Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bowie in top form on (maybe) his last tour
This is an excellent performance from Bowie's Reality tour filmed in Dublin in the autumn of 2003. Bowie is in top form, and is accompanied by a band that may be his best ever. The audience is very enthusiastic, and the song list is long and very well put together with many of the well-known classics (Fame, "Heroes", Ziggy Stardust), some very good oldies that are not so...
Published on 7 Dec 2009 by Amazon Customer

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Classic Bowie
Quite a good DVD with good sound and decent song selection.The band is very good and Bowie is in quite good form.I am not sure about the filming,the lighting and the way the cameras were used.Perhaps I am getting old.Knowing DB since the 70's I never have a chance to see him live.Old films and videos are now quite amateurish and I always like these new DVDs qualitywise...
Published on 17 Oct 2009 by Vasilios Pandis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, seldom seen anything better, 9 Jan 2012
This review is from: David Bowie: A Reality Tour [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This DVD really shows greatness, not only from te MAN himself but also hats off for the astonishing band!!! The new material and the old stuff mix extremely well, and my appreciation for the reality songs have increased enormously.
The joy, energy and musicality splashing from your tube and speakers and teh sound is also really awesome. Like his voice, never better, and he really enjoys it all the way. And so does his band, fantastic. I'm so happy to have purchased this tour dvd: absolutely brilliant!

b well DAVID, love, h
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing - a great record of a superb tour, 7 Jan 2012
By 
markr - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: David Bowie: A Reality Tour [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
A superb DVD record of David Bowie's most recent, and in all probability last major concert tour, from 2003. This superbly produced DVD contains many of Bowie's most magnificent songs, all performed with the magic of Bowie at his best. Highlights include a wonderful rendition of Life on Mars, a rousing and musically brilliant Heroes, 3 tracks from Ziggy, Under Pressure, as well as some of the best songs from his most recent studio albums; Heathen and Reality.

The audience involvement during Life on Mars, Heroes, and All the Young Dudes, is amazing and moving.

i was lucky enough to be at 4 shows on the Reality tour - they were wonderful nights - and this DVD captures the magic perfectly.

If i could give this 10 stars I would. If you have ever enjoyed any of Mr Bowie's work - buy this today!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bowie at his Best, 29 Dec 2011
This review is from: David Bowie: A Reality Tour [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
I got this DVD looking for Bowie Tickets, as I heard on the Radio that he might be touring in 2012.
This came up in my Google search and at the Low Low price I had to buy it.
It is 2 1/2 Hours of pure magic, From David and the Band in Dublin Ireland.
From track one to the very end, it was unmissable Viewing.
So if you are lucky enough to get it for the Low price of £5.85 plus freeP&P as I did get this DVD.
you'll love it from start to finish.
Thanks Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bowie at his best, 10 Aug 2011
This review is from: David Bowie: A Reality Tour [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
great live Performance from mr bowie highly recomended to any bowie fan great performaces form five years hang on to your self and a blistering ziggy stardust sends shivers up my spine just buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 18 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Bowie: A Reality Tour [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
When i ordered this dvd i was not sure about the quality but i can say its the best live gig of bowie i have seen. The band are excelent sound quality is brill. ok there are not to many old songs but that would mean at least a 4hour gig and not a two. Also the jukebox option on the disc is handy. overall a brill dvd for old fans and new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So glad I bought this., 16 Feb 2011
By 
Mr. K. Kelly (Scottish Borders) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Bowie: A Reality Tour [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Ok, so it doesn't have all of his hits on it but what's there is pure gold and you won't be disappointed with the other songs. Mr Bowies voice is in great shape as he sings and performs his way through the setlist. His backing band are a collection of the finest musicians and for me the outstanding one is his bass player. My favourite song of all time is on here, 'Life on Mars', and I would have bought this DVD just for that but other favourites like 'Five Years', 'Heroes' etc. just increases the pleasure I get from watching this concert footage. I would love to see a Blu Ray version of this but it's unlikely. Other stand-out tracks for me are 'Hello Spaceboy' and 'Slip Away'. Any Bowie fan needs to have this in their collection and everyone else should have it, if only to confirm his greatness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A timely reminder of greatness, 16 Jun 2010
By 
Franimi (Essex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Bowie: A Reality Tour [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Bowie is one of those artists whose work , old and new, really shines in performance. New songs that at first seem a bit run of the mill on cd really come into their own on this disc. The filming style is an acquired taste, but I acquired it. This man was once voted the most influential artist of the last century(or something similar), and it's not hard to see why. In the middle of this concert, there is a sequence of 4 songs, 1 and 2 are Under Pressure and Life on Mars, 4 is Ashes to Ashes, and it hits you like a blinding light what an extraordinary songwriter Bowie is, and you realise that the poll probably got it right. And yes, the band is great. Gail Ann Dorsey is wonderful and very sexy, and gives Freddie a run for his money, standing in for him on U.P. Mick Garson is a bit self-indulgent, but he understands the material inside out and Earl Slick is so.. well, slick. The balance of the set is just about right with old and newer stuff and Bowie's demeanour throughout is relaxed and up, with just the occasional playful back-reference to his former theatricality. All in all, I'd call this a major non-disappointment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE GREAT BOWIE TOUR !, 9 April 2010
By 
P. Clack "pete" (WITNEY, OXFORDSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: David Bowie: A Reality Tour [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Saw DB on this tour in Birmingham the same week as this DVD was recorded.Though the performance here was in Dublin,the set was pretty well the same.This was an absolutely awesome tour and rates as one of the best I've ever seen,and over the years I've been to so many.Bowie live is one of the absolute greats, just talking to a friend this morning we agreed that DB,Elvis and Bruce Springsteen are probably the best ever in popular music each have or had such carrisma in the live arena.Each had so many fabulous songs to choose from and in the tour reviewed here Bowie does well over two hours of his best material it's simply a greatest hits live with one of the best bands he's ever had and he's had some pretty good ones.He is so easy live he relates so well with the audience,he laughs,he shares he has that gift of making you feel he's talking to you personally,but it's most of all these fabulous songs through this wonderful show that make it so very special.Yes a great DVD,concert by a truly great rock legend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 29 Mar 2010
By 
Mrs. E. Barr "LadyElaine" (Paisley) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Bowie: A Reality Tour [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
Buy this dvd, its much better than the cd. Just listening to the into ..... Rebel Rebel really puts you in the mood for the rest of the performance. What a talent he is. All his oldies that have been incorcorated into this act have new twists to them and his voice is only getting better and more rugged. I could watch him all night long. Just wish Id been able to get to his concert and see him in the flesh, mind you, this dvd certainly makes up for it. All tunes sound clear and you're in for a real treat if you havnt seen this already. Dont hesitate, just get it, you wont be disappointed !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing album, 25 Mar 2010
This review is from: David Bowie: A Reality Tour [DVD] [2008] (DVD)
This is just an amazing live album, a complete surprise and which we have listened to almost daily since we got it. Contains some unexpected treats, such as Mott the Hoople's 'All the Young Dudes' and much more. A treat to listen to, makes you totally envious of those lucky enough to have experienced David Bowie live, which I haven't done for 20 years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

David Bowie: A Reality Tour [DVD] [2008]
David Bowie: A Reality Tour [DVD] [2008] by David Bowie (DVD - 2008)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews