Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true classic
The review giving this only 2 stars is missing the point - Rome is a far more complex and intricate beast compared to the basic 'tank rush' strategies that generally can win the day in something like C&C.

To add to this you have the Civilization-esque conquest element to the game. To compare this game to something like C&C is like doing the same with an orange...
Published on 23 Feb. 2009 by Sectator of Mr Biffo

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A fun game.
Arcady but quite an absorbing game with pretty decent graphics. Quite a lot of fun to be had slinging great fireballs at the enemy, loosing off clouds of arrows and engaging in cavalry charges and all that sort of thing.
Published 21 months ago by KS


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A true classic, 23 Feb. 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome Anthology (PC DVD) (Computer Game)
The review giving this only 2 stars is missing the point - Rome is a far more complex and intricate beast compared to the basic 'tank rush' strategies that generally can win the day in something like C&C.

To add to this you have the Civilization-esque conquest element to the game. To compare this game to something like C&C is like doing the same with an orange and tomato - both very nice if you like that kind of thing but in no way substitutes for one another!

I like both games incidentally however would say Rome:TW is a far more involving game. The more you put in, the more you'll enjoy it. The Alexander expansion is worth doing only after completing the original game. I found Barbarian Invasion not quite to my liking however that again, is personal taste - the game itself works well and adds a different perspective to those who are hungry for more.

At the current price, this is a bargain to get the complete Rome:TW set. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rome Total War - a newbe's point of view, 21 May 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome Anthology (PC DVD) (Computer Game)
The game - great fun - horribly addictive! It sucks you in - I've sat down to play "a quick session", and lost track of time - next thing I knew it was time to go to bed, and I was in the middle of Gaul!

The good points: Fairly easy to learn play mechanisms, lots of help available.

Areas for improvement - a map of the world/province bounderies would have been helpful (this is not included in the on-disk manual, and the only ones I can find on the internet are for the "Total Realism" modded version, not the basic game)

Overall assessment - good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth revisiting, 9 Sept. 2009
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rome Anthology (PC DVD) (Computer Game)
I've played every new Total War game, practically on the day they've come out, and I have to say that Rome:TW really does bear up when revisited.

I picked up this bundle (which includes the original game and two expansion packs) on a whim, what with my original discs long lost. Even though the graphics don't inspire the same awe as they used to, this game is phenomenally good fun. It arguably still has the most accessible gameplay from the whole series, and the little historical details and the sense of period are very strong: the game can be genuinely educational even as you reshape history.

The main campaign mode, where you take one of Rome's great houses out into the Mediterranean world and then turn back to claim the title of emperor, is more finely balanced and exciting than in any other long-term game of this sort, perfectly balancing structure with free-form gameplay.

The AI, which has been an ongoing issue in the TW series, is at its peak here. On 'hard', the campaign map AI will be suitably aggressive.

Small problems were ironed out in the next episode - Medieval 2: Total War - such as the fact that actual combat can be over very quickly in this game, with morale playing perhaps too important a role. But this is nit-picking. Rome: Total War is years old now, but remains an eminently playable strategy game.

To conclude: it's better than Empire.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Swords and sandals, 4 Aug. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome Anthology (PC DVD) (Computer Game)
I bought Rome TW and it's expansions as they came out and still come back to play it.

Like all Total War games it is empire building with turn based strategy and battles resolved in real time. This is the best combination in my opinion as it seperates the 2 elements. In the real world whether to build a new port is a considered decision and field armies are not leaderless while the decision is made.

The graphics were great on release and still perfectly adequate. There is good variety in the different nations, the types of units they have and the resultant styles of warfare. I still love watching my little legionaries throw their Pilum then charge in with the Gladius. Panning across Alexaner's Phalanx advancing on the Persians is epic. You got to love the elephants!

In the original Rome TW there are 3 Roman family factions, one of which you lead. Your family members are your generals and provincial governors. Use them but try not to loose them, if your bloodline fails you loose. Barbarian covers the period of the fall of The Western Empire and introduces religion. You can be Eastern Roman or Western Roman trying to hold civilisation together. Alternatively play as one of many barbarian factions such as Saxon or Goth. Either way this is a considerably different style of gameplay rather than just a new set of maps and skins. Alexander is different again. The smallest in scale you are playing against the clock. Can you equal or exceed Alexander's conquests before the game ends when he, your faction leader, dies?

This is a big game that takes a lot of time and rewards with replayability. No two games play out the same. When you've played all of the above there are loads of mods online for everything from improved gameplay or historical acuracy to different periods or fantasy worlds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great game - expansions could be better, 21 Sept. 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome Anthology (PC DVD) (Computer Game)
Rome Total War Anthology is a seriously worthwhile buy despite the fact it has been around for a while. The basic game play is great for those who like the period and prefer old fashioned swords, spears and bows to muskets or cannons. The campaign map and graphics are not as detailed as the later Total War games, but the effort put in to make each individual battle unique and interesting is outstanding. Those new to the Total War experience will find this a simple and enjoyable way to get used to the turn based and dual perspective gameplay.

For me the expansion packs included within Rome Total War Anthology were a slight let down. Barbarian Invasion is a decent addition, offering a chance to experience gameplay with several new factions, units types and styles of warfare. However Alexander I found frustrating and difficult to get started. This may be because I dislike using hoplite/phalanx dominated armies, which I feel are usually too inflexible and easy to out maneuver. I also found that your primary enemies (most notably the Persian Empire), have a seemingly endless number of superior troops and even after I had defeated several full strength armies, I could not hold together the towns I had captured and expand any further at the same time, resulting in several embarrassing retreats back to Macedonia; effectively forcing you to restart. Having said that, better players than me will probably find the increased difficulty refreshing and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rome Anthology, 24 Nov. 2009
By 
M. Wood - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome Anthology (PC DVD) (Computer Game)
Even though this game is now a few years old it is still a great game. The tutorial at the start of the game will give you a good grounding for the future battles to come. It's not just about the battles, though, there is also a large element of management to the game, in maintaining and building the cities you capture. Overall a fantastic game that will give you many weeks of play for reasonably small amount of cash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simply one of the best games of its type, 19 Sept. 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome Anthology (PC DVD) (Computer Game)
despite its age, this game is still utterly amazing today. the game play is simple and yet has enough depth to keep a player interested for hours or even days as is my case. the campaign is split into two parts, the campaign map, where players organise cities build armies and advance their empires in a turn based style. this alone is an immersing experience as you can choose how much control the player has by setting auto-build or auto taxes on and off. the battle map is a whole new animal. here you can control your army in real time and have up to 16,000 units on the field all of which are rendered in graphics that are still competitive today. the controls are beautifully simple which makes for a highly addictive game.

any fan of total war or real time strategy that wants try something new from age of empires style game play would do well to try this as a starter; and if they like it there is no need to get another, though medieval total war 2 is on a par.

I bought this game in 2007 and am still playing it now for its variety and scope of play. I drift away now and again but always seem to come back which speaks volumes for its quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Game, 29 Mar. 2013
By 
Mr. L. Sutcliffe (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rome Anthology (PC DVD) (Computer Game)
An iconic game that sets the bar for strategy games on the PC and its a long standing series on PC which is thoroughly enjoyable and provides hours upon hours of fun.

The game takes place as it says on the case in the times when Rome was the dominant force in europe, starting factions are Roman but as you take out other factions some become unlockable such as Gauls, Britannia, Carthage and Selucids with powerfull elephant units and even the mighty Greece with Spartans!!

As you play through the game you have to ensure your cities are kept happy by providing entertainment and law and altering tax rates in order to stop rebellions, each faction has various different units and strengths and weaknesses meaning you must change your strategies depending on the faction you are playing.

As you play through the game historic events unfold and you are made aware of it such as the eruption at etna and egypt discovering glass etc so the game also serves to be educational when learning about the Roman era.

Overall 100% recommend this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent game, 20 Sept. 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome Anthology (PC DVD) (Computer Game)
my son loves this game cant get on the laptop for him playing game all time. good value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rome total war: greatest classic ever, 6 May 2009
By 
Mr. D. S. Ambrose "Dan" (watford uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Rome Anthology (PC DVD) (Computer Game)
well what can i write about this game, exploding pigs, elephants, spartans and too top all of one of the best ingame finance systems ive ever played what more can a man ask for from a rts, graphics run better then medival total war 2 which is A NEWER GAME, good content as well with the barbarian and Alexander expanisions, the Alexander one is a complete waste but this is a minor set back as barbarian invasion more then makes up for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rome Anthology (PC DVD)
Rome Anthology (PC DVD) by Avanquest Software (Windows 98 / Me / XP)
£8.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews