Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars suited Perry very well!, 7 Nov. 2008
This review is from: Numb [DVD] (DVD)
I knew this would be a pretty good film because I like Matthew Perry especially in 'Friends'. This film was perfect for him!! It brought his goofy and slightly aloof 'Friends' character out in a brilliant role which made me chuckle for the vast majority of the movie. Perry plays a character who thinks he's going slightly crazy and works his way through a series of psyciatrists each prescribing him with different medication all the while feeling himself loosing the plot just a little bit more. As you can imagine this makes for a rather humurous experience!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film!, 25 July 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Numb [DVD] (DVD)
Numb stars Matthew Perry as Hudson Milbank who is a screenwriter suffering from Depersonalization Disorder. The story is based on the life of Harris Goldberg who wrote and directed Numb.
Perry is brilliant as Hudson. The character could have been self-pitying but Perry is a very charming actor so I felt myself liking Hudson who knew his own shortcomings and tried hard to overcome them.
Lynn Collins, Kevin Pollak and Mary Steenburgen were very good in their roles.
I loved the cinematography and music which made the film very easy to watch and I felt the movie was the correct length at 90 minutes. There was no pointless action.
Despite the serious subject matter I laughed out loud quite a lot. The humour was subtle which I like.
The extras include a commentary by writer and director Harris Goldberg, interviews with some of the cast including Perry and a theatrical trailer.
The dvd is rated 15 because of strong language, sex references and mental illness theme.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad At All, 16 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Numb [DVD] (DVD)
I purchased this film as I am a big fan of Friends, and I am interested in the condition of Depersonalization Disorder portrayed in the film.

This is not a bad film at all, Perry acquits himself well in the lead role. I was a bit worried it might be a somewhat depressing film, dealing with this quite heavy subject matter, but its really not too bad, and in places is quite funny. The funniest part in the film is where one of his psychiatrists herself appears to lose all self-control during an affair with Perry, and starts madly shouting out loud in a busy restaurant. All her knowledge of the human mind and positive thinking then seem to go out the window.

There's food for thought in this film also. I read the book The Divided Self about personality disorder by renowned psychiatrist RD Laing, and some things in the film were reminiscent of things described in that book. For example a propensity to steal, being afraid of being too close to someone, even someone you are attracted too, an unnurturing mother figure, and a generally unsympathetic family background.

It was a positive aspect of the film too, that the character managed to meet someone quirky who appreciated him for who he was - as he says in the film, he just needed somebody who could stand to be with him.

This is another good notch on Perry's excellent career, I'm going to look up some of his other films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must see if you have or know someone with Depersonalisation, 20 May 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Numb [DVD] (DVD)
Amazing insight into Depersonalisation - very profound with humour, romance and realistic. So glad they made this film so you dont feel alone :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect role for Perry, 4 Sept. 2008
By 
R. I. Smith (Perth, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Numb [DVD] (DVD)
This is an excellent,clever and very funny film - not fall about laughing funny but witty and superbly acted by all the main characters.

Perry is outstanding in a role that is ideally suited for his style and character - is this his character or is he acting?

Like many of the best "clever" films, Numb is even better watched a second time - when you can appreciate all the subtle twists and enjoy the way in which the story develops - reaching a heart warming climax.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not For Everyone, 18 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Numb [DVD] (DVD)
A romantic drama with some dark, yet very funny comic moments. If you are looking for a laugh a minute Matt Perry film, look elsewhere. I think this is why many critics have responded quite negatively to Numb, saying it was dull and dreary.

It is in a similar vein to Garden State, although more mature. Matthew Perry plays the protagonist (Hudson) who having always suffered from anxiety, then develops Depersonalization Disorder. The film is about Hudson's search for a possibly non-existent cure in order to save the relationship with his new girlfriend. If you consider your own life to be a little monotonous, or if you suffer from depersonalization or anxiety yourself then you may well enjoy this movie as much as I did. It actually introduced me to the condition I have had for longer than I can remember, but had been unable to previously identify. However, it seems many others who do not empathise with Hudson's condition seem to find this film tedious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic film, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Numb [DVD] (DVD)
numb is a perfect film for any one who has suffered or is suffering from a form of deperssion or anxity... it is also an insight for thous who know some one who does.
the film it self is very clever it will make you laugh, cry, fall in love as you share the life of the main character.
if none of the stuff i have said above apply to you, then take my word for it that this film is worth seeing no matter who you are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable film - slightly odd but in a good way..., 12 Feb. 2013
By 
F. Smith (Norwich England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Numb [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyable film - slightly odd but in a good way...if that makes sense!!!!! very well acted by Perry ... he never fails to impress me with his acting talents. This is quite laugh out loud funny in places .. but it has a serious undercurrent related to a medical condition. over all very enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Refreshingly unsensationalized representation of mental health issues, 21 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Numb [DVD] (DVD)
If you have an interest in Mental Health this film makes for interesting viewing. In many films which have touched on mental health issues they tend to sway towards dramatic displays of... suicide... psychosis... descent into addiction... it's all very intense and perhaps serves to whip the viewer into the experience of mental frenzy... But actually the way that this film dealt with one man's breakdown was subtle , touching and more human than sensational. I feel the film remained loyal to the human experience. We see the realities of dealing with the everyday, coping with other imperfect people, the main character manages to maintain a certain sanity throughout his own breakdown rather than being portrayed as simply 'crazy'.
Of course it has a little plot going on with a bit of romance so it's still 'entertainment material' and it does well on the humour side of things as well. Matthew Perry's acting is superb and carries the film as it mainly focuses on him. As someone who feels that Mental health issues are commonly misrepresented and misunderstood I found this film a refreshingly sane comment on 'insanity.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perry acts superbly in these circumstances!!!, 29 April 2011
This review is from: Numb [DVD] (DVD)
The film is rather unheard of due to limited release in Canada. But is actually a brilliant film. Nobody could play the part better than Matthew Perry. Dont know why the title is called 'NUMB' but the tagline sums the fim up - 'Love is better unmedicated'. The only problem with the DVD is that it is rather rare and because of this can be expensive. I bought my copy in HMV for £13 in 2009 - i should have waited!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Numb [DVD]
Numb [DVD] by Harris Goldberg (DVD - 2008)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews