Customer Reviews


325 Reviews
5 star:
 (161)
4 star:
 (45)
3 star:
 (45)
2 star:
 (35)
1 star:
 (39)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


116 of 135 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diefies moral reading
I think (though I don't want to speak for anybody else) that the main reason some people don't like this movie is because it defies traditional moral and movie logic - there really is no moral compass here. What happens to every character is almost totally random, good deeds often results in terrible consequences and and bad deeds can go ahead unhindered - in this sense...
Published on 31 Dec. 2008 by Damon K. J. Mitchell

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I am not a fan of the coens, and I have never read the book.
The film is two thirds a great movie, sadly the last act is nonsense. I appreciate what the Coens were going for but I think the last act lets it down. Basically it all spins out of a drug deal gone south, Josh Brolins characters stumbles across the carnage while out hunting and takes the cash. That is what appears to be the main plot and is what the film seems to...
Published on 1 Nov. 2009 by genejoke


‹ Previous | 128 29 3033 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars wheres the plot gone?!, 3 May 2009
This review is from: No Country For Old Men [DVD] (DVD)
What a load of rubbush. While the film is stylishly shot, there is a paper thin plot, if any. The entire film is old men shoting alot of people, that's it. I am at a loss how it gets any good reviews never mind oscars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars no country for old men, 22 Mar. 2008
By 
John Williams - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Country For Old Men [DVD] (DVD)
What a crazy film.If you like a film with a ending,give this a miss.It started off really well,a good thriller,but towards the end did not make much sense.I don,t think they could think of an ending.It was so abrupt I thought the film had broken down.What a massive disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of the most unintentionally funny films I've ever watched, 7 July 2008
By 
P. Cook "Paul C" (Suffolk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Country For Old Men [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this film expecting to watch a dark, moody and thoughtful thriller, but what I got was a cliched and unintentionally very funny comedy, but all the more entertaining for being that. The story is basically about about a mad serial killer, whos motives are never revealed, cutting a bloody and very unrealistic swave through small town desert America (killing anybody who even looks at him a bit funny) looking for a stupid hick who toke a case of money from a drug deal gone bad, and small town sheriff half trying to catch up with them both, but he hardly features for some reason. After the first half-an-hour or so of watching the dumb hick, the nutty serial killer with his funny hair and comic weapon of death and Tommy Lee Jones' usual and very cliched world-weary acting, I couldn't take this film seriously anymore and starting enjoying it as what it should have been adertised as in the first place - as a very dark and funny comedy. Watch it in that mind-set and its very enjoyable. (spoiler alert) He kills her and gets the money at the end by the way, if you are wondering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars good not great, 8 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Country For Old Men [DVD] (DVD)
great product very hard wearing and simple to use sylish and easy to usetime and again. would buy it again if needs be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Quarters of a Great Movie, 31 Mar. 2008
By 
I. A. Turner "IT Offshore Engineer" (Shenzhen - China) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Country For Old Men [DVD] (DVD)
If The Usual Suspects had ended 5 minutes earlier, if The Shawshank Redemption had ended with Andy Dufrayn being shot while attempting to escape, if Casablanca had ended with Rick Blaine (Bogart) being arrested and sent to Auschwitz, if Gone With The Wind had ended with Scarlett O'Hara dying of consumption they would be as 'good' as this film.

The plot developes superbly, it continues its violent passage through a drug deal gone bad, an evil psychotic killer (Bardem) pursuing Josh Brolin to regain his 'tom' until some doubts started creeping in with the departure of an irrelevant and weirdly incompetent bounty hunter Woody Harrelson, then all of a sudden it changes from being an edgy, startling, totally absorbing (albeit somewhat violent) thriller into a soliloquy for TL Jones who must have a had a clause in his contract which promised him a fifteen minute speech (rambling, irrelevant and incomprehensible as it was) to ensure his insertion into the Oscar nominations.

Conclusion, ultimately a waste of time which could have been THE film of the first decade of the 21st century. Summary, a crying, disappointing shame!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Makes Donnie Darko seem completely rational, 24 Jan. 2010
By 
Mr. Nicholas Lea (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Country For Old Men [DVD] (DVD)
Ok. Two stars because the acting was nicely executed.

Minus one star because the entire 2 hour film was totally inconclusive.

The damn plot just never gets off the ground! Maybe I needed another beer, but the total and utter lack of climax left me annoyed enough to be writing this review at 1.30 am.
It's a movie with a promising start, no middle and no ending. Trailer trash guy finds/steals drug money, psycho chases him (killing arbitrailly, hooray for some action!) and TLJ follows at a respectfull 6 paces behind the action for 2 boring hours.

I suppose I should have read the back of the DVD. The ONLY quoted critical acclaim, "a hands-down must see", is by the News of the world. No offence to NotW readers but when the only review they chose to publish on the back of the DVD is from a paper that struggles to drag it's self out of the low-brow sewer on the best of days, you should probably know you're onto a loser.

I only paid 2.99 for this. Please don't pay more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What happened to the ending ?????? *Spoiler*, 17 Jun. 2008
By 
A. Cresswell "Bubblefish777 - Born again Diver" (london, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: No Country For Old Men [DVD] (DVD)
If you're like me ... then when you watch a film you like to be entertained. However this is yet another one of those films where the director feels it's *cool* to leave the ending unfinished and loose ends lying about. I don't. It's a personal thing but at the end of the film the last 5 minutes are pointless. ***SPOILER COMING**** So there's a car crash as the bad guy finished off yet another pointless killing and he bandages up his arm which is broken and walks off down the street. The Sheriff (Tommy Lee Jones) sits at the kitchen table and goes into a long pointless diatriobe about why he's retiring to which his wife smiles consolingly ... and then...that's it...the end. It finishes there at the kitchen table. The film is incredibly dull, slow and pointless. The ending is just as friustrating. No final confrontation, no shoot out (in fact one of the main characters is killed in a shoot out you DON'T see !!!) just the aftermath of him lying face down in blood.... THIS IS A MAIN CHARACTER !!!! killed off with no recognition in the film. Whoever the director was....I'll be giving his stuff a miss in future. Don't be fooled....I'm sure there will be reviews from Sudo intellectuals who will seek deep meaning in the film but if you want entertained....don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Well made but too miserable and violent for my liking., 30 Jan. 2010
By 
G. Wake "gregwake" (Newcastle, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Country For Old Men [DVD] (DVD)
This really isn't my kind of film. It's well put together, has a few twists and surprises along the way, is shot to a high standard and should be a good watch, but for me there is too much in the way of death, misery and utterly hopeless suffering. I found it impossible to have any sympathy for the main characters who seemed largely responsible for their own problems while being unwilling to do anything constructive about it. If you like murder and misery then it's probably for you, but despite it's excellent technical qualities and acting I doubt I'll ever watch this again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 41 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Emperor's New Clothes, 16 Jun. 2008
This review is from: No Country For Old Men [DVD] (DVD)
Why is it when people review films they jump on the bandwagon and agree with everyone else,even when the film is not very good?
Reviewers of this film start with " The Coen Brothers..." as if this is a magic formula for film making...Ther are a few scenes of violence and adrenalin fuelled suspense but it is a very slow moving,disjointed ( not in a good way ) and sometimes confusing story that ends in my opinion , in a mixed up muddle and depending on how you feel ,the ending leaves you empty and almost cheated of a denoument..although Llewelyn's mother in law was a character totally out of place in the quiet nature of all the cast...even the hitman was quiet...i was extremely dissappointed and annoyed that i wasted my time watching this...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible beyond belief, 7 Jun. 2011
This review is from: No Country For Old Men [DVD] (DVD)
If movies are made to look good then this deserves the Best Picture Oscar it won but by god it is as boring as heck. Josh Brolin finds some money blah, blah, blah. Really long and really boring with a terrible ending and worse plot this is as bleak as it gets. A joyless piece of garbage, i.e A Coen Brother's masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 128 29 3033 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Country For Old Men [DVD]
No Country For Old Men [DVD] by Joel Coen (DVD - 2008)
£3.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews