handsome Hardy Kruger plays the German captain who tries to find the wine; he's quite charming but his playfulness and non-violent approach to war are a bit hard to believe. Virna Lisi gives a solid performance as a troubled, snooty Countess who catches the captain's eye.

The movie, unfortunately, is too long by half, with the first hour moving at a snail's pace, and the energy fades when Quinn isn't on the screen. Still, I liked it a lot because the characters are real and endearing and the message of solidarity is a good one. Nicely photographed in Italy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anthony Quinn fan, 20 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Secret of Santa Vittoria [DVD] [1969] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
Never laughed so much. What an enjoyable film, but then again, for me, any film of Anthony Quinn is brilliant because I think he is an excellent first class actor. In this film his portrayal of Bombolini, coupled with Ana Magnani as his long suffering wife was excellent!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Many thanks .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charming and beautiful, 17 April 2014
This review is from: The Secret of Santa Vittoria (DVD)
At the start I was a bit miffed at an Italian film in English, but once I got over that it was a delicious voyage of charaterful light sprinkled charm, wish there were films made like this still.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must see movie especially if you are a fan of Anthony Quinn, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Have not seen this movie in such a long time, absolutely enjoyed it, Anthony Quinn and a great cast make this movie a hidden gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What do you do if you need a scapegoat? Choose an idiot!, 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just a good story. (Based on a true one.....?)
Anthony Quinn always worth watching.
Good action - "will they, won't they get away with it.?"
You can boo the Germans - sorry, Nazis.
The delivery of the victim might make some feel uncomfortable ("that's not very nice") - well, it's survival in time of war, isn't it?
Repeat viewing. Buy once, watch many times
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The secret of santa vittoria., 11 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Anthony Quinn is great in this film have not seen it in years, was looking at movies on amazon and saw it and thought i,ll have to have it,just as good as it was all those years ago , a must for Anthony Quinn fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the secret of santa vittoria, 24 Sep 2009
By 
Pietro M. Fugaccia "anzio1944" (glasgow,scotland,uk.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
very funny & sad at the same time,based on a true story which actually did happen as my in-laws are from that part of italy.worth watching for a evening in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Secret of Santa Vittoria [DVD] [1969] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
Used & New from: £22.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews